IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Adobe Audition 1.0 Installation
greynol
post Jan 30 2013, 23:56
Post #1





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Wondering if anyone has successfully installed Audition 1.0 recently. I've tried putting it on a few newer machines and haven't had any luck. It will install but once I try to run it, the program crashes without any indication that it ever started.

I fear I never have to reinstall it on the one machine where I have it running.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 24)
AndyH-ha
post Jan 31 2013, 00:12
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2204
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



I run Cool Edit 2000 and Audition 3 on 64 bit Win7. I have CE2k compatibility set to WinXP and Audition 3 with "run as administrator." I know many other people have been suscessful. You might ask on
http://www.audiomastersforum.net/
for help.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 00:26
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Thanks. I've used CEPro 2.0 and 2.1 as well as AA 1.5 and 3.0. AA 1.0 is still by far my favorite.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AndyH-ha
post Jan 31 2013, 01:35
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2204
Joined: 31-August 05
Member No.: 24222



There are still upgrades coming out for Audition, one not long ago.

Audition 1 was Cool Edit 2.1, if I remember correctly. Anyway, it was functionally identical with what was the current Cool Edit when Adobe purchased it (logo and minor cosmetic changes only). One might therefore say upgrades for Cool Edit are still being produced, although under Adobe the product focus has changed somewhat, having been made to fit into Adobe's video vision.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 01:47
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Audition 1.0 ran far more quickly than CEP 2.1 from what I remember, despite whatever changes Adobe published.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Jan 31 2013, 02:00
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 556
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



You're not using Windows 8, are you?


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 02:05
Post #7





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



XP Pro


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Glenn Gundlach
post Jan 31 2013, 06:11
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 364
Joined: 19-April 08
From: LA
Member No.: 52914



Thinking back I believe I was still running -GASP- Windows 98 with Audition 1.0. A week or so after I bought CoolEdit Pro 2.1 Adobe announced they bought Syntrillium and offered Audition 1.0 for $10 so I got it. When Audition 1.5 came out I found it required Win2000 or XP so I went XP. I might load it on the HTPC as it is nearly identical to the other machines with no audio software on it at all but it probably won't be until the weekend. FWIW the machines are all Gigabyte 780s with Phenom II quad cores and Win XP Pro SP3.

G

This post has been edited by Glenn Gundlach: Jan 31 2013, 06:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 06:36
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



The thing with 1.5 is that it has a horrible bug when performing an invert mix paste between signals with coincidental full-scale samples.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yogiboar
post Jan 31 2013, 12:29
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 23-November 02
From: Here & Now
Member No.: 3854



You can legitimately acquire Audition 3 from Adobe under their recent making available policy of old software.

This link explains the process, you merely have to create an Adobe ID, which anyone can do.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 31 2013, 12:42


--------------------
Thunder Bolt

Strikes where least expected!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 31 2013, 12:42
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Yogiboar @ Jan 31 2013, 11:29) *
legitimately
No.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Jan 31 2013, 16:25
Post #12





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2361
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jan 31 2013, 11:42) *
QUOTE (Yogiboar @ Jan 31 2013, 11:29) *
legitimately
No.

You are right, on the download page, where they have basically all the CS2 products, they have this text:

QUOTE
Adobe has disabled the activation server for CS2 products, including Acrobat 7, because of a technical issue. These products were released more than seven years ago, do not run on many modern operating systems, and are no longer supported.

Adobe strongly advises against running unsupported and outdated software. The serial numbers below should only be used by customers who legitimately purchased CS2 or Acrobat 7 and need to maintain their current use of these products.


This post has been edited by kwanbis: Jan 31 2013, 16:26


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 16:50
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I had actually grabbed a copy before that text was added in red.

Anyway, I appreciate the desire to help by suggesting alternatives, but I am only interested in being able to install and run version 1.0.

This post has been edited by greynol: Jan 31 2013, 16:51


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C.R.Helmrich
post Jan 31 2013, 17:47
Post #14





Group: Developer
Posts: 686
Joined: 6-December 08
From: Erlangen Germany
Member No.: 64012



I just used Audition 1.0 (build 3211.2) at work on XP Pro, SP 3, 32-bit, without problems. Not sure what the reason could be on your side.

Have you tried moving all *.xfm files in the installation directory to somewhere else temporarily and then (re)starting Audition?

Edit: sorry, just saw that you were asking for new installations on XP. Nope, haven't done that.

Chris

This post has been edited by C.R.Helmrich: Jan 31 2013, 17:52


--------------------
If I don't reply to your reply, it means I agree with you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 18:08
Post #15





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Hey Chris, whaddya know, I got it running!

