IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
EAC 'starting up' error
Deathspawner
post Mar 11 2012, 20:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 23721



Hi all:

I have never had an issue with EAC before where it simply wouldn't start up, but after an OS format last week, that's what I'm facing. My PC's hardware has not changed at all - EAC was working before the format, but not after. When starting the program up, I see a pop-up stating, "Exact Audio Copy is starting up... Please wait!", and it never goes away. I've left it there for up to an hour and still nothing. I've also searched the Web far and wide for an answer and have come up empty-handed. I've tried various tips and tricks I've seen around the Web unrelated to my issue, and nothing has helped there. I have even cleared out the registry entry for the program, reinstalled the program and once again, nothing at all.

I picked up a handful of CDs on a recent trip and would love to rip them biggrin.gif If anyone has any idea what I should try, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

PS: I am using the 1.0 beta 3.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mjb2006
post Mar 11 2012, 23:46
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 809
Joined: 12-May 06
From: Colorado, USA
Member No.: 30694



I'd start by looking in the Device Manager for anything amiss. Also make sure you have the necessary motherboard (chipset) drivers installed; often this is something you get through Windows/Microsoft Update, and it can affect drive access. EAC has some command-line options that can be used to disable some features that might be interfering; check the docs in the program folder. You might see if other software like CUERipper (part of CUETools) or dbPoweramp will work.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Deathspawner
post Mar 13 2012, 02:05
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 6-August 05
Member No.: 23721



QUOTE (mjb2006 @ Mar 11 2012, 16:46) *
I'd start by looking in the Device Manager for anything amiss. Also make sure you have the necessary motherboard (chipset) drivers installed; often this is something you get through Windows/Microsoft Update, and it can affect drive access. EAC has some command-line options that can be used to disable some features that might be interfering; check the docs in the program folder. You might see if other software like CUERipper (part of CUETools) or dbPoweramp will work.


Hi mjb2006 and thanks for the response.

Everything is fine in my Device Manager and all motherboard drivers are installed. I'll check out that command-line option but I am still baffled about why there's an issue at all. Literally nothing in my PC changed across the format, and I never setup the OS different from one time to the next. I'd use dBpoweramp but I prefer to use EAC.

Thanks for the help!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rtraut
post Oct 16 2012, 17:57
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-October 12
Member No.: 103892



QUOTE (Deathspawner @ Mar 11 2012, 13:29) *
Hi all:

I have never had an issue with EAC before where it simply wouldn't start up, but after an OS format last week, that's what I'm facing. My PC's hardware has not changed at all - EAC was working before the format, but not after. When starting the program up, I see a pop-up stating, "Exact Audio Copy is starting up... Please wait!", and it never goes away. I've left it there for up to an hour and still nothing. I've also searched the Web far and wide for an answer and have come up empty-handed. I've tried various tips and tricks I've seen around the Web unrelated to my issue, and nothing has helped there. I have even cleared out the registry entry for the program, reinstalled the program and once again, nothing at all.

I picked up a handful of CDs on a recent trip and would love to rip them biggrin.gif If anyone has any idea what I should try, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks!

PS: I am using the 1.0 beta 3.


I'm having this same problem, with 1.0 beta 3. I don't know how to check any of the things that mjb2006 suggested, but I see that wasn't the issue for you anyway. Did you ever come up with a solution???
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeffshead
post Oct 23 2012, 15:29
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 23-October 12
Member No.: 104041



Same issue here (Win7 64 bit, RealTek audio). All drivers up to date.

I've used many different rippers and this is the only one that does this. I even tried a clean install of the OS.

This IS a software issue. My guess is it's trying to do something that's not compatible with all systems. The default functionality of this program needs to be scrutinized and something(s) need to be made optional (off by default).

This post has been edited by jeffshead: Oct 23 2012, 15:29
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Surfi
post Oct 23 2012, 17:30
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 175
Joined: 1-October 04
Member No.: 17420



::

Try this:

1. Quit EAC
2. Get Ahead ASPI layer
3. Copy wnaspi32.dll to EAC's folder
4. Put the following lines to notepad an save them as "ASPI.reg" (ANSI)

CODE
REGEDIT4

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Drive Options]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Extraction Options]
"UseASAPISCSIInterface"=hex:00
"UseNativeSCSIInterface"=hex:00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP]

;

5. Import "ASPI.reg" to the registry
6. Start EAC


Greetings, ...

::

This post has been edited by Surfi: Oct 23 2012, 17:39
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rtraut
post Oct 27 2012, 16:26
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-October 12
Member No.: 103892



Thanks Surfi. I was able to complete up to step 5. I have no idea how to import a file to the registry. How exactly is that done?

QUOTE (Surfi @ Oct 23 2012, 10:30) *
::

Try this:

1. Quit EAC
2. Get Ahead ASPI layer
3. Copy wnaspi32.dll to EAC's folder
4. Put the following lines to notepad an save them as "ASPI.reg" (ANSI)

CODE
REGEDIT4

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Drive Options]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Extraction Options]
"UseASAPISCSIInterface"=hex:00
"UseNativeSCSIInterface"=hex:00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP]

;

5. Import "ASPI.reg" to the registry
6. Start EAC


Greetings, ...

::

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Oct 27 2012, 16:33
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 489
Joined: 3-January 04
Member No.: 10915



Just double-click on "ASPI.reg" icon and say yes to any dialogs.

(If it only opens for editing when you do this, then you need to change the filename. It has to be "ASPI.reg" not "ASPI.reg.txt"; a common error when using Notepad.)

This post has been edited by Apesbrain: Oct 27 2012, 16:37
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rtraut
post Oct 27 2012, 16:45
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 16-October 12
Member No.: 103892



Never mind. A quick google search got me the answer. Should have tried that first! EAC opened on the first try, so I think that I'm back in business. Thanks again for your help!

QUOTE (Surfi @ Oct 23 2012, 10:30) *
::

Try this:

1. Quit EAC
2. Get Ahead ASPI layer
3. Copy wnaspi32.dll to EAC's folder
4. Put the following lines to notepad an save them as "ASPI.reg" (ANSI)

CODE
REGEDIT4

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Drive Options]

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\AWSoftware\EACU\Extraction Options]
"UseASAPISCSIInterface"=hex:00
"UseNativeSCSIInterface"=hex:00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Illustrate\dBpowerAMP]

;

5. Import "ASPI.reg" to the registry
6. Start EAC


Greetings, ...

::

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th September 2014 - 06:22