IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Cue shee and cyrillic, Not working
Corey
post Jun 10 2012, 13:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



Is there any way to fix this? I tried different encodings, but without positive results.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dante Alighieri
post Jun 14 2012, 13:11
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 14-June 12
Member No.: 100704



Let me give more details. I have .cue with Cyrillic titles and filenames. Encoding is Windows-1251. On Russian WinXP everything's working fine, but on English Win7 foobar reads this file with the wrong encoding. Changing cue's encoding to UTF-8 or UTF-16 does not solve this problem (I just see other squiggles).

Foobar is the only program on my computers with such the problem.

This post has been edited by Dante Alighieri: Jun 14 2012, 13:12
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 14 2012, 13:51
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



Exacly, saw some people solved their problem with UTF-8 or 16, but not me :/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 19 2012, 01:51
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



How are you doing the conversion to UTF-8?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 19 2012, 14:46
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



Notepad++
Encoding -> Convert to UTF-8
is it correct way?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jun 19 2012, 16:02
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 3464
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (Corey @ Jun 19 2012, 17:46) *
is it correct way?

Yes if you didn't forget to save it wink.gif Now open this .cue file in foobar2000, remove garbage and write correct info into it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 19 2012, 16:09
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



If that's correct, than I wouldn't need to opet this topic : ) it doesn't work for me...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 19 2012, 22:44
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



Let's see one of these cue sheets.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 19 2012, 23:08
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



http://www64.zippyshare.com/v/78850396/file.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 19 2012, 23:17
Post #10





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Rather than making people wade through an ad-laden file-sharing site, why didnít you just post it here inside codebox tags
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 20 2012, 05:23
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



Well, I prefer to see the actual file so I can look at it in a hex editor, to verify encoding and make sure there's no hidden errors. I also use an ad blocker in my browser, so most of those file hosting sites are no problem to navigate. Nevertheless, we do have a couple of Uploads forums here where files can be attached.

Anyway, there are multiple errors in the syntax of this cue sheet, aside from the encoding problem.

  1. Load the file in Notepad++. It should look like a mess in the TITLE, PERFORMER, and FILE lines.
  2. Go to Encoding > Character Set > Cyrillic > Windows-1252. Now you should see Russian text.
  3. Fix the error in the disc TITLE. It shouldn't be blank. Maybe make it be 'test':
    CODE
    TITLE test
  4. Fix the error in the track 10 TITLE. It has a double-quote in the middle of the double-quoted string. Change it to single quotes.
    CODE
    TITLE "Л.Бернстайн - Трехчастная сюита из мелодий к/ф 'Вестсайдская история'"
  5. Fix the error in the track index points. They all say INDEX 00, without any INDEX 01. Make them all be INDEX 01.
  6. Save As... and give it a new name, like Вайнштейн_3-corrected.cue. This file will still be Windows-1251 encoded.
  7. Go to Encoding > Convert to UTF-8. Lower right corner should now say "ANSI as UTF-8". The BOM is required for foobar2000 to recognize the file as UTF-8 encoded, so don't choose the "without BOM" options.
  8. Save.


If the .wav file named in the document exists, then foobar2000 should read the fixed cue sheet.

So, an encoding override option might be helpful, but I don't think there's a problem in fb2k here. The cue sheet had syntax errors, and there was apparent user error in the operation of Notepad++ to do the UTF-8 conversion.

This post has been edited by mjb2006: Jun 20 2012, 05:32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 20 2012, 05:57
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 13-June 10
Member No.: 81464



In step 7, it's doesn't say "ANSI as UTF-8", but cue works though : ) Except one thing, last track is not working, length says "?", and total disc runtime is shorter by it. Here's the final look of sheet, everything looks ok, but still is not working as it should:

CODE
REM GENRE Jazz
PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
TITLE "Джаз"
FILE "Вайнштейн_3.wav" WAVE
  TRACK 01 AUDIO
    TITLE "Н.Браун - Ты пришла из мечты"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 00:00:00
  TRACK 02 AUDIO
    TITLE "Э.Бернстайн - Ночь в Африке"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 2:58:00
  TRACK 03 AUDIO
    TITLE "Т.Джонс - Внезапная остановка"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 05:15:00
  TRACK 04 AUDIO
    TITLE "Ф.Лэй - История любви"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 10:05:00
  TRACK 05 AUDIO
    TITLE "Т.Джонс - Полет во Вселенную"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 15:24:00
  TRACK 06 AUDIO
    TITLE "Ф.Боланд - Веселые саксофоны"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 19:48:00
  TRACK 07 AUDIO
    TITLE "Б.Рич - Вдохновение"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 23:33:00
  TRACK 08 AUDIO
    TITLE "К.Джонс - В движении"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 26:47:00
  TRACK 09 AUDIO
    TITLE "Э.Гарнер - Грустно"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 29:35:00
  TRACK 10 AUDIO
    TITLE "Л.Бернстайн - Трехчастная сюита из мелодий к/ф 'Вестсайдская история'"
    PERFORMER "Джаз-оркестр Иосифа Вайнштейна"
    INDEX 01 32:32:00

Also, one more question, in the top, FILE, extension is wav, but my file is in flac, I'm wondering why is that so?

EDIT
I just ranemad that field, putted .flac instead of wav and now everything works fine!!

Thanks a lot pal for your help, I learned a lot : )

This post has been edited by Corey: Jun 20 2012, 06:00
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 20 2012, 06:11
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 860
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



QUOTE (Corey @ Jun 19 2012, 22:57) *
In step 7, it's doesn't say "ANSI as UTF-8", but cue works though : ) Except one thing, last track is not working, length says "?", and total disc runtime is shorter by it. Here's the final look of sheet, everything looks ok, but still is not working as it should:

In foobar2000, you will either get a dialog telling you what's wrong, or you can look in the console (it's under View) and see what it says there.

QUOTE (Corey @ Jun 19 2012, 22:57) *
Also, one more question, in the top, FILE, extension is wav, but my file is in flac, I'm wondering why is that so?


*eyeroll* Rip your own CDs, and these kinds of problems don't come up anywhere near as often.

Either the cue sheet was generated by the ripping software and then screwed up by hand, or the whole thing was authored by hand. Probably the former. Either way, at the time the cue sheet was created, the audio data was in a WAV file. At some point afterward, the WAV was converted to FLAC, but the cue sheet was not modified to match. Change it to match the actual file name you want the cue sheet to apply to.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 07:09