IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Click->Drag doesn't work from cd? not sure if even bug
zavage
post Jul 7 2012, 08:41
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-July 12
Member No.: 101224



Hey. First of all, your software is pretty much perfect. By far the best audio player I've used.

I don't know if this is a legitimate bug.

I can click and drag (from explorer) music files from a hard drive and it works, but if I click and drag from a CD, it won't and displays the inappropriate mouse icon (cancel).

I first thought that maybe cds opened as admin in windows 7 and that was the reason (since admin processes and user processes can't communicate right? idk), but I opened foobar2000 as admin and that didn't fix it.

I thought maybe it was an explorer issue that handled it differently from that end, but I can click and drag into 7-zip.

Using latest (1.1.13) of course.

Sorry if I'm wasting your time or if this is an individual problem. Figured I'd let you know.

Thanks,
Mat
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 7 2012, 10:49
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



For what purpose do you want to click and drag tracks from a CD? Note that I used the word tracks, because audio CDs are not stored as files (despite what Windows might like to imply, just to confuse/mislead everyone). foobar2000 seems to be acting perfectly logically and correctly here.

QUOTE
I can click and drag into 7-zip.
Iím actually quite surprised by this. What happens when you do?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post Jul 8 2012, 13:18
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1339
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jul 7 2012, 11:49) *
Iím actually quite surprised by this. What happens when you do?


My guess is that it adds the .cda pseudo-file to the archive.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jul 8 2012, 16:16
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Of course! Looking back, I donít know why I was so baffled. wacko.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zavage
post Jul 10 2012, 02:31
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-July 12
Member No.: 101224



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jul 7 2012, 10:49) *
For what purpose do you want to click and drag tracks from a CD? Note that I used the word tracks, because audio CDs are not stored as files (despite what Windows might like to imply, just to confuse/mislead everyone). foobar2000 seems to be acting perfectly logically and correctly here.



Hey. Thanks for the fast reply!


Sorry, I was unintentionally vague!

The CD-ROM is a CD full of .mp3 files. The filesystem type of the disk is CDFS. I'm not sure if that is not Windows standard (it was burned on a mac, I'd love to blame it on that!)
I can't find too much information about CDFS to learn more. It almost sounds like it was just for audio CDs, but is that what all CD's use as a filesystem? I don't know that much.

One can click/drag the CD link (in "my computer"), or one can right click tracks and explorer context "Play in foobar", etc. like normal files, but clicking/dragging these imaginary files doesn't.


QUOTE
QUOTE
I can click and drag into 7-zip.
Iím actually quite surprised by this. What happens when you do?


As for 7-zip, it behaves as regular files. If I open an archive and click-drag from the CD, it adds it (.mp3 file) to the archive.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jul 10 2012, 06:11
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1341
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Can you take a screenshot of the files?


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.6
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zavage
post Jul 10 2012, 20:36
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-July 12
Member No.: 101224



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WG0OPZgIbvA...ature=youtu.bee


This post has been edited by zavage: Jul 10 2012, 20:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jul 10 2012, 21:22
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1341
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



What happens if you try run foobar2000 as admin?
If that was what you did first, by right clicking on the .exe-file and choose Run as administrator?

I'll try and see if it works here.

Edit: Works fine here, also CDFS.

Does it work with Boom Audio Player?
http://perkele.cc/software/boom

This post has been edited by Andreasvb: Jul 10 2012, 21:31


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.6
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zavage
post Jul 10 2012, 21:43
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-July 12
Member No.: 101224



Could it have anything to do with shell extensions?

It doesn't work as admin and works in Boom on my computer.

Maybe a problem just with my install?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andreasvb
post Jul 10 2012, 22:48
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1341
Joined: 6-March 04
From: Sweden
Member No.: 12509



Try make a temporary layout.

View > Layout > Create scratchbox.
Add a Playlist view.

Then try drag in an .mp3-file.


--------------------
Windows 8.1u3 Pro x64 Media Center // foobar2000 1.3.6
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Sep 9 2012, 15:31
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 721
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



So? Was this solved? I got this problem since very long time - with both Audio CD and MP3 DVD.... Drag & drop doesn't work... Exactly as described above :/ . Any solution ?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EpicForever
post Sep 16 2012, 21:18
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 721
Joined: 14-September 11
From: Szczecin, PL
Member No.: 93712



Sorry for double posting - it's fixed in 1.1.15 - information for anyone who might missed it smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 13:37