IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Can someone explain Bit reservoir for me?
djchristian
post Jan 29 2013, 17:04
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 22-December 09
Member No.: 76233



I try to struggle to understand what this does. I am relatively new on this area

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Bit_reservoir

What does it do really? Does FLAC have Bit reservoir too?

Thanks in advance!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
ThomasG3rd
post Apr 29 2013, 03:03
Post #2





Group: Validating
Posts: 30
Joined: 26-April 13
Member No.: 107852



I've seen lots of post about using bit reservoir, and some say to use it, but does it actually degrade from the orginal source. I understand that MP3 is already lossy, and I am trying to get best quality that I can. I have posted a topic on this earlier and have got lots of help. I am messing around with Foobar but there isnt a bit reservoir option with V0 VBR. Question is use BR when using a VBR? Is there a difference if this is left off? I noticed it makes the VBR's lower on average depending on music. Metal seems to cut abr by about 15 where in jazz and rock seem to cut it by 20-even 30. Smaller doesnt always worse, espically since VBR's are supposed to be better then CBR's at a lower bitrate. So use it or not????
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Apr 29 2013, 03:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4925
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (ThomasG3rd @ Apr 28 2013, 22:03) *
I understand that MP3 is already lossy, and I am trying to get best quality that I can. I have posted a topic on this earlier and have got lots of help.


If thats your goal then none of this matters. The encoder will manage it for you. Pick the quality level you want and use that. Implementation details only matter to developers.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ThomasG3rd
post Apr 29 2013, 03:46
Post #4





Group: Validating
Posts: 30
Joined: 26-April 13
Member No.: 107852



QUOTE (saratoga @ Apr 28 2013, 19:23) *
QUOTE (ThomasG3rd @ Apr 28 2013, 22:03) *
I understand that MP3 is already lossy, and I am trying to get best quality that I can. I have posted a topic on this earlier and have got lots of help.


If thats your goal then none of this matters. The encoder will manage it for you. Pick the quality level you want and use that. Implementation details only matter to developers.

I am guessing that I should leave bit resoviour alone when choosing my v0 choice. Even though some members here have said it should make a difference in quality, my guess is that v0 vbr is already determining the quality (well the lame encoder) for you so there is no need for using these and other advanced settings. There are those that have warned me "unless you know what you are doing, when using vbr leave the advanced setttings alone" (and I believe bit resouviour is off by default)

This post has been edited by ThomasG3rd: Apr 29 2013, 03:47
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 20:07