Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

FLAC compression in EAC doesn't work
post Mar 18 2012, 10:01
Post #1

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 12
Member No.: 97881

I'm EAC newbie and need help. I want to rip an compress to flac.
EAC Version 1.0 beta 3.
Flac: FLAC - Free Lossless Audio Codec 2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006 Josh Coalson from http://flac.sourceforge.net/

I used in compressions options:
checked: use external programm for compression
parameter passing scheme: user defined encoder
use file extetion: .flac
Programm including...: C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\flac.exe
additional command line: -T "artist=%artist%" -T "title=%title%" -T "album=%albumtitle%" -T "date=%year%" -T "tracknumber=%tracknr%" -T "genre=%genre%" -5 %source%
checked: delete WAV after compression
checked: check for external programs return code

when i "test encoder" everything seems ok: no error occured.

I run EAC "test&copy selected tracks - compressed"

But, it rips and saves in the designated folder in WAV and not .flac

I don't know what else to do? any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Start new topic
post Mar 19 2012, 17:12
Post #2

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 12
Member No.: 97881

Thanks to everybody. In the meantime I uninstalled and installed EAC, just in case i had a bad download. Unfortunatly that didn't help. Also the flac encoder which comes with v1.0b3 gave me error messages when I used it with the beginner friendly installation guide.

Nevertheless, I will try your suggestions.

My solution at the moment: I use itunes (alone) and save as .m4a
Works for me, CDs are in pretty good shape (most of them) so I don't really need EAC for error corrections and a one-to one copy is not my priority.
Itunes is of course absolutely unflexible and not really to customize, but the (given) format the music is saved onto the NAS is ok (so far).

Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post May 28 2012, 20:39
Post #3

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-May 12
Member No.: 100239

I'm having the same exact issues. Everything in the setup is correct. It simply doesn't compress via EAC. I tried running EAC as "administrator" but that didn't resolve the problem. I'm running EAC v1.0 beta 3. I didn't have this problem with the older version.

And the solution is that under the program path, you have to add the command line in the Additional command line options. (-6 is "quality" for the FLAC compression). I used the command line suggested at http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC_and_FLAC :

-6 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%

I don't know if everything is necessary, but it DID fix the situation.

This post has been edited by laslaw01: May 28 2012, 21:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- ghost22   FLAC compression in EAC doesn't work   Mar 18 2012, 10:01
- - db1989   Does it make a difference if you add %destination%...   Mar 18 2012, 10:06
- - ghost22   to db1989: if I add %destination% at the end i ge...   Mar 18 2012, 10:58
- - db1989   Actually, no, I see now that our guide for using E...   Mar 18 2012, 11:43
- - ghost22   to db 1989 my next option would be to use ALAC fo...   Mar 18 2012, 12:03
- - db1989   Iím sure you wonít have to abandon FLAC. Someone e...   Mar 18 2012, 12:34
- - Apesbrain   Here is my working commandline. I believe it is t...   Mar 18 2012, 13:59
- - db1989   Aargh, I said %destination% instead of %dest% and ...   Mar 18 2012, 14:07
- - ghost22   to db 1989 Thank you for your post. I tried your ...   Mar 18 2012, 16:20
- - Apesbrain   Two things I would try: 1. Copy FLAC.EXE and one ...   Mar 18 2012, 20:14
- - lvqcl   I wonder why External Compresser Test window shows...   Mar 18 2012, 21:26
- - ghost22   Thanks to everybody. In the meantime I uninstalled...   Mar 19 2012, 17:12
|- - laslaw01   I'm having the same exact issues. Everything i...   May 28 2012, 20:39
|- - roadworrier   QUOTE (laslaw01 @ May 28 2012, 20:39) I...   Feb 23 2014, 17:11
- - tezet   I have a working setup on my x64 Windows 8.1 syste...   Feb 23 2014, 22:40
- - Parkmad   Sorry to hijack a thread (even one that got bumped...   Mar 22 2015, 17:36
- - Apesbrain   Try stripping the commandline options down to the ...   Mar 22 2015, 17:50
- - Parkmad   Thanks for the suggestion, it still returned the s...   Mar 22 2015, 19:09
- - Apesbrain   What is the error message? I have the same config...   Mar 22 2015, 19:51
- - Parkmad   The error I am seeing is "The external compre...   Mar 22 2015, 22:19
- - Parkmad   I determined the problem. FLAC didn't like th...   Mar 23 2015, 04:14
|- - satsurfer   I'm also struggling for weeks with this proble...   Jun 8 2015, 14:35
- - Supermansaga   Somehow a similar problem reared its ugly head in ...   Oct 13 2015, 23:26
- - Supermansaga   QUOTE (Supermansaga @ Oct 13 2015, 15:26)...   Oct 14 2015, 02:24

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2015 - 09:33