IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
fb2k-component packages vs zip files, From: WASAPI plug-in version 3.0 beta
Mr.Duck
post May 22 2012, 16:54
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



This plugin finally fixed WASAPI seek issues with my USB audio interface.

But to install, just unpack to components directory is so much easier. It would be better if this component was uploaded as a zip to begin with.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post May 22 2012, 17:21
Post #2


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3284
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 16:54) *
But to install, just unpack to components directory is so much easier. It would be better if this component was uploaded as a zip to begin with.

How is unpacking a zip "so much easier" than double-clicking a file?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Duck
post May 22 2012, 17:52
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 17:21) *
QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 16:54) *
But to install, just unpack to components directory is so much easier. It would be better if this component was uploaded as a zip to begin with.

How is unpacking a zip "so much easier" than double-clicking a file?

It's not. I would have to load Foobar2000 to import the component.

I don't use the user-components folder. I can't be bothered. It's neater to put everything in components which is what I do. Since I went there to rename the old foo_out_wasapi for backup (which I would still do if I was using the user-components folder), I just tried renaming the wasapi 3 beta to zip to see if it could be unpacked, which it could, so I then just copied it over. Easy peasy.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post May 22 2012, 18:36
Post #4


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3284
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 17:52) *
I don't use the user-components folder.
Means you're not able to use automatic component updates. Sounds like great improvement indeed.
QUOTE
It's not. I would have to load Foobar2000 to import the component.
You have to load your archiver instead to unpack the zip. So much for great efficiency.
QUOTE
Since I went there to rename the old foo_out_wasapi for backup (which I would still do if I was using the user-components folder)
From what I see on the crash report tracker, lots of people do that, then get issues due to running different versions of the same component side-by-side. Nothing stops you from keeping backups of original component packages to easily change between different versions of the component and have foobar2000 deal with additional files required by the component for you instead of having them lying around in your components folder after you move/rename the component DLL.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 22 2012, 19:11
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 17:52) *
QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 17:21) *
QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 16:54) *
But to install, just unpack to components directory is so much easier. It would be better if this component was uploaded as a zip to begin with.
How is unpacking a zip "so much easier" than double-clicking a file?
It's not.
I’m confused, but anyway…

QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 17:52) *
I would have to load Foobar2000 to import the component.
As Peter implied, shouldn’t you just be able to double-click on foo_out_wasapi.fb2k-component from Explorer and have foobar2000 install it automatically? Otherwise, I suspect something is amiss in your file associations.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Duck
post May 22 2012, 19:17
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 18:36) *
Means you're not able to use automatic component updates. Sounds like great improvement indeed.

Yes but that only because foobar blocks updating components from this folder by design. It doesn't have to be this way. The installer could 'take ownership' of "C:\program files\foobar2000" instead (to make sure it gets read/write access, if that was one of reasons for this new design). I did try to use the new default behaviour of using the user-components folder when the feature became available. After a short while I decided it wasn't worth it. I would either manually update components anyway, or "TAK Decoder" would get into an infinite updating loop, or even if it did work properly, it left mess behind which I had to manually clean up by deleting files. Plus it would make too many sub folders to store everything in. Even with multiple users on the same machine, I would just keep separate, portable foobar2000s. It's a whole lot less hassle this way.


QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 18:36) *
You have to load your archiver instead to unpack the zip. So much for great efficiency.

Nope, I just use a real file manager. Even if I didn't, I would only have to double click on the zip to open it.


QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 18:36) *
From what I see on the crash report tracker, lots of people do that, then get issues due to running different versions of the same component side-by-side.

I renamed it so it no longer had the dll extension. No issues would be caused.


QUOTE (Peter @ May 22 2012, 18:36) *
Nothing stops you from keeping backups of original component packages to easily change between different versions of the component and have foobar2000 deal with additional files required by the component for you instead of having them lying around in your components folder after you move/rename the component DLL.

Not sure exactly how that works, but I can't see how it is going to be any easier because I'm going to be loosing control. If there were many extra required files, I would prefer to manage them myself, keeping a backup of the original download if necessary to show all the file names that are used (which is far from necessary in this case).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Duck
post May 22 2012, 19:20
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



QUOTE (db1989 @ May 22 2012, 19:11) *
As Peter implied, shouldn’t you just be able to double-click on foo_out_wasapi.fb2k-component from Explorer and have foobar2000 install it automatically? Otherwise, I suspect something is amiss in your file associations.

Portable foobar2000. Portable everything possible for that matter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 22 2012, 19:22
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Whoops, me dumb. blush.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post May 22 2012, 19:29
Post #9





Group: Developer
Posts: 3382
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 22:17) *
It doesn't have to be this way. The installer could 'take ownership' of "C:\program files\foobar2000" instead (to make sure it gets read/write access, if that was one of reasons for this new design).

Not a very good idea, especially on Vista/Win7.

QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 22:17) *
or "TAK Decoder" would get into an infinite updating loop,

No problems here. foo_input_tak 0.4.4.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post May 22 2012, 20:17
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4468
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



can't your archiver unpack files from the context menu? i use 7-zip and it opens .fb2k-compoent files just fine.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Duck
post May 23 2012, 03:33
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



QUOTE (lvqcl @ May 22 2012, 19:29) *
Not a very good idea, especially on Vista/Win7.

Why is that not a good idea?


QUOTE (marc2003 @ May 22 2012, 20:17) *
can't your archiver unpack files from the context menu? i use 7-zip and it opens .fb2k-compoent files just fine.

Yeah I'm sure it could if I set it up. That reminds me I should do that sometime.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post May 23 2012, 09:31
Post #12


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3284
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



If you can install components manually without shooting yourself in the foot and also prefer updating them manually, that is good for you.

Releasing the new ASIO component recently revealed that lots of people try to install components manually and end with corrupted installations by misplacing additional files bundled with the component that are required by the component to function. Hence the .fb2k-component format (yes, they are renamed zip files), which encourages people to let fb2k handle the whole archive for them.

Please do not recommend other users to install components manually; while the concept is still functional, it has been proven to cause problems - especially for "geek" users who think they know better how specific component should be installed.

QUOTE (Mr.Duck @ May 22 2012, 19:17) *
Yes but that only because foobar blocks updating components from this folder by design.
It does not block updating components, it leaves them alone because it has no idea which additional files belong to which component.
QUOTE
...or "TAK Decoder" would get into an infinite updating loop
Never heard of such issue. Have you posted about it in the tech support forum?
QUOTE
or even if it did work properly, it left mess behind which I had to manually clean up by deleting files.
Mess? Cleaning up? Downloaded files are left in a local cache folder to prevent server hammering if some component developer uploads a malformed package (which you seem to have witnessed with TAK Decoder). Sounds like you're too impatient to let foobar2000 automatically delete old downloads after one week.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Duck
post May 23 2012, 11:28
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 26-March 09
Member No.: 68393



QUOTE (Peter @ May 23 2012, 09:31) *
Please do not recommend other users to install components manually; while the concept is still functional, it has been proven to cause problems - especially for "geek" users who think they know better how specific component should be installed.

Ok, sorry.


QUOTE (Peter @ May 23 2012, 09:31) *
Never heard of such issue. Have you posted about it in the tech support forum?

It tried to download the latest version (0.4.4), and then every time it did, it thought version "0.4." was installed and tried to download to the latest version again which didn't match the installed version. Other people didn't experience this bug. My Foobar config needs an overhaul so maybe I'll reinstall it and try this again at some point.


QUOTE (Peter @ May 23 2012, 09:31) *
Mess? Cleaning up? Downloaded files are left in a local cache folder to prevent server hammering if some component developer uploads a malformed package (which you seem to have witnessed with TAK Decoder). Sounds like you're too impatient to let foobar2000 automatically delete old downloads after one week.

I didn't know it would clear these cache files after a week. I'm so used to other programs leaving a tonne of crap behind in various folders buried in the operating system and in the registry.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post May 23 2012, 11:50
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



I've been wanting to ask this for a while now, so here it goes...

Does installing in the user-components folder mean that two users on the same PC are no longer able to share the SAME fb2k install?

I'm still on XP and I use the "old" method (it's an upgrade of a pre-V1 install). My "problem" is that I have two accounts (admin and non-admin) that are using the same foobar2000 instance: they are in fact the same user (me) so same config, same stats, same playlists, etc. I can even close the player, login with the other account and playback will resume where the previous user left it.

That's exactly how I want it but, since sooner or later I'll have to switch to Win7, I'm wondering if I will be able to clone this environment with a "standard" install or I'll have to go portable.

Thanks for any insight.

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 23 2012, 12:39
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



If you use a portable installation, the built-in components installer will create a user-components folder inside the foobar2000 application folder. All users of that portable installation will share configuration and components, although it is not advised to try running the same portable installation from multiple accounts simultaneously. In fact, I think the instance blocking named mutex object will block that from happening, anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mobyduck
post May 23 2012, 13:28
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 24-April 03
From: Italy
Member No.: 6159



QUOTE (kode54 @ May 23 2012, 04:39) *
it is not advised to try running the same portable installation from multiple accounts simultaneously.
Thanks for the answer. I'm not using fb2k from two users simultaneously, sorry if I was unclear.

Alessandro
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post May 23 2012, 13:32
Post #17





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



I gathered that, but I figured I'd point it out anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
internethandle
post Aug 27 2012, 08:24
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-August 12
Member No.: 102685



Can someone (Peter? Others?) tell me what to do with the "WASAPIHost64.exe"/"WASAPIHost32.exe" present in the latest beta (5) upon manually opening with WinRAR? These were not present in beta 4, just the DLL file. In other words, I'd like to know in what directory, if anywhere, I am to extract them. I am using a 64-bit version of Win 7.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Aug 27 2012, 08:43
Post #19





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Obviously, to the same directory as the component.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 00:26