IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC file that makes loud beeps in foobar
bison
post Feb 1 2013, 07:25
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



Hi guys, running the latest version of foobar I get a good bunch of loud beeps in a tune so here's a sample(remuxed to MKA in order to avoid any reencoding): http://www.datafilehost.com/download-e6c1e344.html

You need to uncheck "Use our download manager and get recommended downloads" and click on the left DOWNLOAD button.

It passes all tests successfully in the official FLAC frontend, the decoded WAV file plays fine in foobar and there's no beep with madflac in MPC. I don't think I'm doing something wrong so if it really beeps, a bugfix would be amazing please tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Feb 1 2013, 17:55
Post #2





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2270
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



You could have posted a raw FLAC file without fearing it would get re-encoded on its own. Anyway, the file is corrupted. Flac.exe reports "ERROR, MD5 signature mismatch" and it can't decode it to wav without forcing decoding through errors. I suspect the only reason flac.exe decoded file doesn't sound so bad is that the PCM format clips the error to normal level. foobar decoded file has peak 65 thousand times above digital fullscale.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 1 2013, 18:50
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



ORLY? I will check again, thanks for the notice. But on the original file, FLAC Tester says:

QUOTE
[1/1] 06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac...OK
1 files, 0 errors


And if I click on "TEST" in the FLAC frontend, I get:
QUOTE
flac 1.2.1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac: ok


You prolly get a MD5 notice because I obviously cut a small sample with MKVToolnix but the full file checks fine and plays perfectly with madflac(and other several audio players IIRC). Maybe MKVToolnix cut it in a nasty way, but it does decode to WAV without forcing "dec. through errors":
QUOTE
flac 1.2.1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac: done

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can post the full file if it's allowed, or I can PM you a link as the file doesn't look damaged to me.

This post has been edited by bison: Feb 1 2013, 18:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 2 2013, 02:07
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



more testing:
QUOTE
flac.exe -t "06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac"

flac 1.2.1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac: ok

QUOTE
flac.exe -d "06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac"

flac 1.2.1, Copyright © 2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007 Josh Coalson
flac comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY. This is free software, and you are
welcome to redistribute it under certain conditions. Type `flac' for details.

06 Misty In Roots - Judas Iscariote.flac: done


It glitches up in foobar so yeah, I guess a conversion to WAV in foobar isn't going to help much. Lemme know how I can send you the full file so you can see for yourself. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 2 2013, 09:22
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 4664
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



You could try sendspace or mediafire, or anonfiles if you think they won't botch the files on their server like they have for me a few times, and PM the link to Peter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 3 2013, 06:01
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



Alright, here goes the full file then: [removed as per TOS #9] cool.gif

It glitches up at 2'21 and there are other occurrences IIRC.

This post has been edited by db1989: Feb 3 2013, 19:13
Reason for edit: Didn’t kode54 say to PM the link? Have you ever read the terms of service?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rollin
post Feb 3 2013, 17:54
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 196
Joined: 5-March 08
Member No.: 51815



Really. In foobar this file glitches, but flac.exe decodes it with no problems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Feb 3 2013, 18:03
Post #8


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3306
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Problem being investigated, thanks for reporting.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 3 2013, 23:00
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



Great news, thanks in advance beer.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Feb 4 2013, 10:54
Post #10


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3306
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Same problem as here:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=61792

According to the FLAC author himself, such file is corrupted.

I can make foobar2000 decode this correctly but it will cause a slight drop in FLAC decoding performance for everyone.

Issue does not affect other apps (such as standalone FLAC.exe) if they don't operate on 32-bit float audio samples.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 4 2013, 13:40
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



Oh, well how about an extra option for pesky files? FWIW this file decodes fine in all the other players I tried and ppl with fast CPU's couldn't care less about a tiny extra load that would ensure that they never get loud beeps in their music IMHO.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Feb 4 2013, 15:10
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1964
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (Peter @ Feb 4 2013, 10:54) *
I can make foobar2000 decode this correctly but it will cause a slight drop in FLAC decoding performance for everyone.


Depends a bit on what “correctly” should mean for a noncompliant file.

One might consider handling this by the file integrity verifier? (Would there be the same performance penalty there? Is this an issue only with a certain encoder, and which is detectable by e.g. %__tool%?)


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Feb 4 2013, 20:23
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 717
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



How about setting in "Advanced\Decoding" or "Advanced\Playback" preferences - like "Enable alternative FLAC decoding routine (decreased performance, workarounds malformed FLAC files)" ?

This post has been edited by EpicForever: Feb 4 2013, 20:24
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dandruff
post Feb 4 2013, 21:08
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 494
Joined: 20-April 04
Member No.: 13618



Who cares about performance in this case?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 4 2013, 21:34
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 3439
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



But who cares about broken FLAC files?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Feb 4 2013, 21:48
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 717
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



QUOTE (Dandruff @ Feb 4 2013, 21:08) *
Who cares about performance in this case?


QUOTE (Peter @ Feb 4 2013, 10:54) *
I can make foobar2000 decode this correctly but it will cause a slight drop in FLAC decoding performance for everyone.


Developer smile.gif

QUOTE (lvqcl @ Feb 4 2013, 21:34) *
But who cares about broken FLAC files?


Author of the thread smile.gif

This post has been edited by EpicForever: Feb 4 2013, 21:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bison
post Feb 5 2013, 01:52
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 4-December 09
Member No.: 75607



Well, there are both poorly encoded audio and video files out there and my file plays fine in all the other audio players I tried(and some of them process audio internally in 64fp for that matter). I don't really see how an end-user would care about a most likely unmeasurable performance drop if that would ensure that he doesn't get loud beeps in his music? But yeah, sure, an "enable error resilience at the cost of a slight performance hit" sub-option will do just fine smile.gif

This post has been edited by bison: Feb 5 2013, 01:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Feb 9 2013, 13:56
Post #18


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3306
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Problem corrected in the new 1.2.3 beta. Because other optimizations have been added at the same time, it should be at least as fast as the old versions without the fix.

Additionally, the File Integrity Verifier component can now reliably detect such files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Feb 10 2013, 22:17
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 717
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



On File Integrity Verifier download site ( http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_verifier ) there's still version from 2009:

"Current version
1.1, released on 2009-10-05"

So I understand that it will be updated soon ?

This post has been edited by EpicForever: Feb 10 2013, 22:17
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Feb 11 2013, 10:24
Post #20


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3306
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



No, the FLAC decoder has been changed to tell the integrity verifier about these. No new verifier update needed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 20:28