IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Why does my drive rip so slow?
finallygreen
post Mar 12 2012, 17:08
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-March 12
Member No.: 97740



Hello!

First off I should say...I ripped most of my collection (many thousands of CD's) close to ten years ago...so to say I'm a 'newbie' wouldn't be so accurate, but to say my knowledge of what works best is outdated would be fairly true smile.gif

With that in mind, I'm trying to figure out why it is that my rips these days are going SO slow. I know a few years ago they started adding this RipLock stuff into most of our drives, but isn't that only meant to affect drive speed in the case of DVD's?

I don't remember the last drive I was using (which was also slow), but I can tell you the drive I'm using today is an HL-DT-ST BH20N. While the drive is rated to read CDs at 40x, the disc is only ripping at about 1.5x in EAC. Now, although the quality of the rip is far more important to me than the speed, I can distinctly remember ripping my discs using EAC/high quality settings back in the day at a MUCH faster speed than this.

So, what am I missing or doing wrong?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Mar 12 2012, 17:24
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3374
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Please tell us your settings. In particular, are you ripping in burst mode, which is fastest.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
finallygreen
post Mar 12 2012, 17:29
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-March 12
Member No.: 97740



QUOTE (pdq @ Mar 12 2012, 12:24) *
Please tell us your settings. In particular, are you ripping in burst mode, which is fastest.


EAC Secure Mode with 'Drive has accurate stream feature' and 'drive caches audio data' checked. Although the drive can retrieve C2 info, I leave this unchecked (this was always considered best back in the day...not sure about now).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
zfox
post Mar 12 2012, 17:46
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 44
Joined: 23-September 08
From: Salonica, GR
Member No.: 58580



You might want to take a look here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Mar 12 2012, 18:45
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3374
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



The quickest way to rip is to turn off secure mode and rip in burst mode, using AccurateRip to verify the rip. Only in cases where AccurateRip is unable to verify do you then repeat with either secure or, better, test and copy.

AccurateRip is arguably much more reliable than secure mode anyway.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 12 2012, 19:54
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



There's really no need for test and copy after an initial copy since just a second copy (or test) operation will generate a second independently derived checksum. The rest is about bookkeeping.

This post has been edited by greynol: Mar 12 2012, 20:02


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
finallygreen
post Mar 12 2012, 23:54
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-March 12
Member No.: 97740



OK...so I clicked the link above (thanks, zfox!) and did a ton of reading. For those that wanna follow without reading everything in the link, it's a 5-page thread of people with Blu-Ray drives (various models) reporting that EAC (but not other programs) was slowing their rip speeds down to like 0.5-1.5x (exactly what I was experiencing)...and by the end of the thread, someone was reporting a quickie workaround that several people had success with.

Anyways, I've now upgraded to the latest EAC (something that was needed for the workaround) and without even using their quickie fix, a test rip I just did got up to around 8.5x by the last track of the CD.

So...two questions:

1. Considering the settings/software I'm using, is 8.5x poor considering the drive is capable of 40x, or is that about what I can reasonably expect given my setup?

2. If I wanted to try the suggestion of ripping in burst first, is there a way I can tell whether or not my CD is in the AccurateRip database before ripping the CD in burst mode?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 13 2012, 00:12
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



1. That's what you can reasonably expect. I know this is the opposite of what is written in the wiki (and maybe I should change it) but, I would use C2 pointers unless they are keeping you from getting accurate rips.

2. There should be an icon in the lower corner of EAC's main window. It won't tell you if your specific pressing is actually in the database, however. For that you'll need to rip at least one track.

FWIW I typically inspect the disc for visible damage and if it looks good I use burst mode, unless the drive can safely be run as non-caching and able to provide C2 pointers, in which case I use secure mode configured that way (and regardless of the condition of the disc).

This post has been edited by greynol: Mar 13 2012, 00:31


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
finallygreen
post Mar 13 2012, 00:28
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-March 12
Member No.: 97740



Well I greatly appreciate all the help, guys. I'm pulling boxes of CD's out of storage to rip, so it was worth taking the time to investigate.....and a 4x speed increase is fine by me!

