IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC pausing for external compressor
andrewt
post Feb 28 2013, 19:57
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 8-December 07
Member No.: 49383



I've noticed this since I installed a newer version of EAC--after it copies a track, the external FLAC compressor starts and extraction pauses. It can be quite awhile when ripping classical cds with long tracks. Is this normal, or is there a setting somewhere that I missed? It's increasing my rip time by quite a bit.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Feb 28 2013, 20:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3372
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



I find that FLAC compression is quite quick compared to ripping. What compression setting are you using?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trout
post Feb 28 2013, 21:07
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 421
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68400



http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...C_Options#Tools
QUOTE
On extraction, start external compressors queued in the background

(Default: disabled, Recommended: disabled)

With this setting enabled, EAC starts an external compressor as soon as the first track was extracted and therefore the extraction and compressing processes are running simultaneously. Of course, this could lead to a time saving, but also can lead to some problems: it is more likely that errors during extraction/compressing occur on older PCs. So in general, you should leave this option disabled unless you have a dual/multi-core CPU.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
christopher
post Feb 28 2013, 23:16
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 63
Joined: 19-December 03
From: Bucks, UK
Member No.: 10556



QUOTE (trout @ Feb 28 2013, 20:07) *
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...C_Options#Tools
QUOTE
On extraction, start external compressors queued in the background

(Default: disabled, Recommended: disabled)

With this setting enabled, EAC starts an external compressor as soon as the first track was extracted and therefore the extraction and compressing processes are running simultaneously. Of course, this could lead to a time saving, but also can lead to some problems: it is more likely that errors during extraction/compressing occur on older PCs. So in general, you should leave this option disabled unless you have a dual/multi-core CPU.




Although I use dual and quad core machines at home and at work and rip with EAC following best practices for 100% verified rips, I still encode separately. Whilst I fire in metadata into EAC (or use freedb/musicbrainz then append with my own info) I use FLAC standalone with the Frontah frontend, tagging manually with Mp3Tag. EAC just extracts the PCM bitstreams.

This has the added advantage of removing any potential for extraction errors by ensuring EAC has 100% of my CPU available in a linear fashion without excessive interrupts from other apps. When things start to tie up a CPU towards 100% of its utilisation, 'strange things' happen even when it's not 100% kernel time. Once you get into a rhythm, especially if you're doing multiple discs, I think it's more efficient.


--------------------
[SIZE=1][B]Don't forget International Talk Like A Pirate Day! September the 19th![/B][/SIZE]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 08:23