IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC to ALAC (.M4A) using ffmpeg
simonmcnair
post Aug 29 2012, 12:25
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 29-August 12
Member No.: 102742



just to let you know if you want to use EAC to output M4a files you can use ffmpeg to do this and get tagging. The best command line I have come up with is:

-i %source% -metadata "ARTIST=%artist%" -metadata "TITLE=%title%" -metadata "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -metadata "DATE=%year%" -metadata "TRACK=%tracknr%" -metadata "GENRE=%genre%" -metadata "ALBUM_ARTIST=%albuminterpret%" -metadata "COMPOSER=%composer%" -metadata "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -metadata "COMMENT=CRC:%TRACKCRC%" -metadata "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" -acodec alac %dest%

Sorry if this is old news, if there are any better command lines, a link to the forum post would be appreciated.

Regards
Simon
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
butt257
post Feb 23 2013, 11:07
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-February 13
Member No.: 106820



Long time reader, first time poster at HA for me. Starting my lossless ALAC archive using EAC, used this command line from the wiki. However how do I modify it so it will embed album art?

Please forgive me, I have no clue when it comes to code; I tried adding -metadata "ARTWORK=%coverfile%". Do I need to use %hascover% anywhere?

I'm assuming that if I've done it right, the file icons in windows should change to the album art?

This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 5 2013, 14:18
Reason for edit: deleting pointless full quote
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
themanuel
post Mar 5 2013, 03:37
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 5-March 13
Member No.: 107021



I have the same problem, except that I would also like to add lyrics from freedb.
Can anybody help with the command parameters necessary to achieve this with EAC and ffmpeg ALAC?

This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 5 2013, 14:18
Reason for edit: "
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
themanuel
post Mar 7 2013, 06:32
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 5-March 13
Member No.: 107021



Never mind.
I could not get it to work and ffmpeg's documentation is not very helpful.

I used qaac instead, and instead and it works great.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Mar 7 2013, 14:58
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4464
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



^or you could use refalac - from the same developer as qaac.

https://github.com/nu774/qaac/wiki/refalac-usage

QUOTE
refalac is a win32 command line ALAC encoder/decoder based on open source reference implementation by Apple.

refalac shares much of codes and functionalities with qaac. Therefore, it is packed in the same archive with qaac. However, refalac doesn't require QuickTime or other Apple components. Under x64 environment, you can use refalac64.exe in the zip archive. It's a bit faster than 32bit version.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 11:05