IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
UPnP MediaRenderer output | discussion, New component | requires foobar2000 v1.2 beta
ppienter
post Dec 27 2012, 14:31
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 27-December 11
Member No.: 96068



QUOTE (Midiman @ Dec 24 2012, 23:22) *
For those with problems such as "does not work" - can I suggest that you try the foo_upnp component?

http://www.foobar2000.org/components/view/foo_upnp

This component has a gazillion options and individual options for different upnp clients. If you experiment with this component you will discover what works and what does not with your upnp client. Then you will be able to provide better information for problem diagnosis. As I said earlier, Peter's component appears to be streaming only - and maybe your client does not support this?


Actually I'm using the foo_upnp component and I like the multiple options you can configure. Only minor point for me with this plug-in is that I can not use my iPad to control what I stream. I have to use the pc. This is why I love the option to select a UPNP device as output.

If this would work then I can abandon iTunes completely.

QUOTE (Midiman @ Dec 24 2012, 23:22) *
PS As requested above - foo_upnp does support transcoding.

Great ! Could you explain how it works ? Unless you mean the foo_upnp I'm already using...

This post has been edited by ppienter: Dec 27 2012, 15:10
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Midiman
post Dec 28 2012, 04:43
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 39
Joined: 6-April 12
Member No.: 98463



Yes - I mean using the current foo_upnp:

File > Preferences > Tools > UPnP > Server > Streaming Profiles

Options for Transcoding to MP3 - and Playback Stream Capture to MP3
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alkasar
post Dec 29 2012, 01:29
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-November 06
Member No.: 37575



I may miss the point : why build this component as the excellent foo_upnp component already exists with many more capabilities ?

This post has been edited by alkasar: Dec 29 2012, 01:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 29 2012, 04:17
Post #29





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (alkasar @ Dec 28 2012, 19:29) *
I may miss the point : why build this component as the excellent foo_upnp component already exists with many more capabilities ?

1. This is many degrees simpler and more specific to use than the foo_upnp renderer.

2. If this can be dependably used with most devices without issue, parts of it could be integrated into the core, which could then be exposed to other components via API.


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsauvage
post Dec 29 2012, 09:04
Post #30





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 13-December 12
Member No.: 105149



QUOTE (shakey_snake @ Dec 29 2012, 04:17) *
QUOTE (alkasar @ Dec 28 2012, 19:29) *
I may miss the point : why build this component as the excellent foo_upnp component already exists with many more capabilities ?

1. This is many degrees simpler and more specific to use than the foo_upnp renderer.

2. If this can be dependably used with most devices without issue, parts of it could be integrated into the core, which could then be exposed to other components via API.

It also has a huge benefit for users of foo_remote: once the renderer is selected as an output, you can use your ipad with Apple Remote app to control what you play on your network renderer (otherwise, with foo_upnp, you can only control what plays on the output device, which is typically your PC).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pico1965
post Dec 29 2012, 10:09
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 25
Joined: 13-July 08
Member No.: 55728



@Peter

I take you my feedback on use your component.

Scenario:

PC WIN7 2b
Foobar 1.2
UPnP MRO 1. beta 3

Ampli Yamaha RX-V1067

Turn on my ampli and select the PC input

In foobar select Playback -->Output--> Device --> RX-V1067

Play a song in foobar.

No errors show
The timeline increase
The peak meter not work

On the TV the ampli recognise the incoming data and show "the player"
After 15 seconds of silence "the player" disapper.

On PC foobar continues to play the song.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alkasar
post Dec 29 2012, 10:54
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-November 06
Member No.: 37575



thanks for response. Ok, I guess a less functional solution can always be called simpler to use wink.gif

Upnp streaming is not as universal at it claims to be. Make it work with many devices is a challenge. Bubblegumm spent a lot of time and energy into that for foo_upnp. Hope Peter will do the same.

The side benefit seems to be that output device selection is now exposed in the foobar API.

