IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bought a Sonos: question re. splitting single Flac using cue
laohu
post Apr 6 2012, 18:55
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 21-July 04
Member No.: 15648



A few years ago I ripped al my cd's with EAC (single Flac file + cue sheet). When I replaced my old Squeezebox with a Sonons, I did not realize that Sonos only supports separate Flac files (and no cue sheets). Before I split all my Flac files, I have some questions. Since I eventually want to delete my single Flac file, what do I do with the cue sheet? Or is there a way to maintain the cue sheet, if so how?

I know how to use Foobar, but as far as I know Foobar does not touch the old cue sheet (i.e. transforms it so that I can use it with the separate Flac files)

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
frenzic
post Apr 9 2012, 18:00
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 98191



Cuesplitter by Medieval works for me. It probably does for you too. Can't hurt to try. It's free. It will replace your cue files too.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Apr 9 2012, 18:05
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (frenzic @ Apr 9 2012, 18:00) *
Cuesplitter by Medieval works for me.
Perhaps, but many other users have reported that this program has caused them problems.

QUOTE
It probably does for you too. Can't hurt to try. It's free. It will replace your cue files too.
So, it canít hurt to try, but it will replace your cue-sheets? Notwithstanding that no application should overwrite a file without explicit instruction to do so, it would certain hurt any given user if this one overwrote their cue-sheets with botched ones.

Readers follow this attempted advice at their own risk, in other words. Perhaps search for past discussions to assess whether this is a risk youíre willing to take.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frenzic
post Apr 9 2012, 19:23
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 29-March 12
Member No.: 98191



QUOTE (db1989 @ Apr 9 2012, 18:05) *
QUOTE (frenzic @ Apr 9 2012, 18:00) *
Cuesplitter by Medieval works for me.
Perhaps, but many other users have reported that this program has caused them problems.

QUOTE
It probably does for you too. Can't hurt to try. It's free. It will replace your cue files too.
So, it can’t hurt to try, but it will replace your cue-sheets? Notwithstanding that no application should overwrite a file without explicit instruction to do so, it would certain hurt any given user if this one overwrote their cue-sheets with botched ones.

Readers follow this attempted advice at their own risk, in other words. Perhaps search for past discussions to assess whether this is a risk you’re willing to take.


What kind of problems?
It does not overwrite your cuefiles. The old ones will still be there. I for one would not ever do an operation in the same folder the original files were in anyway. Other discussions? Well let us see shall we. http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index....;hl=cuesplitter

By Wombat
I even think jitter is the wrong term here. It seems in some places there is jitter used as explanation when Medival Cuesplitter breaks up the files at the wrong positions and not a frame boundary.
When you split with Cuetools and really have a bad CUE file that was created under some strange circumstances Cuetools even is warning you about such a problem.
Since you ripped all your cds correctly with CUE file Cuetools should have no problem and even creates a log file after splitting that lets you check the CRC against your original log. You canīt ask for more smile.gif

Mine: This was not challenged by this forum full of experts.

So attemted advice heh?

Edit changed file into files

This post has been edited by frenzic: Apr 9 2012, 19:25
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
- laohu   Bought a Sonos: question re. splitting single Flac using cue   Apr 6 2012, 18:55
- - lvqcl   But you don't need cuesheet if you store track...   Apr 6 2012, 19:14
- - mjb2006   ...unless you want to burn them back to CD and pre...   Apr 7 2012, 07:03
- - alondon   There is also a function to convert image cue shee...   Apr 8 2012, 05:06
- - laohu   Thank you so much! I'll try this out.   Apr 8 2012, 11:06
|- - laohu   QUOTE (laohu @ Apr 8 2012, 12:06) Thank y...   Apr 8 2012, 16:46
- - Fandango   As of 0.8.somethingIthink foobar2000, so basically...   Apr 8 2012, 17:27
|- - laohu   QUOTE (Fandango @ Apr 8 2012, 18:27) As o...   Apr 8 2012, 20:50
- - Fandango   Nothing? What else is there to do? That cue sheet ...   Apr 8 2012, 21:56
|- - laohu   QUOTE (Fandango @ Apr 8 2012, 22:56) Noth...   Apr 9 2012, 08:40
- - Fandango   I already told you. foobar2000 cannot read those c...   Apr 9 2012, 13:49
|- - laohu   QUOTE (Fandango @ Apr 9 2012, 14:49) I al...   Apr 10 2012, 20:23
|- - Cynic   Yes, that's what it means, but there is no poi...   Apr 10 2012, 20:36
- - frenzic   Cuesplitter by Medieval works for me. It probably ...   Apr 9 2012, 18:00
|- - db1989   QUOTE (frenzic @ Apr 9 2012, 18:00) Cuesp...   Apr 9 2012, 18:05
|- - frenzic   QUOTE (db1989 @ Apr 9 2012, 18:05) QUOTE ...   Apr 9 2012, 19:23
- - Wombat   QUOTE (frenzic @ Apr 9 2012, 19:00) Cuesp...   Apr 9 2012, 18:39
- - Dario   If the cue sheet is non-compliant, then no, you ca...   Apr 10 2012, 20:36
- - laohu   QUOTE (Dario @ Apr 10 2012, 21:36) If the...   Apr 11 2012, 14:22
- - db1989   QUOTE (laohu @ Apr 11 2012, 14:22) I alwa...   Apr 11 2012, 14:42
- - Blueshirt   QUOTE (laohu @ Apr 11 2012, 13:22) I alwa...   Apr 12 2012, 00:21
- - laohu   Ok - this is very useful information. Thanks every...   Apr 12 2012, 09:02


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 14:57