IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

foobar2000 doesn't show japanese characters properly anymore
Panto
post Feb 21 2013, 19:00
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-February 13
Member No.: 106792



Hey there.

I use foobar2000 for a couple of years now and never had a problem like that:



The bug first occured 1-2 weeks ago. My machine runs on Windows 8 and the only thing I can possibly think of as a cause are some updates Windows installed at that time. I have the Last.fm scrobbler installed as an additional component, the only one that the online troubleshooter said could be problematic. But even without this plugin loaded I get the same result. I updated foobar2000 to the latest version (1.2.3) but that didn't help, too - same with completely un- and reinstalling the program.

Edit: Strange thing is: When I copy the squares and paste them into a document/browser/etc. the characters are shown correctly. Even when I play a song with those tags the Last.fm program recognizes the characters right and displays them properly, too.

Don't know what to do now, please help!

This post has been edited by Panto: Feb 21 2013, 19:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
db1989
post Mar 30 2013, 16:08
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



“Shame on Microsoft”? Did I miss something where this was conclusively attributable to them rather than being caused by Google Chrome? I’m all for bashing MS when they deserve it, but I don’t know whether that’s the case here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Elevory
post Apr 4 2013, 00:06
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 24-September 11
Member No.: 93932



QUOTE (db1989 @ Mar 30 2013, 16:08) *
“Shame on Microsoft”? Did I miss something where this was conclusively attributable to them rather than being caused by Google Chrome? I’m all for bashing MS when they deserve it, but I don’t know whether that’s the case here.

Well, it seemed to me that Microsoft was to blame when you mentioned a leak in Windows.

Anyway, if having a file on the desktop fixes this issue, your icons must be visible; it's doing nothing for me whose icons are hidden.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 4 2013, 14:08
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Elevory @ Apr 4 2013, 00:06) *
Well, it seemed to me that Microsoft was to blame when you mentioned a leak in Windows.
I was talking about another situation in which characters may be lost, which my wording indicated may or may not be related to the main issue in this thread; perhaps I should have made that more explicit.

QUOTE
Anyway, if having a file on the desktop fixes this issue, your icons must be visible; it's doing nothing for me whose icons are hidden.
I’ve had no need to test any of this personally, so I can’t comment either way.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2014 - 22:15