IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
“Standard fields”—can we map multiple field names to one display name?, Was “Properties Dialog Mappings”
gregory
post Mar 7 2012, 20:37
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 26-January 07
Member No.: 40033



Under Preferences>Advanced>Display>Properties dialog>Standard fields, is there a way to map multiple field names to a single displayed name?

For FLAC files, I like to keep the album artist value in the field name 'ALBUMARTIST'.

For MP3 files, I use the fb2k converter against my FLAC files, which uses the field name of 'ALBUM ARTIST' for TPE2.

Is there a way to map both of these field names to the same displayed name? Or, perhaps a way to have fb2k use the field name 'ALBUMARTIST' for TPE2.

Thanks a bunch.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gregory
post Mar 26 2012, 02:15
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 26-January 07
Member No.: 40033



Requesting a solution. Anyone using TRACKTOTAL/DISCTOTAL instead of TOTALTRACKS/TOTALDISCS would have the same issue.

It's nothing major, but would be more readable when viewing info on a selection of mixed file types.

This post has been edited by gregory: Mar 26 2012, 02:16
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chinch
post Mar 27 2012, 11:55
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 22-July 09
Member No.: 71664



Hmm... well, as far as displaying both of them, you could do this... because you're basically looking for the inverse of a MULTI-VALUE field... you want a MULTI-FIELD value, aka a value that can populate the same value in two distinct fields.

I'm not at my brightest right now, for sure. It's early... uhm... you're in the right place where you're investigating... in the standard fields section... the only thing I can see to do is if you want to actually SEE the value no matter what tag, I would create both, one entry for ALBUMARTIST and a second below it for ALBUM ARTIST. You'll have two different fields, of course, and the only workaround that I can think to do for that right off the bat is to use a tagging script that might look for one or the other to be populated, check the file encoding/extension and move/copy the value across to your other field.

As far as displaying it, I would just use (super simplified) a column value showing [ALBUMARTIST][ALBUM ARTIST]... you can clean that up with conditional functions, but even with that, it'll only show which of the two is populated, nothing at all (if they're both blank) or two of the same value if they're both populated (unless you use some simple functions provided by foobar, I'm sure you know what they are if you're talking about this stuff.

Let me think. There has got to be a simple way to do this that I'm overlooking. It's probably a hack of some sort, but it will work... I just have to come up with it, as soon as my brain wakes up a bit more! Agh!

I totally get what you're trying to accomplish, though.

Let me make this clear for myself... is the issue with POPULATING the correct tag, depending on the file type, or is that already DONE with and over, no concern... you just want to condense two tag fields down into 1 display line in the properties? Or in the UI columns? Gimme just a tiny bit more detail on exactly what you DO need to be done by foobar, and what you DON'T. I know you have probably already been very clear, I think I just need to see it put down one more time to make sure I've got it straight in my head... (while I think)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chinch
post Mar 27 2012, 12:23
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 22-July 09
Member No.: 71664



Ok, I don't know if I'm screwing something up by doing this, but this appears to be working; if I'm not wacky in the head... I added this to the standard fields:

Artist=ARTIST;Album Artist=ARTIST, ALBUM ARTIST;

Now, with it like that, if I go and populate ARTIST... it will show the value in both %ARTIST% and %ALBUM ARTIST% (in my UI columns)... so essentially, I'm showing the same value... in both ARTIST and ALBUM ARTIST columns (set to display %ARTIST% and %ALBUM ARTIST%, accordingly) -- but in the properties dialog... only ARTIST is populated, while ALBUM ARTIST is left blank. This works around half of a problem... but still depends on what your END goal is... to display either value in a single column in the main UI, or show only 1 line in the properties/tag dialog. I'm still messing with it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Frank Bicking
post Mar 27 2012, 12:42
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1833
Joined: 24-July 02
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 2776



This topic is based on wrong assumptions.

As of v1.1.8, ALBUM ARTIST is written to FLAC files as ALBUMARTIST for improved compatibility with other software. Those who prefer the old behavior of writing ALBUM ARTIST can switch an option under Advanced, Tagging, Vorbis & FLAC. When loading FLAC tags, both ALBUM ARTIST and ALBUMARTIST are read as ALBUM ARTIST. Similar mappings exist for the total tracks and total discs fields.

This means that you never have to use tag-specific field names at any point in foobar2000. Use the standard ALBUM ARTIST, TOTALTRACKS, and TOTALDISCS fields regardless of the tag type.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gregory
post Mar 27 2012, 21:54
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 26-January 07
Member No.: 40033



Thanks for the replies. smile.gif

QUOTE (Frank Bicking @ Mar 27 2012, 06:42) *
This means that you never have to use tag-specific field names at any point in foobar2000. Use the standard ALBUM ARTIST, TOTALTRACKS, and TOTALDISCS fields regardless of the tag type.

Are not the entered values, at least in standard fields, taken literally? For example, in standard fields I can put 'Album Artist=ALBUM ARTIST', but my FLAC files with 'ALBUMARTIST' still end up under their own name '<ALBUMARTIST>'. Using vesion 1.1.11.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Mar 27 2012, 22:16
Post #7





Group: Developer
Posts: 3443
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE
my FLAC files with 'ALBUMARTIST' still end up under their own name '<ALBUMARTIST>'

Try right-click -> Tagging -> Reload info from files.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gregory
post Mar 28 2012, 00:18
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 74
Joined: 26-January 07
Member No.: 40033



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Mar 27 2012, 16:16) *
Try right-click -> Tagging -> Reload info from files.

Thank You!

This post has been edited by gregory: Mar 28 2012, 00:20
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chinch
post Mar 28 2012, 05:09
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 22-July 09
Member No.: 71664



Thanks for this little bit of useful info! I never knew that before now!

I knew there was that ever-present clash between those 4 tags, in specific... and I never knew which one to use... and even if I did, I confused it in my head. "Was that TOTALTRACKS or... maybe it was TRACKTOTAL... or maybe it was.... NUMBEROFTRACKS...... damnit!" LOL...

So I have one follow-up question. Since they are treated transparently so to speak... is one "standard" or "spec proper" for a specific tag/comment format vs. the other? Or has it just always been arbitrary/subjective to the user's preference or whatever the software decided to use?

In other words, was it a disparity that came about simply because there was no defined specification for those, and people just made up their own "standardized" tag names, or did it arise out of misunderstanding/not adhering to using the proper tag name for the type of metadata? (Hope that doesn't sound super confusing... I'm really tired, so everything sounds like a word jumble to me. Hopefully that made sense to you guys more than it did for me haha...)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th November 2014 - 08:46