IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

Opening .M4R files for use with iOS devices
Simon818
post Aug 19 2012, 14:47
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-August 12
Member No.: 102469



Hi all,

I'm currently using foobar2000 1.1.10 on windows XP professional. I also have an iPhone, and a giant collection of ringtones I'd like to sort through. As I find the iTunes interface to be more than a bit clunky, and it also adds every file I open to the library automatically, I'd like to use foobar2000 to sort through these instead, then add the ones I want to iTunes manually.

My copy of foobar2000 seems to natively support M4A files, and M4R is simply a renamed M4A. However, since they have a nonstandard extension, the program apparently doesn't know which decoder to send them too, or is sending them to the wrong one. I've had a poke around in options in an attempt to fix this, but have come up blank.

If absolutely necessary, I could write an autohotkey or autoit script to rename all the files to M4A, but I'd rather avoid going to extra trouble. This is also something I've been meaning to ask about for a long time. I know that in some media players, it's possible to set certain custom filetypes to automatically send to a certain decoder, but I can't seem to do this in foobar, though I could very well be missing something. Anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 2)
Case
post Aug 19 2012, 16:47
Post #2





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2288
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Sounds like you run old version of foobar2000. Update to latest version and .m4r files are supported.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Simon818
post Aug 20 2012, 20:29
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-August 12
Member No.: 102469



Heh. Alright, I'm an idiot. I had thought for some reason that I was a little bit more up to date than that, but I guess I'll just need to check more often.

I'm still curious to know if there's a way to do something like this, in case any custom formats show up that I need to open. It doesn't happen often, but it would be good to have that capability. I'm guessing it's not possible though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2014 - 21:55