IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CDEXís Windows port of cdparanoia: possible to use it outside of CDEX?, Moved from Off-Topic, also lol necropost
Zaraza
post May 22 2003, 21:00
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 242



I was thinking of writing my own ripper/encoder frontend (mostly as a research project to improve my programming skills) and I was wondering if there is any way to re-use the Windows port of cdparanoia that
is the basis of the latest versions of CDEX.

I.e. anyone familiar with CDEX code can maybe tell me whether this is a stand-alone DLL or maybe a set of classes that could be re-used in a different project?

thanks in advance...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zaraza
post May 22 2003, 21:33
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 7-October 01
Member No.: 242



Answered my own question: CDRip.dll

...sorry for wasting bandwidth here...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john33
post May 22 2003, 21:48
Post #3


xcLame and OggDropXPd Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 3760
Joined: 30-September 01
From: Bracknell, UK
Member No.: 111



QUOTE (Zaraza @ May 22 2003 - 08:33 PM)
Answered my own question: CDRip.dll

...sorry for wasting bandwidth here...

Checking through the CDex source should help too. smile.gif


--------------------
John
----------------------------------------------------------------
My compiles and utilities are at http://www.rarewares.org/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kritip
post May 22 2003, 22:18
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 530
Joined: 15-January 02
From: Warwickshire -- England
Member No.: 1036



Just a note, if you are using a port of cdparanoia for windows, if a cd drive caches, it will be of no more use than any other burst mode ripper and so there may be others that are easier to use.

This is due to the fact that cdparanoia doesn't account for a drive cache, so it reads, re-reads from the cache and reports no error!!! I have personally tested this and have found that even on a terrrible cd, EAC struggled for ages in secure (2 hours and then failed), but cdex and cdparanoia reported no error! the result was unusable!!

Of course, if your drive does not cache, then it's great. If it does, you can still use no paranoia because it's not worth anything anyway!



These are just a few suggestions and opinions of mine, please nobody slate me! I would really love to use cdparanoia, especially when i am under Linux. I would then have no need for EAC.

Cheers,

Kristian
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zokik
post May 22 2003, 23:01
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 96
Joined: 7-July 02
Member No.: 2501



Has anyone ever done some comparison CDex vs. cdparanoia in linux? If you use cdparanoia from bash, you get quite thorough report of errors, IMHO much better than with CDex. I'd say that CDex just counts the bigger and very obvious errors cdparanoia reports. According to http://xiph.org/paranoia/faq.html#progbar the report could contain much more info than CDex displays.

However, if you're right about that cache stuff, cdparanoia undoubtly has a major weakness, although it is much better than any other ripper I tried except EAC. But I don't like EAC because it stresses the drive (and my patience wink.gif ) too much.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westgroveg
post May 24 2003, 01:23
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1236
Joined: 5-October 01
Member No.: 220



Does cdparanoia in linux encode to mpc, log? I may be using it soon with my xbox.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Delirium
post May 24 2003, 03:38
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 3-January 02
From: Santa Cruz, CA
Member No.: 891



QUOTE (westgroveg @ May 23 2003 - 05:23 PM)
Does cdparanoia in linux encode to mpc

Uhh, you encode to mpc, not a ripper. A ripper rips CD->wav. An encoder encodes wav->xx, and you can use whatever encoder you wish, and whatever method to do so you wish. Under Linux you may wish to use grip, a front-end to cdparanoia, which supports encoding to whatever command line you choose to type in (of which mppenc can certainly be one).

This post has been edited by Delirium: May 24 2003, 03:38
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
karmakillernz
post May 24 2003, 05:04
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 78
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4083



QUOTE (Delirium @ May 24 2003 - 02:38 PM)
QUOTE (westgroveg @ May 23 2003 - 05:23 PM)
Does cdparanoia in linux encode to mpc

Uhh, you encode to mpc, not a ripper. A ripper rips CD->wav. An encoder encodes wav->xx, and you can use whatever encoder you wish, and whatever method to do so you wish. Under Linux you may wish to use grip, a front-end to cdparanoia, which supports encoding to whatever command line you choose to type in (of which mppenc can certainly be one).

abcde is a console based 'frontend' to cdparanoia and I found it fantastic. Take a look - it may be more suitable for the xbox.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
westgroveg
post May 24 2003, 08:02
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1236
Joined: 5-October 01
Member No.: 220



QUOTE
Uhh, you encode to mpc, not a ripper. A ripper rips CD->wav. An encoder encodes wav->xx

What I was saying was, are there any frontends for it that support rip, encode & log like EAC does.

QUOTE
abcde is a console based 'frontend' to cdparanoia and I found it fantastic. Take a look - it may be more suitable for the xbox.

Thanx, I'll try it.

This post has been edited by westgroveg: May 25 2003, 02:51
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeekShadow
post Jan 13 2012, 21:16
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 0
Joined: 13-January 12
Member No.: 96415



Is this possible to build a CDparanoia.exe binary ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st October 2014 - 08:19