Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Ripping to HD-AAC?, How do I Rip CDs to HD-AAC?
post Aug 8 2012, 13:16
Post #1

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-August 12
From: SA, Australia
Member No.: 102106

Pretty self-explanatory - how do I rip CDs into the new "HD-AAC" format that the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits ("Fraunhofer") announced a while back?

According to Fraunhofer, HD-AAC offers better-quality than CDs, in smaller file sizes... I currently maintain a massive (by consumer standards) music collection in 320kbs, however due to storage limitations, we're about to buy a second NAS (network attached atorage) server with lots and lots of storage that will be used exclusively for music (the current NAS server shares all our data) and I want to re-rip all of my CDs into something much better quality.

Extensive research has shown that in theory, HD-AAC is the best choice because it is backwards-compatible with AAC and natively supports full metadata - I was considering FLAC a while back, but I had a few problems with the metadata and album artwork...

Anyway, I seem to be turning a simple question into an essay, so I'll leave it at that - how do I rip CDs into HD-AAC?

This post has been edited by Cyba.Cowboy: Aug 8 2012, 13:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 2)
post Aug 8 2012, 13:34
Post #2

Group: Members
Posts: 3623
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233

There is no lossy format that offers "much better quality" than 320 kbps. Try instead to solve your issues with FLAC, or choose a different lossless format.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Aug 8 2012, 14:03
Post #3

Group: Developer
Posts: 1455
Joined: 4-May 04
From: France
Member No.: 13875

My understanding is that HD-AAC is hybrid lossless/lossy. The "better than CD" quality claim is related to support for 24 bit / 192 kHz sampling, but that won't improve quality when ripping CDs, the ripped files will remain 16 bit / 44.1 kHz. The advantage over FLAC (if I got this right) is that AAC-aware players will be able to play the lossy part even if they don't support HD-AAC.

In order to rip to HD-AAC, you need to find a command-line encoder (do they sell one?) and set up a custom command line in the "encoder" field of your ripper of choice (EAC or whatever).

What problems were you having with FLAC?

See my profile for measurements, tools and recommendations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th October 2015 - 23:53