IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Planning to replace USB DAC with new, advice and opinions needed.
Wompatti
post Sep 24 2012, 07:39
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-February 05
Member No.: 19833



Hi folks. I am a current owner of an Arcam rDAC and have been very pleased with it. I have been planning to replace it with a DAC which would have volume control so it could function as a Pre-Amp as well. My receiver is Harman Kardon HK3490 and it has inputs for that. I tried it with rDAC and as it missed volume control, the sound was a little bit too loud for my taste (and for my neighbours). wink.gif

The only candidate at the moment that I have been looking, is Cambridge Audio Dacmagic Plus, that has volume control and two digital inputs (both with coaxial and optical) instead of one each in rDAC.
It it worth the money if I would use it as Pre-Amp and just use the HK as amplifier or do I even need a DAC because I could use HK's connections to do that when listening from computer?
Any other suggestions in the same price range are welcome, even changing the receiver if it makes a difference.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 2)
Arnold B. Kruege...
post Sep 24 2012, 15:36
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4457
Joined: 29-October 08
From: USA, 48236
Member No.: 61311



QUOTE (Wompatti @ Sep 24 2012, 02:39) *
Hi folks. I am a current owner of an Arcam rDAC and have been very pleased with it. I have been planning to replace it with a DAC which would have volume control so it could function as a Pre-Amp as well. My receiver is Harman Kardon HK3490 and it has inputs for that. I tried it with rDAC and as it missed volume control, the sound was a little bit too loud for my taste (and for my neighbours). wink.gif

The only candidate at the moment that I have been looking, is Cambridge Audio Dacmagic Plus, that has volume control and two digital inputs (both with coaxial and optical) instead of one each in rDAC.
It it worth the money if I would use it as Pre-Amp and just use the HK as amplifier or do I even need a DAC because I could use HK's connections to do that when listening from computer?
Any other suggestions in the same price range are welcome, even changing the receiver if it makes a difference.


I seriously doubt that you could any difference between the digital audio inputs of your HK3490 (lacks only USB) and the Arcam rDAC you already have, in a proper listening test using the same speakers.

Now if you said that you were a headphones-only listener, and want to get rid of the bulky HK3490, then the answer would be different.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Sep 24 2012, 15:56
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 3-January 04
From: East Coast, USA
Member No.: 10915



QUOTE (Wompatti @ Sep 24 2012, 02:39) *
...the sound was a little bit too loud for my taste (and for my neighbours).

Why not just lower the volume setting on the receiver? Where do you have the rDAC plugged into your receiver? It should be in one of the line-level Audio inputs (CD, Tape In, Vid In); not in the "Main In". Granted, going through the Main In will bypass the pre-amp circuitry of the receiver (including the volume control), but any dubious advantage that may offer is now offset by your need to purchase a new DAC to control volume.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 08:29