Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Ripping Burnt FLAC CDs?
post Jul 12 2011, 14:53
Post #1

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-June 11
Member No.: 91319

I happen to have an album in flac format ( flac image + cue) with their cue files. However i want them in flac with their respective tracks and cue files.

If i copy the flac files with cues to a CDR (using EAC) and then rip that same CD to flac (with correct offset) would it sacrifice any loss in quality?

To Simplfy:

I happen to have a CD of Cream .. Album name is Fresh Cream ; Polydor ; 827-576-2

A few years ago i ripped that CD to FLAC format using EAC with correct drive offset and drive offset (set it up using blowfish' guide) . However it was one single image with a Cue and log file.. It was accurately ripped

Now a few days ago , that Cd got destroyed and i want to have a physical CD copy .. I burnt it on a CDR with the correct drive offset. No errors and it was accurately ripped

i wanted to own a copy of the CD in flac format with separate tracks and cue , log (not in single image)

Now I don't own the original cd anymore and i burnt a CD copy from my single flac image + cue a few days back

My question is if i rip the ripped the copied CDR would i have any loss in quality? even though if it has no errors or accurately ripped

Long Story short .. Ripping from a CD-R (with correct offset , accurately ripped with no errors) would it cause any quality loss?

hope my question was not too confusing~
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 12 2011, 15:52
Post #2

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 10-May 10
Member No.: 80527

No loss of quality
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 12 2011, 16:30
Post #3

Group: Members
Posts: 335
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 29453

you don't need to burn to cd-r to split tracks, google cuetools

Last.FM Nodes for your library @ http://build.last.fm/item/356
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 12 2011, 17:37
Post #4

Group: Members
Posts: 602
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257

Since the FLAC Image is already on his hard drive sitting next a matching CUE file...
can he not just drag the CUE sheet into a foobar2000 playlist window and highlight all and then right click "convert" (to separate FLAC tracks).
Job Done. No need to install "Microsoft .NET Framework version XXXX" just to use a tool !

(I don't have anything against CUETools, but I run a very lean Operating System with no .NET or JAVA etc, and I have a preference for native programs).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
post Jul 12 2011, 17:41
Post #5

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 11394
Joined: 1-April 04
From: Northern California
Member No.: 13167

Yes, he can, assuming he wants to split with gaps appended and discard HTOA(?).

One can use EAC as well, provided the flac is decompressed to wave first.

Your eyes cannot hear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd December 2015 - 04:18