IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Open Source Fraunhofer AAC Encoder (fdk-aac)
nu774
post Nov 4 2013, 03:25
Post #126





Group: Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (eahm @ Nov 4 2013, 04:43) *
nu774, does Fraunhofer manage multichannel better on fdk than its premium encoder (the one that comes with Winamp/fhgaacenc)?

I don't know. I have no access to it's source code or something.

QUOTE
Also, do we need to keep libfdk-aac-0.dll for anything?

If you are using fdkaac_autobuild, no. FDK library is statically linked to the executable.
DLL is built just in case people want to use it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pulstar
post Nov 6 2013, 05:39
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 35
Joined: 26-January 10
Member No.: 77550



I'm using FDK now for all SBR encodes.. But I wonder how it stacks against Apple's encoder in terms of LC efficiency at lower bitrates.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Dec 15 2013, 15:46
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 2425
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



Thank you very much, nu774, for this great automatic fdkaac.exe creating tool.

I got a lot of warnings and -fno-exceptions when compiling. Do I have to care about it?


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Dec 15 2013, 17:01
Post #129





Group: Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (halb27 @ Dec 15 2013, 23:46) *
Thank you very much, nu774, for this great automatic fdkaac.exe creating tool.

I got a lot of warnings and -fno-exceptions when compiling. Do I have to care about it?

Although Makefile in that automatic script is hand-written by me, libfdk-aac is not my project and it's out of my controll, and -fno-exceptions (and -fno-rtti) is specified in upstream Makefile.am anyway
(I guess that's because they want to avoid dependency to libstdc++ and also some of overheads, but I dunno).
In short, I don't care, and you don't have to ... unless something really went wrong when running the encoder, of course.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
halb27
post Dec 15 2013, 17:12
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 2425
Joined: 9-October 05
From: Dormagen, Germany
Member No.: 25015



Thank you. So I feel fine.


--------------------
lame3100m -V1 --insane-factor 0.75
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lithopsian
post Feb 27 2014, 23:21
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 171
Joined: 27-February 14
Member No.: 114718



I built this front end on Debian (after writing my own because I wanted input on stdin, not nearly as good as the one from nu774!), also the libraries. Works very well. The Linux build, at least for my architecture, uses shared libraries although nothing else on my system uses them. ffmpeg might I suppose, but I don't use that.

Playing the files through Deadbeef I get a tiny jump between tracks. Deadbeef is known not to play Nero files gapless, although it does play faac files perfectly. The fdk-aac tracks have a much smalled gap than Nero. Audacious plays files encoded with the fdk-aac library just about perfectly (is there the tiniest skip on some tracks?)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
raducutzu
post May 4 2014, 11:23
Post #132





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 4-May 14
Member No.: 115917



QUOTE (nu774 @ Nov 2 2013, 10:22) *
It seems just an issue of white space in the path.
It didn't work in your first example, where fdkaac_autobuild is located at "C:\Program Files (x86)\Utilities\fdkaac_autobuild"
It went on the second example, this time "d:\Tools\fdkaac_autobuild" was used.


It happened to me, as well. For it to work, it has to be installed in a folder without a blank in the path, C:\Program Files (x86) does have one in between.

Thanks for this great tool.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post May 4 2014, 14:09
Post #133





Group: Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



White-space-in-the-path issue basically comes from mingw/msys restriction, and there's nothing I can do for it.
Anyway nice to hear that you enjoyed it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gottogo99
post Jun 21 2014, 01:22
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 13-April 07
Member No.: 42452



I've been experimenting with using this encoder for video encodes. Is there any way to eliminate the delay, like the --no-delay option in qaac? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Jun 21 2014, 01:37
Post #135





Group: Developer
Posts: 522
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (gottogo99 @ Jun 21 2014, 09:22) *
I've been experimenting with using this encoder for video encodes. Is there any way to eliminate the delay, like the --no-delay option in qaac? Thanks.

No. However, you can trim out certain amount of unnecessary start padding by m4acut.
CODE
fdkaac -b 128 foo.wav -o tmp.m4a && m4acut tmp.m4a -o result.m4a

In case of FDK LC-AAC encoder, the amount of delay is 2048(=whole 2 AAC frames).
m4acut will cut it down to 1024
(Since 1 frame is enough as priming for AAC decoder, m4acut will discard frames beyond that).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gottogo99
post Jun 27 2014, 23:05
Post #136





Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 13-April 07
Member No.: 42452



Belated thanks, I've been out of town.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bp0
post Aug 9 2014, 20:22
Post #137





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 24-July 14
Member No.: 116788



There is a HAK wiki page with collected information for Fraunhofer FDK AAC, and at Wikipedia Fraunhofer FDK AAC.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 4 5 6
Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st August 2014 - 17:46