IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

CUETools HTOA track is missing tags
landbaron
post Nov 20 2012, 01:43
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-November 12
Member No.: 104633



I'm taking a .wav rip and cue sheet (from EAC) and using CUETools 2.1.4 to split and encode it to separate FLAC tracks, my goal being to handle HTOA well.

The CUETools "Gaps Appended + HTOA" is fantastic, exactly the functionality I was looking for, except that I'm noticing that the FLAC produced from the HTOA, while correct, is missing any of the artist/album/track/etc FLAC tags. The other, "normal", tracks from the same rip have all tags set properly.

Is this a bug?

This post has been edited by landbaron: Nov 20 2012, 01:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
landbaron
post Nov 23 2012, 01:18
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 20-November 12
Member No.: 104633



So it turns out this is a little more annoying than I thought. Actually a very large proportion of discs have track 1 pregap; it's just that it is usually a blank 2 seconds. However, CUETools doesn't know that, of course, so it creates a small 00-HTOA track for each one.

This would be fine (it just means that starting the album involves 2 seconds of silence before you begin, as was intended), except that it turns out SqueezeBox doesn't ignore untagged tracks; it instead guesses metadata by file & path name, which use incompatible conventions. So my library does indeed get polluted by HTOA tracks with incorrectly-guessed metadata.

It would be much nicer if CUETools set metadata on HTOA tracks. Should be an easy change, yes? Any idea who to talk to? I'd be happy to make the change myself except I don't have a .net development environment so I wouldn't be able to test it...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Nov 23 2012, 01:28
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1993
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (landbaron @ Nov 23 2012, 01:18) *
Any idea who to talk to? I'd be happy to make the change myself except I don't have a .net development environment so I wouldn't be able to test it...


Thread: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....showtopic=66233 . Gregory posted a day or two ago.

If you want to get rid of the 00's: Does Squeezebox support e.g. TAK? Convert them all to that (lossless!) format?


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2014 - 15:54