@bsauvage: switch to android wink.gif with upnp control app, you can select the media server (foo_upnp for example) and the renderer (your upnp player of choice). You control the playback from the app. These apps act as universal upnp remote.
foo_remote is a simple remote control for foobar. It benefits from the output device selection now available.


What would really be fun and new, is to be able to play music in scync on multiple Upnp players at the same time.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bkh
post Jan 2 2013, 10:14
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 22-December 11
Member No.: 95978



Hello Peter,

first of all many thx for your great job on foobar.

I installed the MRO. But I couldn't find any new device under Playback -> Outout -> Device.
I don't know what's going wrong.

W7 - SP1 - ...

Greetings

bkh

This post has been edited by bkh: Jan 2 2013, 10:15
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsauvage
post Jan 2 2013, 23:44
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 13-December 12
Member No.: 105149



QUOTE (alkasar @ Dec 29 2012, 10:54) *
thanks for response. Ok, I guess a less functional solution can always be called simpler to use wink.gif

Upnp streaming is not as universal at it claims to be. Make it work with many devices is a challenge. Bubblegumm spent a lot of time and energy into that for foo_upnp. Hope Peter will do the same.

The side benefit seems to be that output device selection is now exposed in the foobar API.

@bsauvage: switch to android wink.gif with upnp control app, you can select the media server (foo_upnp for example) and the renderer (your upnp player of choice). You control the playback from the app. These apps act as universal upnp remote.
foo_remote is a simple remote control for foobar. It benefits from the output device selection now available.


What would really be fun and new, is to be able to play music in scync on multiple Upnp players at the same time.


Thanks for the suggestion, maybe I should consider... smile.gif ....
Meanwhile, I hope the next version will bring compatibility improvements!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Jan 3 2013, 00:07
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 1321
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Just tried this with my TV for kicks. It's a Panasonic 42GT50. It works and the TV switches to playback, however after maybe 10 seconds it stops and just switches back to the TV as if it's stopped receiving audio or something?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alkasar
post Jan 3 2013, 01:26
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 73
Joined: 14-November 06
Member No.: 37575



anyone managed to use this with foo_upnp as a player on another pc running foobar ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
PeterMac
post Jan 6 2013, 03:28
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 55244



I tried with my TV Bravia 46HX850 as render, work very good, but only can stream/play MP3 files, FLAC do not work (TV native can't read this format) but would be nice to add something to transcode/encode in fly to MP3.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Jan 7 2013, 19:25
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 320
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



With beta3 volume control doesn't work anymore with the Yamaha RX-V3067. Instead of changing the volume accordingly, any click on + or - sets it to the lowest value.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tuupmeister
post Jan 11 2013, 09:47
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-January 13
Member No.: 105697



Error with WD TV Live latest firmware.

I get the error: Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: Invalid Arguments

How to solve this problem? With Foo_Upnp i can't get flac files to play. So i want to give Foo_out_upnp a try. Basicly it is just what i'm looking for.

This post has been edited by Tuupmeister: Jan 11 2013, 09:47
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
swayzak
post Jan 13 2013, 19:32
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 216
Joined: 23-August 05
Member No.: 24082



QUOTE (PeterMac @ Jan 5 2013, 21:28) *
I tried with my TV Bravia 46HX850 as render, work very good, but only can stream/play MP3 files, FLAC do not work (TV native can't read this format) but would be nice to add something to transcode/encode in fly to MP3.


I just tried with my Sony 55" HX853 & get following message:

"Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: Action Failed"

If there is a setting on the TV responsible for this, I can't find it. Any ideas anyone ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bwat47
post Jan 15 2013, 17:58
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 10-February 09
Member No.: 66822



QUOTE (alkasar @ Dec 29 2012, 04:54) *
thanks for response. Ok, I guess a less functional solution can always be called simpler to use wink.gif

Upnp streaming is not as universal at it claims to be. Make it work with many devices is a challenge. Bubblegumm spent a lot of time and energy into that for foo_upnp. Hope Peter will do the same.