I removed those and then some others and it started right up.

...now I just need to figure out which actually made the difference and figure out what to do from there.

Thanks!!!


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 19:49
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



UI.dr.dll was the offending file.

Anyone know what it's for and why it would be prevented from running after a fresh, bare-bones Win XP installation?


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
C.R.Helmrich
post Jan 31 2013, 20:22
Post #17





Group: Developer
Posts: 686
Joined: 6-December 08
From: Erlangen Germany
Member No.: 64012



Interesting. I don't have such a file, only a UID.mr.dll which, if you remove it, causes a "Error loading external library" message box but nothing else obvious (Audition seems to work). The DLL properties say "UI Utility DLL".

Chris

This post has been edited by C.R.Helmrich: Jan 31 2013, 20:25


--------------------
If I don't reply to your reply, it means I agree with you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jan 31 2013, 20:25
Post #18





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



.dr Jekyll and .mr Hyde! Although they seem to have switched roles somewhere along the line, as now the Dr seems bad and the Mr seems good. laugh.gif

Edit as per below: Bah, you ruined my joke! Oh well: it wasn’t very good, anyway. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by db1989: Jan 31 2013, 20:43
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 20:42
Post #19





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Yes, UID.mr.dll, that was it and I do get that annoying error.

The same file (bitwise identical) exists in Audition 1.5 as well which runs just fine.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arnold B. Kruege...
post Jan 31 2013, 22:45
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 3641
Joined: 29-October 08
From: USA, 48236
Member No.: 61311



QUOTE (Engelsstaub @ Jan 30 2013, 20:00) *
You're not using Windows 8, are you?


I installed CEP 2.1 on my fairly new Win 8 Pro 64 bit system a few days ago, and it seems to be working fine for editing. The CD burning and CD ripping features don't work. I seem to recall that its access to the windows mixer has been broken since Vista. Never used it, anyway. I do miss the ripping and burning features.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jan 31 2013, 22:57
Post #21





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'll have to dig CEP 2.1 out and give it another spin, though I'm not completely ready to give up.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
botface
post Feb 1 2013, 12:00
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 354
Joined: 14-January 08
Member No.: 50483



QUOTE (Arnold B. Krueger @ Jan 31 2013, 21:45) *
QUOTE (Engelsstaub @ Jan 30 2013, 20:00) *
You're not using Windows 8, are you?


I installed CEP 2.1 on my fairly new Win 8 Pro 64 bit system a few days ago, and it seems to be working fine for editing. The CD burning and CD ripping features don't work. I seem to recall that its access to the windows mixer has been broken since Vista. Never used it, anyway. I do miss the ripping and burning features.

My version of CEP 2.1 (b3097.0) doesn't have CD burning capability. Is it part of a later build or available as an add-on - it's a feature I've often missed?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Arnold B. Kruege...
post Feb 1 2013, 14:31
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 3641
Joined: 29-October 08
From: USA, 48236
Member No.: 61311



QUOTE (botface @ Feb 1 2013, 06:00) *
QUOTE (Arnold B. Krueger @ Jan 31 2013, 21:45) *
QUOTE (Engelsstaub @ Jan 30 2013, 20:00) *
You're not using Windows 8, are you?


I installed CEP 2.1 on my fairly new Win 8 Pro 64 bit system a few days ago, and it seems to be working fine for editing. The CD burning and CD ripping features don't work. I seem to recall that its access to the windows mixer has been broken since Vista. Never used it, anyway. I do miss the ripping and burning features.

My version of CEP 2.1 (b3097.0) doesn't have CD burning capability. Is it part of a later build or available as an add-on - it's a feature I've often missed?


It was a beta feature that was dramatically changed and IMO worsened considerably, when it finally became part of the main Audition product. I don't know how obsolete components of CEP can be legally distributed at this point. It never worked on every computer I tried it on, but did work fairly often on XP 32 systems.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krabapple
post Feb 2 2013, 07:21
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 2181
Joined: 18-December 03
Member No.: 10538



I installed my old Audition 1.0 disc on my new 64-bit Windows 7 laptop, with no problems in use so far. (It installed under C:/Program Files (x86)/Adobe ). I've only ever used it to edit existing audio files, not to record audio or burn discs

This post has been edited by krabapple: Feb 2 2013, 07:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Feb 2 2013, 08:27
Post #25





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I think it has to do with having IE8 installed on XP.


--------------------
YOUR EYES CANNOT HEAR!!!!!!!!!!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2014 - 10:43