IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

converting 6 channels (any codec) to -> 6 channels AAC
chrizoo
post Jun 15 2012, 02:37
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 25-March 08
Member No.: 52274




Hi. If I want to reencode 6 channel audio (any codec) to -> 6 channel AAC,
do I have to split all channels, convert one by one, and merge them back together,
or is there a way to do this in a single step ? Many thanks.

This post has been edited by chrizoo: Jun 15 2012, 02:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
lvqcl
post Jun 15 2012, 15:51
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 3327
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



What program can merge several mono AAC files into one multichannel file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chrizoo
post Jun 15 2012, 17:40
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 25-March 08
Member No.: 52274




I didn't say I know one.
I need to reencode 6 channel audio (any codec) to -> 6 channel AAC,
have never done it and was wondering how to approach it.
AFAIK Nero encoder only accepts WAV as input, so logically I have to either
- create a 6 channel WAV file (which apparently does exist[1] but I have no clue how to create it), *supposing* Nero accepts 6 channel WAV input
OR
- encode each channel separately and merge the (AAC) channels afterwards

I don't see any other option.
Since I have never done a 6 channel AAC encoding, I was wondering what the most prevalent/widespread workflows are.

[1] http://www.jensign.com/bdp95/7dot1voiced/7dot1voiced.zip
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sunhillow
post Jun 15 2012, 22:12
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 483
Joined: 13-October 01
From: Stuttgart
Member No.: 286



Did you try foobar with Nero AAC?
This combination can encode everything that foobar can play to AAC smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
chrizoo
post Jun 19 2012, 23:23
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 345
Joined: 25-March 08
Member No.: 52274



but in realtime only, right ?

QUOTE (chrizoo @ Jun 15 2012, 17:40) *
... *supposing* Nero accepts 6 channel WAV input


FYI, I just tested and Nero does indeed accept 6 channel WAV input
(so if I manage to decode to 6 channel WAV, I'd be sorted out)

This post has been edited by chrizoo: Jun 19 2012, 23:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Jun 20 2012, 08:18
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1194
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



Again...have you tried foobar? It has DD and DTS plugins and can convert to WAV.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 06:13