IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Different track length after converting to ogg
Pete7874
post Feb 25 2012, 17:32
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



Sometimes when I convert from another lossy format such as MP3 to ogg, the resulting track length is different. For example, I converted a 256 kbps CBR MP3 with a duration of 1h 59m 47s to q2 OGG using aoTuV [20110424]. The resulting ogg file has a duration of 1h 59m 39s. Where did the 8 seconds disappear?

I realize it is not a huge difference. I was just curious what causes such things to happen?

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 6)
Kohlrabi
post Feb 25 2012, 17:42
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1049
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



How did you convert your files? "Losing" 8 seconds sounds like a serious bug in the converter.


--------------------
Ceterum censeo Masterdiskem esse delendam.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pete7874
post Feb 25 2012, 18:09
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Feb 25 2012, 10:42) *
How did you convert your files? "Losing" 8 seconds sounds like a serious bug in the converter.

Using Foobar2000 1.1.11.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pete7874
post Feb 25 2012, 18:30
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



QUOTE (Pete7874 @ Feb 25 2012, 11:09) *
QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Feb 25 2012, 10:42) *
How did you convert your files? "Losing" 8 seconds sounds like a serious bug in the converter.

Using Foobar2000 1.1.11.

OK, I think it's a problem with Foobar itself. Foobar is reporting that the source MP3 file's duration is 1h 59m 47s, but when I actually play that track, the track stops playing at 1h 59m 39s. Windows 7 is also reporting that the track length is only 1h 59m 39s. Not quite sure why Foobar is misreporting the length of the MP3...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Feb 25 2012, 18:39
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2352
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



select file>context menu>utilities>Fix vbr header

This post has been edited by tpijag: Feb 25 2012, 18:40
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Feb 25 2012, 18:40
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 3382
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



My guess: this MP3 file doesn't have a header (with info about its exact duration), so "1h 59m 47s" is just an estimate.

You can select mp3 file -> right click-> Utilities -> Fix VBR MP3 header.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pete7874
post Feb 25 2012, 18:41
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



QUOTE (tpijag @ Feb 25 2012, 11:39) *
select file>context menu>utilities>Fix vbr header

Thank you! smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 09:41