IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Boxes instead of special charcters in the titles in my playlist
Scan
post Jun 8 2012, 22:58
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-June 12
Member No.: 100533



I have noticed that special characters (like a heart, chinese letters) have turned into boxes instead of characters. I have no clue how to solve this. Does anybody have an idea what I could do?

Thanks in advance.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Jun 9 2012, 02:18
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



You are not using a font capable of showing the characters. What font are you using? Might be nice to know what version of foobar2000 you are using. What OS? Or anything else you can think of to help others provide you help
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Jun 9 2012, 04:57
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 811
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



Also, what kind of playlist items are you talking about? Audio files? Cue sheets?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Zarggg
post Jun 9 2012, 05:17
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 556
Joined: 18-January 04
From: bethlehem.pa.us
Member No.: 11318



Another possibility is that the tags are written in a codepage that is not Unicode.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Scan
post Jun 9 2012, 11:22
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-June 12
Member No.: 100533



I am using foobar2000 v.1.1.9
Windows 7
The font is Tahoma and it is the tag in the MP3-file so everywhere in foobar is where the boxes in the titles show up.

The thing is that it all worked fine until I noticed this the other day.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 9 2012, 22:49
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



There is another problem which causes this. The exact nature of the problem is unknown, but the symptom is that automatic font substitution stops working, and the only known fix is to log out of your Windows account and then log back in. It may be related to installing new fonts.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jun 10 2012, 02:18
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 581
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



I am a Columns UI user (alternative user interface),
and in my foobar2000 layout, these unwanted boxes only appear in the Default User Interface native components
such as the Media Library Search window and Playlist Search window and other DUI pop-up windows.

More specifically,
My display scripts for DUI windows require handling of blank lines and large chunks of white space in multi-line tag fields such as %comment%,
and if an exotic font such as PT Sans is used then the boxes show; with more common fonts the problem may not show.

In my experience, Columns UI and its native components never mistakenly draws these boxes, no matter which font is used.

This post has been edited by derty2: Jun 10 2012, 02:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
neothe0ne
post Jun 10 2012, 05:01
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 295
Joined: 25-September 05
Member No.: 24684



This hasn't happened to me in a long time, but I've experienced it before - it's a Windows(7)-wide issue, not just foobar2000 (Columns UI vs Default UI has nothing to do with it). My only fix at the time was to keep restarting Windows until the characters showed up again (specifically, Korean characters).

This post has been edited by neothe0ne: Jun 10 2012, 05:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
randal1013
post Jun 10 2012, 05:55
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 306
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 28189



^i have the same problem. sometimes my rating stars show up as boxes and i have to reboot to fix it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Scan
post Jun 11 2012, 13:45
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 8-June 12
Member No.: 100533



Thanks for the replys.

I rebooted after updating windows and the problem were solved, only for a while though. So I suspect it was an Windows 7-issue.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Jun 11 2012, 20:08
Post #11





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Reboot is unnecessary, you just need to log out and back in. Possibly all accounts, if multiple users are logged in.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GBNeil
post Jun 16 2013, 10:59
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 3-January 11
Member No.: 87018



I've just experienced this in Win7 too. Anyone know of a solution?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ChronoSphere
post Jun 16 2013, 14:43
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 501
Joined: 11-March 07
Member No.: 41384



I heard this is somehow related to google chrome and running a non-asian locale (yes, it affects the whole PC). One solution was to put a file with an asian character in the filename on the desktop.

I can't really verify it since I'm running Japanese locale, and so far I had no problems with the characters.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GBNeil
post Jun 16 2013, 17:48
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 3-January 11
Member No.: 87018



QUOTE (ChronoSphere @ Jun 16 2013, 13:43) *
I heard this is somehow related to google chrome and running a non-asian locale (yes, it affects the whole PC). One solution was to put a file with an asian character in the filename on the desktop.

I can't really verify it since I'm running Japanese locale, and so far I had no problems with the characters.


Thanks for the reply. I'm certainly running Win7 & Chrome but I don't quite understand your solution 'put a file with an asian character in the filename on the desktop'?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Jun 16 2013, 17:57
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 3389
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



For example: create a file named 星.txt on your desktop.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 16 2013, 17:59
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



(1) Create/find a file whose name contains at least one east Asian character. (2) Put it on your desktop.

I cannot recall whether the phenomenon mentioned by ChronoSphere was the same or not, but considering how easy this is, you might as well try it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GBNeil
post Jun 16 2013, 19:03
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 3-January 11
Member No.: 87018



Thanks guys!

A fine file named 星.txt now has pride of place on my desktop.

Keep you posted, or not smile.gif

Now to check out what the symbol means
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Glamis
post Nov 30 2013, 17:02
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 30-November 13
Member No.: 112770



Following a Windows 7 -64 reinstall and after spending two days researching and trying zillions of fixes and scripts to have my star ratings displayed correctly again, I feel compelled to add my input to help fellow sufferers. This is what worked for me :
1) Used quicktag 2) got rid of foo_count 3) YES, UNINSTALLED FULLY CHROME by Revo Uninstaller 4) Cleaned everything by CC cleaner 5) YES, SAVED A CHINESE NAMED FILE ON DESKTOP( this strangely seems to be indispensable - mine is 怕别人说他醉了) 6) used $if(%rating%,$repeat(♥,%rating%),o) with shortcuts assigned. After this procedure symbols (and Greek characters) were miraculously displayed correctly with every font I tried. I cannot explain this but my feeling is removing Chrome did the trick.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 1 2013, 04:28
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 4619
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



There is a global limit to GDI handles. Exhausting that limit tends to break the automatic font substitution system used by applications like foobar2000, which rely on the operating system to do it for them. The only relief usually comes at the cost of logging out of all accounts on the machine and logging back in again. Assuming you can't use the Task Manager to track down whichever applications are using the most handles and shut them down immediately.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Dec 1 2013, 09:07
Post #20





Group: Developer
Posts: 528
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



How funny to imagine people all over the world placing file named like 星.txt on the Desktop.
Even if it is a purely technical workaround, looks more like a lucky charm or voodoo magic.
Also reminds me of a special download link for China at http://www.python.org/ .
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th September 2014 - 06:54