IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

FLAC compression in EAC doesn't work
ghost22
post Mar 18 2012, 10:01
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 12
Member No.: 97881



Hi,
I'm EAC newbie and need help. I want to rip an compress to flac.
EAC Version 1.0 beta 3.
Flac: FLAC - Free Lossless Audio Codec 2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006 Josh Coalson from http://flac.sourceforge.net/

I used in compressions options:
checked: use external programm for compression
parameter passing scheme: user defined encoder
use file extetion: .flac
Programm including...: C:\Program Files (x86)\Exact Audio Copy\flac.exe
additional command line: -T "artist=%artist%" -T "title=%title%" -T "album=%albumtitle%" -T "date=%year%" -T "tracknumber=%tracknr%" -T "genre=%genre%" -5 %source%
checked: delete WAV after compression
checked: check for external programs return code

when i "test encoder" everything seems ok: no error occured.

I run EAC "test&copy selected tracks - compressed"

But, it rips and saves in the designated folder in WAV and not .flac

I don't know what else to do? any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
ghost22
post Mar 19 2012, 17:12
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 18-March 12
Member No.: 97881



Thanks to everybody. In the meantime I uninstalled and installed EAC, just in case i had a bad download. Unfortunatly that didn't help. Also the flac encoder which comes with v1.0b3 gave me error messages when I used it with the beginner friendly installation guide.

Nevertheless, I will try your suggestions.


My solution at the moment: I use itunes (alone) and save as .m4a
Works for me, CDs are in pretty good shape (most of them) so I don't really need EAC for error corrections and a one-to one copy is not my priority.
Itunes is of course absolutely unflexible and not really to customize, but the (given) format the music is saved onto the NAS is ok (so far).

Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
laslaw01
post May 28 2012, 20:39
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-May 12
Member No.: 100239



I'm having the same exact issues. Everything in the setup is correct. It simply doesn't compress via EAC. I tried running EAC as "administrator" but that didn't resolve the problem. I'm running EAC v1.0 beta 3. I didn't have this problem with the older version.

And the solution is that under the program path, you have to add the command line in the Additional command line options. (-6 is "quality" for the FLAC compression). I used the command line suggested at http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=EAC_and_FLAC :

-6 -V -T "ARTIST=%artist%" -T "TITLE=%title%" -T "ALBUM=%albumtitle%" -T "DATE=%year%" -T "TRACKNUMBER=%tracknr%" -T "GENRE=%genre%" -T "COMMENT=%comment%" -T "BAND=%albuminterpret%" -T "ALBUMARTIST=%albuminterpret%" -T "COMPOSER=%composer%" %haslyrics%--tag-from-file=LYRICS="%lyricsfile%"%haslyrics% -T "DISCNUMBER=%cdnumber%" -T "TOTALDISCS=%totalcds%" -T "TOTALTRACKS=%numtracks%" %hascover%--picture="%coverfile%"%hascover% %source% -o %dest%

I don't know if everything is necessary, but it DID fix the situation.



This post has been edited by laslaw01: May 28 2012, 21:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 03:47