Thanks again!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
EagleScout1998
post Mar 13 2012, 06:09
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 273
Joined: 1-October 06
Member No.: 35820



I might also suggest to look into dBpoweramp's CD ripper.

While EAC is the best free ripper, dBpoweramp, in my opinion, surpasses it. It has better error recovery, is easier to configure and use, has cover art download, has multiple sources for album tags (AMG, GD3, MusicBrainz, and freedb)....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 13 2012, 06:16
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I appreciate your desire to recommend alternative software (and dBpoweramp is good software), but I suggest you do a little homework before leveling claims about the software being discussed as EAC does offer cover art as well as alternate album tagging.

Regarding better error recovery, improvements offered by dBpoweramp are dependent on drive capabilities as well as what is available in the AR database. A blanket statement about error recovery such as what you made is ill-advised.

This post has been edited by greynol: Mar 13 2012, 06:18


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Mar 13 2012, 07:11
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 13 2012, 06:16) *
I appreciate your desire to recommend alternative software (and dBpoweramp is good software), but I suggest you do a little homework before leveling claims about the software being discussed as EAC does offer cover art as well as alternate album tagging.


This is one issue where I have called for a wiki update. (I have been singing praises to dBpoweramp's metadata, but it is clear that the competition is fiercer these days.)


QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 13 2012, 06:16) *
Regarding better error recovery, improvements offered by dBpoweramp are dependent on drive capabilities as well as what is available in the AR database. A blanket statement about error recovery such as what you made is ill-advised.


Agree, but whenever there is an AR match, it sort of improves on the OP's original issue: dBpoweramp does (like it or not) not invoke the slow secure mode until checked that there is no AR match.


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 13 2012, 07:29
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



QUOTE (Porcus @ Mar 12 2012, 22:11) *
This is one issue where I have called for a wiki update. (I have been singing praises to dBpoweramp's metadata, but it is clear that the competition is fiercer these days.)

There's nothing stopping you from contributing to the wiki. Simply ask Jan S. for access.

QUOTE (Porcus @ Mar 12 2012, 22:11) *
Agree, but whenever there is an AR match, it sort of improves on the OP's original issue: dBpoweramp does (like it or not) not invoke the slow secure mode until checked that there is no AR match.

Why would anyone not like such an improvement? The thing is that I'm not sure such a mode exists in dBpoweramp as you've described it.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Mar 13 2012, 08:44
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1842
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 13 2012, 07:29) *
QUOTE (Porcus @ Mar 12 2012, 22:11) *
This is one issue where I have called for a wiki update. (I have been singing praises to dBpoweramp's metadata, but it is clear that the competition is fiercer these days.)

There's nothing stopping you from contributing to the wiki. Simply ask Jan S. for access.


I don't feel like changing anything without anyone else's input on what should actually be there, especially not when I propose changes in the structure. FAQs should be discussed first.


QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 13 2012, 07:29) *
QUOTE (Porcus @ Mar 12 2012, 22:11) *
Agree, but whenever there is an AR match, it sort of improves on the OP's original issue: dBpoweramp does (like it or not) not invoke the slow secure mode until checked that there is no AR match.

Why would anyone not like such an improvement?


Look at http://i.imgur.com/hv4fS.gif , The Great Gig In The Sky; might not a curious user want to verify if the suspicious result prevails with 'secure' ripping invoked?


QUOTE (greynol @ Mar 13 2012, 07:29) *
The thing is that I'm not sure such a mode exists in dBpoweramp as you've described it.


http://dbpoweramp.com/images/misc/secure-method-db.png (taken from http://dbpoweramp.com/secure-ripper.htm ). And if you actually insert a CD and keep an eye on the progress bar, that is what it says it does: one pass at full speed(possibly two on a drive without C2), then if no match: re-read the entire track for as many times as you have specified (varying speed if this is in accord with your settings) and only then start to re-rip individual frames if (dBpoweramp finds it) necessary.


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Mar 13 2012, 10:49
Post #15





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



I'm actually quite comfortable with how secure ripping in dBpoweramp works, especially with respect to how it differs from EAC, thanks. I simply would not have used the description that you used. In any event, the link you provided is quite helpful.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 00:43