IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Need better library connect
bsw11
post Aug 23 2012, 03:48
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



I have FB2K running on a 2nd PC (Acer I7 Ultrabook) and all of my drives are on the network running off my main PC. Both running W7 64. The problem is that why I hybernate the laptop or reboot the main PC while the laptop is playing, then the Media Libraries all show "error" and I have to one by one (there are a lot of folders) right mouse and rescan each - a royal pain.

Is there a solution for this problem?

If not, could you not check for an error condition say once every 5 minutes and then initiate a auto-rescan.

If not, a scan all button would at least lesson the pain.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daeron
post Aug 23 2012, 05:33
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 59818



You can initiate a manual rescan via Preferences/Media Library/Right click on folder/Rescan now. Alternatively you can set up a keyboard shortcut to do the same.

I'm also pretty sure restarting foobar does the job as well.

This post has been edited by Daeron: Aug 23 2012, 05:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsw11
post Aug 26 2012, 21:25
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



QUOTE (Daeron @ Aug 22 2012, 21:33) *
You can initiate a manual rescan via Preferences/Media Library/Right click on folder/Rescan now. Alternatively you can set up a keyboard shortcut to do the same.

I'm also pretty sure restarting foobar does the job as well.


Yes you are correct on both cases - that is what I have been doing - right clicking on all 10 folders and rescaning. I would just like 1 button to do it all or better some smarts to do a retry every 5 or 10 minutes on the error condition (Peter?). Restarting means having to stop listening.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daeron
post Aug 26 2012, 22:56
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 59818



Did you try using the shortcut? It says 'Rescan folders', which should mean it rescans all of your folders at once. If that's not the case, is there anything stopping you from storing all your music in one place?

And as far as I understood you get your data from the other PC, which means you are forced to stop listening anyway if that shuts down.

This post has been edited by Daeron: Aug 26 2012, 22:56
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trout
post Aug 27 2012, 00:18
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 425
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68400



"Rescan folders", besides via a keyboard shortcut, can also be accessed by
  • Shift + Library (menu bar)
  • As a button command

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsw11
post Sep 2 2012, 22:08
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



QUOTE (Daeron @ Aug 26 2012, 14:56) *
Did you try using the shortcut? It says 'Rescan folders', which should mean it rescans all of your folders at once. If that's not the case, is there anything stopping you from storing all your music in one place?

And as far as I understood you get your data from the other PC, which means you are forced to stop listening anyway if that shuts down.


The Shortcut did the trick! Ctrl -R for me! THANKS!

It would have been nice to add a button on the library page.

I keep my media on 4 - 3TB disks. And on some of my Main music folders I have music I don't want in FB2K yet. So that is what complicates things. I have never turned that system off.

One big improvement would be to really clean up the library threads from the main player as startup is still a bit painful, and if I am doing any major maintenance on those drives, FB2K will still hang at times.

This post has been edited by bsw11: Sep 2 2012, 22:09
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Daeron
post Sep 3 2012, 06:13
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 448
Joined: 9-October 08
Member No.: 59818



I would just put all your music on one drive and exclude/separate folders you don't need via titleformatting.

If the drive(s) lag(s) under heavy load increasing the buffer length (Preferences/Playback/Output) might help.

This post has been edited by Daeron: Sep 3 2012, 06:18
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 19:50