IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Why does the same drive have errors in audio but none in data?, Split from "Digitalizing my CD collection, EAC/dBpa/fb2k?"
ShowsOn
post Jan 12 2013, 02:58
Post #1





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 369
Joined: 28-June 02
From: South Australia, AUSTRALIA
Member No.: 2421



Hi,

Yeah the ripping quality is really determined by the drive. I used EAC for ages but switched to dBpowerAMP a few years ago and think it is great value for money.

I have almost 800 GB of FLAC files ripped from CDs. I find dBpowerAMP much easier to configure. Plus it has some great plug ins like HDCD that automatically detects if your CD is HDCD and thus turns it into a 24 bit file. I'm sure you could set up EAC to do the same, but dBPowerAMP just makes it easier to configure. It also has built in codecs like FLAC and LAME MP3 and works great on multi core systems, i.e. it will keep ripping and encode in the background using other cores. This works great on my i7 laptop.

So if you don't mind paying the money I do recommend dBPowerAMP.

As a bonus you get the file converter including the batch converter which works great. And there are lots of additional codecs at Codec Central
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/codec-central.htm


--------------------
www.petitiononline.com/RHCPWBCD/petition.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Glenn Gundlach
post Jan 12 2013, 07:18
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 364
Joined: 19-April 08
From: LA
Member No.: 52914



I'm not trying to hijack the thread but I have a question about the optical disc drives. Your operating system and software was likely loaded from an optical drive. Bit errors in .EXE files can render the file useless but this rarely happens. Why does that same drive have errors in audio but none in data?

G

This post has been edited by Frank Bicking: Jan 12 2013, 07:23
Reason for edit: Removed fullquote from the original topic.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Jan 12 2013, 07:25
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4866
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (Glenn Gundlach @ Jan 12 2013, 01:18) *
I'm not trying to hijack the thread but I have a question about the optical disc drives. Your operating system and software was likely loaded from an optical drive. Bit errors in .EXE files can render the file useless but this rarely happens. Why does that same drive have errors in audio but none in data?


The reason that audio CDs hold so much more data then do data CDs is that there is a lot more redundancy built into data disks. Thus its much less likely that data will be corrupted on a data disk.

That said, baring significant damage, its pretty rare to see any corruption in audio CDs either.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 09:01