IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Manual forcing to rescan libraries...
gpglang
post May 7 2012, 20:03
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68717



I would like to see a way to force FB to rescan the library NOW...
I have found two ways to do so.. restart FB2K or remove the library en define it again.
Both are not my favorites... by far.
Is there another way or is it possible to have a button that does start a rescan of all (or selected) libraries?
So: feature request
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NEMO7538
post May 7 2012, 20:13
Post #2





Group: Developer
Posts: 817
Joined: 28-November 03
Member No.: 10088



File-->Preferences-->Media Library, then Right click one the folders
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post May 13 2012, 15:02
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



Or shift click on the Library menu - extra options will appear.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post May 13 2012, 15:11
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Is there any reason to manually rescan folders if "Monitoring for changes when running" is enabled?


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post May 13 2012, 15:15
Post #5





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (q-stankovic @ May 13 2012, 10:11) *
Is there any reason to manually rescan folders if "Monitoring for changes when running" is enabled?

Do you know how the close door button on elevators work? laugh.gif


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gpglang
post May 13 2012, 21:06
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 6-April 09
Member No.: 68717



Thx you all that helped... Never realized a right click action was defined here.. RTFM is here in place, My guess...

The reason to have this is Monitoring is not always as quick as I need it to be...
This did help me.. So thanks for those with the attention to help... All others, look into the mirror... and dislike.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post May 13 2012, 22:20
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



I really don't understand your problem: the quickest is indeed the live monitoring while foobar runs. How could a manual rescan be faster?


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dhromed
post May 13 2012, 23:33
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1323
Joined: 16-February 08
From: NL
Member No.: 51347



I suppose the library on a networked drive doesn't update as quickly and/or frequently?

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
q-stankovic
post May 14 2012, 00:06
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1741
Joined: 28-May 06
From: Düsseldorf
Member No.: 31251



Sure, but does the library on a NAS updates quicklier then applying rescan by restarting foobar2000? That's what the op said.


--------------------
german support forum: www.foobar-users.de / user: qwert73
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
southisup
post May 15 2012, 05:33
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 251
Joined: 28-October 05
Member No.: 25414



When first introduced, monitor for changes was not reliable for a few people, myself included. This was apparently due to deficiencies outside of foobar2000. Recent versions seem to have overcome this problem, for me at least, & most, if the lack of posts about it is anything to go by.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post May 15 2012, 05:36
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3371
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



The problem with folder monitoring was, I think, a bug in Samba, the free CIFS/SMB daemon. I remember Yirkha posting a patch once. I bet that's fixed now.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MrMonkey
post May 15 2012, 11:49
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 22-August 10
Member No.: 83276



QUOTE (Canar @ May 15 2012, 00:36) *
The problem with folder monitoring was, I think, a bug in Samba, the free CIFS/SMB daemon. I remember Yirkha posting a patch once. I bet that's fixed now.

It's fixed but it seems that some vendors don't update their SMB packages.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 15:44