IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Why does $ascii not support German modifiers? Causes me problems, Was $ascii() (TOS #6)
regsucksdan
post Mar 2 2012, 03:23
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-March 12
Member No.: 97507



OK, I'm just curios who was the smart guy who decided to drop German scharfes-s in $ascii()? Is it that hard to cover the common Western EU languages (ISO-8859-1) decently? Scharfes-s goes to ss, Vowel+umlaut goes to Vowel-e (eg ae, oe etc).

50 CDs ruined.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ojdo
post Mar 2 2012, 10:07
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 894
Joined: 18-June 06
From: Germany
Member No.: 31980



That's the ASCII standard.

Tagging of 50 CDs should be fairly easy to properly retag with first fixing the album/artist tags by release and then fixing the title tracks by once selecting all tracks and then editing the title tag track by track.


--------------------
http://freemusi.cc/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Mar 2 2012, 12:57
Post #3





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4483
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



The $ascii() function is implemented using a standard Windows function for character set conversion. Note that the function performs a conversion and not a transcription. This means it replaces each Unicode character with its ASCII equivalent if one exists. A transcription would be what you wanted, i.e. replacing each Unicode character with a sequence of ASCII characters to preserve the meaning of the original. In foobar2000 this is best done using the $replace() function instead of the $ascii() function. For example:
CODE
$replace(%artist%,,Ae,,ae,,Oe,,oe,,Ue,,ue,,ss)


This post has been edited by db1989: Mar 2 2012, 18:13
Reason for edit: amended as per post #5


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sunhillow
post Mar 2 2012, 17:44
Post #4





Group: Members (Donating)
Posts: 483
Joined: 13-October 01
From: Stuttgart
Member No.: 286



Not the most polite tone for a first post

... says a german
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fbuser
post Mar 2 2012, 18:08
Post #5





Group: Developer
Posts: 688
Joined: 26-September 07
Member No.: 47369



QUOTE (foosion @ Mar 2 2012, 12:57) *
CODE
$replace(%artist%,,Ae,,ae,,Oe,,oe,,ue,,ue,,ss)
Small correction, should become Ue:
CODE
$replace(%artist%,,Ae,,ae,,Oe,,oe,,Ue,,ue,,ss)

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Mar 2 2012, 18:50
Post #6





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4483
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



Oops, thanks for the correction.


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 13:22