IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Can any encoder auto select best settings based on ‘quality’ of input?, [TOS #6: moved from General Audio, was “MP3s with different bitrates”]
dave656
post Apr 30 2012, 22:21
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 12
Member No.: 97126



Is it possible for a MP3 converter to automatically select best encoder settings based on the audio quality?

For example: I have seen about 12 MP3 files from the same album with different encoder settings, say

CODE
File1 has a quality of V6 (VBR)
File2 has a quality of V5 (VBR)
File3 has a quality of V5 (VBR)
File4 has a quality of V4 (VBR)


I use dBpoweramp converter and normally I choose a fixed settings for the files in same album. Is it possible for any MP3 encoder to select quality like that?

This post has been edited by dave656: Apr 30 2012, 22:23
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 30 2012, 22:29
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Do you mean that you want the encoder to use a bitrate appropriate for the perceptual complexity of the uncompressed stream that you input to it? Then VBR is exactly what you want. Using different VBR settings for each song makes little to no sense because then you’re targeting a different quality per song, completely defeating the point.

Of course, this depends upon where you “have seen” sets of files such as those. If you stumbled upon them in the wild, so to speak, then you should expect neither an example worth following from their creator nor much interest from other users here.

This post has been edited by db1989: Apr 30 2012, 22:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ouroboros
post Apr 30 2012, 22:31
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 291
Joined: 30-May 08
From: UK
Member No.: 53927



What are you using to determine that file1 is V6 and file2 is V5 etc.?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dave656
post Apr 30 2012, 23:39
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 13-February 12
Member No.: 97126



QUOTE (Ouroboros @ Apr 30 2012, 14:31) *
What are you using to determine that file1 is V6 and file2 is V5 etc.?


dBpoweramp's MediaInfo plugin.

For example:

CODE
Encoding settings                : -m m -V 4 -q 0 -lowpass 17 --vbr-new -b 32
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post May 1 2012, 07:32
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 3384
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Maybe these files were encoded by different people.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post May 1 2012, 08:47
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1236
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



So you downloaded these files from where?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DonP
post May 1 2012, 13:13
Post #7





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 1471
Joined: 11-February 03
From: Vermont
Member No.: 4955



Guess whoever encoded the album either 1) liked some songs more than others, or 2) didn't understand the meaning of the V setting.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 22:13