IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Playlist disappeared
hivoltage7
post Jun 23 2012, 23:57
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



Since I have to wait like a ninja to double click my components before they disappear after a split second when I extract them, I accidentally doubleclicked it and it tried to open with Foobar for some reason? What? Why?

Anyway, it decided to break. My playlist is gone, and I have this:
http://imgur.com/bMcdL

How do I get my playlist back? It was like 60gb long, and organized with album art.

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 24 2012, 00:00
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Edit>Undo

Equally simplistic is the idea that you might want to save your playlist in the event of an unrecoverable crash. Do it manually, use foo_jesus, or just whatever.

The strange behaviour of your components might justify this thread’s staying in Support, which would not otherwise be the case, if it does turn out to be something caused directly by foobar2000. Either way, I suspect you’ll need to provide more information for anyone to be able to offer ideas.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 24 2012, 00:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hivoltage7
post Jun 24 2012, 00:04
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



I closed the program and restarted my computer. I can't undo.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 24 2012, 09:09
Reason for edit: deleting unnecessary full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 24 2012, 00:12
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



I’m sorry, but all I can think is that this is a perfect demonstration of why one should save things.

Unless foobar2000 leaves a paper-trail from which playlists can be restored, I think you’re out of luck.

Besides saving and making backups, you may want to enable the option ‘Set "enqueue" as the default action’, and/or ‘Always send new files to playlist: [your chosen playlist here]’, in order to avoid accidental overwriting in future.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hivoltage7
post Jun 24 2012, 02:19
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



If I did a system restore, could I recover my playlist?
EDIT: Or is there any kind of file recovery I can use?

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 24 2012, 09:09
Reason for edit: as above
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Jun 24 2012, 05:28
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



Call me crazy but I don't think a missing playlist is your biggest problem here.

I'm assuming you attempted to install the Lyric Show Panel 3 component. Can you explain every step you made in your attempt? Was it successful? (The screenshot you posted is odd. I can't get Foobar to do what it shows.)

QUOTE (hivoltage7 @ Jun 23 2012, 17:57) *
Since I have to wait like a ninja to double click my components before they disappear after a split second when I extract them, ...


Please explain this in more detail. You do know that you don't have to extract components in ZIP archives to install them?

QUOTE (hivoltage7 @ Jun 23 2012, 17:57) *
I accidentally doubleclicked it and it tried to open with Foobar for some reason? What? Why?


My first reaction would be to look at the file associations for ZIP and DLL files on your comp, as well as look to see what if anything appears in the "Open with..." right-click context menu with those file types.

This post has been edited by BenB: Jun 24 2012, 05:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hivoltage7
post Jun 24 2012, 06:17
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



QUOTE (BenB @ Jun 24 2012, 05:28) *
Call me crazy but I don't think a missing playlist is your biggest problem here.

It is my biggest problem. I spent hundreds of hours compiling my collection. How do I get it back?

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 24 2012, 09:09
Reason for edit: as above
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Jun 24 2012, 06:53
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



Your music collection is missing or just your playlist?

This post has been edited by BenB: Jun 24 2012, 06:54
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hivoltage7
post Jun 24 2012, 07:48
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



QUOTE (BenB @ Jun 24 2012, 06:53) *
Your music collection is missing or just your playlist?

My playlist. My music collection is spread out through my computer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Jun 24 2012, 09:15
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



Well, have you tried simple things like opening Playlist Manger (View > Playlist Manager) to see if any other playlists are listed there or checking Preferences > Media Library to see if the paths to your files are still there?

Have you opened the Console (View > Console) to look for any error messages?

Is foobar set to rescan your library at start-up? You can tell it to rescan by holding "Shift" and clicking on Library > Rescan folders.


BTW there is no need to keep quoting my posts.

This post has been edited by BenB: Jun 24 2012, 09:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hivoltage7
post Jun 24 2012, 09:27
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 23-June 12
Member No.: 100928



Yeah. Every playlist is gone. I didn't really use pathing to import, I dragged and dropped thongs from various locations. No error messages. Would system restore help?

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 24 2012, 09:33
Reason for edit: as above
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BenB
post Jun 24 2012, 10:19
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 749
Joined: 17-April 12
Member No.: 98921



I won't say it's impossible. Do you know how to restore a previous version of a file from a restore point without doing a full system restore? (<only available in vista or newer)

Look in the playlists folder in the foobar2000 folder in your user profile folder.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 24 2012, 12:06
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Thing is, will there even be a playlist file to restore? If a save/backup in an actual playlist format was never made, then the only chance is that the data might still exist in an automatically backed-up version of foobar2000’s configuration file. Then the questions are: How often does your system create a restore point? When was your playlist made, and was it before a restore point? And so on.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ruebe
post Jun 24 2012, 12:31
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 187
Joined: 18-September 10
Member No.: 83940



is it even necesarry to get your playlist back? i have the feeling you used it only to keep track of your music, right?
why don't you just add it via the library function?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 04:05