IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
What does Converter do when output bit depth is same as source file’s?
kumbbl
post Apr 7 2012, 16:47
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 6-June 06
Member No.: 31522



Hi guys,

can anybody tell me this:

suppose i have defined a converter-preset with output bit depth set to 16 bit (e.g. to convert to redbook) and Dither set to always.
Now we have to different sources:
a) a 24 bit source-file
b) an already 16 Bit source-file

Of course for a) Foobar reduces the bit depth from 24 to 16 bit and does this also with adding Dither - fine.
But what does Foobar in case of b)? Does Foobar pass through the source regarding output-depth (means: do nothing and do not add dither) because there is nothing to do because the source has already the set target bit-depth?

Thanks for clarifying this.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xapz
post Dec 6 2012, 18:02
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 71174



A late answer: Yes, if dithering is set to "always", then dithering is always applied, no matter if the source is 24 bit or already 16 bit. This is easy to detect by looking at spectrograms of the files, because foobar adds quite a lot of dithering noise, which is clearly visible on dithered files.

I have a related question, the answer is probably the same. If I use a resampler DSP when transcoding files, will this always perform resampling even if the source rate is the same as the target?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dynamic
post Dec 6 2012, 19:32
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 821
Joined: 17-September 06
Member No.: 35307



QUOTE (xapz @ Dec 6 2012, 17:02) *
A late answer: Yes, if dithering is set to "always", then dithering is always applied, no matter if the source is 24 bit or already 16 bit. This is easy to detect by looking at spectrograms of the files, because foobar adds quite a lot of dithering noise, which is clearly visible on dithered files.

I have a related question, the answer is probably the same. If I use a resampler DSP when transcoding files, will this always perform resampling even if the source rate is the same as the target?


The standard PPHS resampler has always bypassed itself if the rates match, as far as I'm aware.

Try a bit-compare of output versus input to verify it with any resampler and you'd be lucky to get identical results if it didn't bypass itself.


--------------------
Dynamic – the artist formerly known as DickD
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
xapz
post Dec 6 2012, 19:58
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 18
Joined: 3-July 09
Member No.: 71174



Sometimes I wonder how often I already made my life more complicated than it could have been. -.-

I tried foo_dsp_resampler_0.8.1:
QUOTE
All tracks decoded fine, no differences found.


Thanks, Dynamic!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th September 2014 - 22:29