IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
[0.8.3] Loading foo_wma.dll without WMP or WMFRuntime?
Disco Makberto
post Jul 12 2012, 16:26
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



Dear e-readers,

Greetings to all!

Well, I have "foobar2000 0.83 special" installed as a portable application on an external USB flash drive which I use with Windows XP. The application works as it should, but I am getting an error pertaining to the inability to load foo_wma.dll (which is installed as part of the application). I know that this can be fixed by installing Windows Media Player or Windows Media Format Runtime on the host Windows XP computer, but since the computer is not mine, I cannot simply install them. Thus, and I think you are reading my mind now, is there a way to load foo_wma.dll without installing anything on the host computer? Or, in other words, can I add something or modify my flash drive in such a way that I am not required to install Windows Media Player or Windows Media Format Runtime on the host XP computer?

Before I am asked, yes, I did try numerous newer versions of foobar2000, but none of them worked. Coversely, "foobar2000 0.8.3 special" worked except for the foo_wma.dll error.

Kindest regards,

Carlos Albert
Disco Makberto
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zao
post Jul 12 2012, 20:12
Post #2





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 929
Joined: 25-September 03
From: Ume, Sweden
Member No.: 9001



What is this "special" version you have, and could you outline what errors/problems you get with non-ancient foobar2000 versions?
The WMA input component uses the system codec due to WMA being a proprietary clusterhug to implement.


--------------------
Zao shang yong zao nong zao rang zao ren zao.
To, early in the morning, use a chisel to build a bathtub makes impatient people hot-tempered.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Jul 12 2012, 21:20
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 12 2012, 17:26) *
Or, in other words, can I add something or modify my flash drive in such a way that I am not required to install Windows Media Player or Windows Media Format Runtime on the host XP computer?

QUOTE (Zao @ Jul 12 2012, 21:12) *
The WMA input component uses the system codec due to WMA being a proprietary clusterhug to implement.
I'm not sure whether WMA can be decoded on systems without Windows Media Player. Does anyone have a version of Windows Server without an installed WMP at hand? Though I'm puzzled why the OP's installation of Windows XP comes without WMP.

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Jul 12 2012, 21:21


--------------------
It's only audiophile if it's inconvenient.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 13 2012, 08:29
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Zao: 0.8.3 was available in several official installers, which differed in their complements of bundled components; Special contained the largest selection.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zao
post Jul 13 2012, 19:38
Post #5





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 929
Joined: 25-September 03
From: Ume, Sweden
Member No.: 9001



So I was reminded on IRC last night, shortly after posting.

Don't expect me to remember petty details about historical versions. 0.8.3 was a solid four years ago, and I can't really see why anyone would want to run a legacy version incompatible with pretty much all components.


--------------------
Zao shang yong zao nong zao rang zao ren zao.
To, early in the morning, use a chisel to build a bathtub makes impatient people hot-tempered.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 13 2012, 20:06
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Zao @ Jul 13 2012, 19:38) *
So I was reminded on IRC last night, shortly after posting.

Don't expect me to remember petty details about historical versions.
I didnt mean anything negative.

QUOTE
0.8.3 was a solid four years ago, and I can't really see why anyone would want to run a legacy version incompatible with pretty much all components.
I agree, and like you Im curious to get some actual details about this: I did try numerous newer versions of foobar2000, but none of them worked.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Disco Makberto
post Jul 14 2012, 01:00
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



Dear posters,

Thank you for all pertienent replies.

With the latest versions such as v1.1.13, v.1.1.12a, etc, I am getting the msvcrt.dll error and/or the shared.dll error and the dbghelp.dll error. Needless to say, in all instances, the GUI doesn't open. On the other hand, with v0.83, the GUI opens, and I just get the foo_wma.dll error. Regardless, I just recently discovered that some other versions are compatible with the host system such as v0.90 and v0.91. I don't get any errors with those versions, and, in both instances, the GUI opens perfectly, but those versions are not wma compatible by default. I need to keep testing in the event that I discover other versions compatible with the host system.

As it pertains to the possibility of playing WMA files without installing WMP or the Runtime, I think that, technically speaking, this is (or ought to be) possible. I am saying this because, as far as I know, VLC player and Mplayer can play WMA files independently of having WMP or the Runtime installed on the host system. Maybe I am wrong, but I think it is nice to have hope.

Best to all,

Carlos Albert
Disco Makberto

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jul 14 2012, 02:46
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 4691
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I think the version of Visual C++ used to compile recent foobar2000 and its bundled libraries requires Windows XP with at least Service Pack 2.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Jul 16 2012, 12:27
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 14 2012, 02:00) *
I am saying this because, as far as I know, VLC player and Mplayer can play WMA files independently of having WMP or the Runtime installed on the host system.
I guess these players use ffmpeg's WMA decoder.

QUOTE (kode54 @ Jul 14 2012, 03:46) *
I think the version of Visual C++ used to compile recent foobar2000 and its bundled libraries requires Windows XP with at least Service Pack 2.
Yes, the official download page explicitly states
QUOTE
Operating System
Windows XP - SP2 or newer, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows Server 2003, Windows Server 2008.
To me it sounds like the OPs installation of Windows XP is unsupported and incomplete, if both SP2 and WMP are missing.



