IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

New Speakers
Sonikko
post Oct 5 2012, 19:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



Hi everyone, I've been following the forum for a while, and recently I decided to change my speakers. I listen to different music styles, from hard rock to dance, so I'd like a pair of speakers that can do great basses and highs. My budget is ~300€. Could you help me out tongue.gif? My current speakers are "Trust Soundforce 1200" that were a present 6-7 years ago, so I don't have any idea how much these costed. I'm not very satisfied with those, even though they are not very very bad...
PS: Sorry for my bad english.

This post has been edited by Sonikko: Oct 5 2012, 19:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
hlloyge
post Oct 5 2012, 20:16
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 695
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



You need computer speakers for 300 euros?
Maybe time to invest into little active studio monitors, like KRK, or Alesis, or Behringer...?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sonikko
post Oct 5 2012, 20:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



QUOTE (hlloyge @ Oct 5 2012, 20:16) *
You need computer speakers for 300 euros?
Maybe time to invest into little active studio monitors, like KRK, or Alesis, or Behringer...?

I'm sorry, since I'm new to this kind of things, could you explain more about those?
EDIT: What I want to know is, can I connect these to my computer?

This post has been edited by Sonikko: Oct 5 2012, 20:45
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dgauze
post Oct 6 2012, 02:19
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 13-March 09
Member No.: 67901



QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 5 2012, 12:40) *
I'm sorry, since I'm new to this kind of things, could you explain more about those?
EDIT: What I want to know is, can I connect these to my computer?


Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sonikko
post Oct 6 2012, 07:44
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-October 12
Member No.: 103655



QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
smok3
post Oct 6 2012, 10:14
Post #6


A/V Moderator


Group: Moderator
Posts: 1728
Joined: 30-April 02
From: Slovenia
Member No.: 1922



QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 6 2012, 08:44) *
QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?

This don't seem to have unbalanced jack inputs, but plenty of active monitors do have them, so i'd find one of them.
example http://www.krksys.com/krk-studio-monitor-s...t/rokit-5.html# (unbalanced RCA)

(I have this patched in my video editing station like so: aja > HDSDI to video monitor (abusing this to get analog audio) > analog to KRK unbalanced <<< far from perfect, but works, still waiting to introduce a simple mixing console just for listening purposes)

example 2 http://www.genelec.com/products/2-way-monitors/6010a/

This post has been edited by smok3: Oct 6 2012, 10:22


--------------------
PANIC: CPU 1: Cache Error (unrecoverable - dcache data) Eframe = 0x90000000208cf3b8
NOTICE - cpu 0 didn't dump TLB, may be hung
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Brand
post Oct 6 2012, 11:16
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 317
Joined: 27-November 09
Member No.: 75355



QUOTE (smok3 @ Oct 6 2012, 11:14) *
QUOTE (Sonikko @ Oct 6 2012, 08:44) *
QUOTE (dgauze @ Oct 6 2012, 02:19) *
Yes. You just need an adapter, or a cable with a 3.5mm stereo plug on one end, and two 1/4 inch mono plugs on the other. Like this:

http://www.amazon.com/Hosa-CMP159-Feet-Spe...6/ref=pd_cp_e_0

Great, thank you. So these should do http://www.dv247.com/studio-equipment/ales...tors-pair--9490 ?

This don't seem to have unbalanced jack inputs

Like most (all?) equipment with balanced TRS inputs, it accepts unbalanced TS as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2014 - 11:49