The side benefit seems to be that output device selection is now exposed in the foobar API.

@bsauvage: switch to android wink.gif with upnp control app, you can select the media server (foo_upnp for example) and the renderer (your upnp player of choice). You control the playback from the app. These apps act as universal upnp remote.
foo_remote is a simple remote control for foobar. It benefits from the output device selection now available.


What would really be fun and new, is to be able to play music in scync on multiple Upnp players at the same time.

Yeah I use foo_upnp on foobar2000 on my desktop and bubbleupnp on my nexus 7, works perfectly smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsauvage
post Jan 20 2013, 13:00
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 13-December 12
Member No.: 105149



Peter, here's a weird one.

I recently switched from PC to Mac, and I'm trying to run foobar2000 in Wine/Crossover, a PC emulator within the mac.
I put foobar2000 within a windows Vista 'bottle' (i.e. an environment where vista programs are supposed to feel good).
Foobar2000 works like acharm, problem is with UPnP MediaRenderer Output: foo_out-upnp: it complains that it can only be run in vista, not xp... so something weird is happening here!

Do you have any clue ? You may not be willing to entertain fixing this, as the plugin is probably still a bit buggy, but just in case you keep a tab of stuff to fix, I hope one day it makes the cut...!

Thank you!

PS: despite being on a Mac now, I'd still like to use foobar2000 as it's the most versatile and powerful player out there, especially with all the plugins around!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ZhuGeLiang
post Jan 20 2013, 19:00
Post #43





Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 5-January 03
Member No.: 4424



Tested with a Bang & Olufsen BeoSound 5. Getting the following error:

Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: No response
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
washu
post Jan 20 2013, 20:12
Post #44





Group: Members
Posts: 139
Joined: 16-February 03
From: Ottawa
Member No.: 5032



On my Yamaha RX-A820 with the latest firmware I get the following error when I try to start playback:

Unrecoverable playback error: UPnP device error: invalid server response

The consle also shows:

UPnP volume get failure: invalid server response

Foo_upnp works fine, but I would like the simplicity of just changing the output device.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Jan 24 2013, 10:05
Post #45





Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



Hello, I feel like needing help with sharing my foobar's library to my cell phone.
I have started both media server and renderer service but unfortunately don't know how to browse and play the library on connected device.
The phone seems to access shared drives per-file via LAN without problem but builtin player and Poweramp seem to only see phone's local storage, don't know if even possible see my PC's library from these players...
I leave Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service disabled because of this introduced occasional high CPU utilization in the past, don't know if this service is necessary for UPNP sharing functionality.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Jan 24 2013, 10:19
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 1321
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Is anyone actually reading the feedback in this thread?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Jan 24 2013, 10:25
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 484
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



I am sorry this probably should I ask in UPnP controller thread ^^
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bwat47
post Jan 27 2013, 16:22
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 37
Joined: 10-February 09
Member No.: 66822



Is there a way to get this working over the internet? I have the pro version of bubbleupnp on my nexus 7, and I have bubbleupnp server running on my desktop pc, and am using no-ip for dynamic dns. I can access the music on my pc over the internet fine on my nexus 7, but I have no idea how (or if it will work) to get it to work with foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post Jan 27 2013, 22:02
Post #49





Group: Developer
Posts: 820
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



Works fine here with foo_upnp on another machine but metadata is not available on the renderer (it does, including albumart, when i use foo_upnp as the controller). Is it normal ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Jan 28 2013, 13:18
Post #50


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3313
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Thanks for all your feedback.
QUOTE (probedb @ Jan 24 2013, 10:19) *
Is anyone actually reading the feedback in this thread?

I do read the thread, but I do not have the resources to help most of you guys at the moment as I do not have access to the problematic hardware models; only validated the renderer against all devices that I own.

Metadata forwarding is not currently supported (feature request acknowledged).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

4 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st December 2014 - 01:02