--------------------
It's only audiophile if it's inconvenient.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Disco Makberto
post Jul 16 2012, 19:37
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



Hey, Kohlrabi & readers!

I appreciate your responses.

One question, please. Can I use ffmpeg's WMA decoder with foobar2000? I suppose this is feasible, isn't it so?

As for the Windows XP I am permitted to use, I guess it is a personalized version (via nLite or so) of Windows XP. Please let me respectfully emphasize that this Windows XP is not mine, so I cannot modify it (more so if it is already a modified version). So it is not like the "OP's Windows XP". But more power to it because that is exactly the purpose of a portable application. In other words, the idea is to be able to use foobar2000 portable on as many computers as possible such as using it on a computer at the public library, for instance, in addition to using it on the computer I have access to. Again, I don't know if what I am trying to achieve is possible, but I will keep trying.

Sincerely,

Carlos Albert
Disco Makberto
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Disco Makberto
post Jul 16 2012, 19:47
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



P.S.: By the way, I should have added that the Windows XP I have access to is not completely useless when it comes to foobar2000. As I said before, it works with v0.9.0, v0.9.1, and I am sure that with quite some other versions as well. It is just that the foo_wma.dll (on v.0.8.3 special) cannot be loaded. Thanks! Carlos Albert

This post has been edited by Disco Makberto: Jul 16 2012, 19:53
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Jul 16 2012, 20:17
Post #12





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 20:37) *
One question, please. Can I use ffmpeg's WMA decoder with foobar2000? I suppose this is feasible, isn't it so?
No, this is not possible.

QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 20:37) *
As for the Windows XP I am permitted to use, I guess it is a personalized version (via nLite or so) of Windows XP. Please let me respectfully emphasize that this Windows XP is not mine, so I cannot modify it (more so if it is already a modified version).
I understood that before, still this crippled version of Windows is not really supported by foobar2000. It's pure coincidence if it works.

QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 20:37) *
But more power to it because that is exactly the purpose of a portable application. In other words, the idea is to be able to use foobar2000 portable on as many computers as possible such as using it on a computer at the public library, for instance, in addition to using it on the computer I have access to.
Any PC with a properly installed Windows XP SP2 should be able to run the latest version (1.1.13), anything else is basically hit or miss, and you have to try yourself. Nobody can guarantee foobar2000 will run on a customized/broken installation of Windows. Legacy versions of foobar2000 are not really supported by the developers anymore.

QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 20:47) *
P.S.: By the way, I should have added that the Windows XP I have access to is not completely useless when it comes to foobar2000. As I said before, it works with v0.9.0, v0.9.1, and I am sure that with quite some other versions as well. It is just that the foo_wma.dll (on v.0.8.3 special) cannot be loaded.
My memory is hazy as to how these versions added WMA support. Was there an input plugin for 0.9.x, x<5?

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Jul 16 2012, 20:19


--------------------
It's only audiophile if it's inconvenient.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 16 2012, 21:29
Post #13





Group: Developer
Posts: 3468
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 22:37) *
Can I use ffmpeg's WMA decoder with foobar2000? I suppose this is feasible, isn't it so?

Only if you'll find a programmer that wants to write such plugin wink.gif I doubt that this will happen though.

QUOTE (Disco Makberto @ Jul 16 2012, 22:47) *
As I said before, it works with v0.9.0, v0.9.1

0.9.4.5 should also work then.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Disco Makberto
post Jul 16 2012, 21:52
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



Hi, again!

Yes, you are absolutely right, Kohlrabi. When it comes to personalized versions of XP, portable applications in general (not just foobar2000) is a hit and miss issue. Some portable applications work while some others don't. However, in some cases, non-working applications can be made compatible again by just adding some missing DLL's on the application itself.

In the case of foobar v0.9.0 and v.0.9.1, l tried to make them compatible with wma by adding foo_wma.dll from v.8.3 special, but it didn't work.

I haven't tried v0.9.5, and thanks to lvqcl for bringing this to my attention. I will try it as soon as possible. However, I might have to wait for some days as I am running out of space on my external flash drive, so I have to buy a new one. But I will keep reporting as soon as I am able to test again.

Carlos Albert
Disco Makberto

P.S.: Too bad I cannot use ffmpeg's WMA decoder! ):
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jul 16 2012, 22:18
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 3468
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



It seems that even foobar2000 ver. 1.0.3 doesn't require SP2: http://web.archive.org/web/20100621024514/...00.org/download
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Disco Makberto
post Jul 16 2012, 22:33
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 12
Member No.: 101379



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Jul 16 2012, 23:18) *
It seems that even foobar2000 ver. 1.0.3 doesn't require SP2: http://web.archive.org/web/20100621024514/...00.org/download


Thanks, lvqcl! I am going to try that one as well. But, oh my!, I don't have space now. I am going to buy a new flash card ASAP!

Cheers,

Carlos Albert
Disco Makberto
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd December 2014 - 03:19