IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
A tool for changing Windows master volume with hotkey?
mzso
post Feb 14 2012, 17:01
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



Hi!

I'm searching for a tool to change windows master volume with a hotkey. Foobar can apply gain digitally but I think it might be better to change the master volume, because it changes the soundcard's amplification. At least I think so because when I set it tot high I hear a lot of analog noise. A visual feedback of the volume would be a nice extra.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Apesbrain
post Feb 14 2012, 18:08
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 498
Joined: 3-January 04
From: East Coast, USA
Member No.: 10915



You could use NirCmd to create volume-related shortcuts then assign them hotkeys:
http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/nircmd.html
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Surfi
post Feb 14 2012, 18:48
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 176
Joined: 1-October 04
Member No.: 17420



::

Not exactly what you've been asking for but Volumouse may be an alternative.


Regards, ...

::
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Feb 14 2012, 20:40
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



Most soundcards control volume in the digital domain, the same principle as in software.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
probedb
post Feb 15 2012, 10:23
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1321
Joined: 6-September 04
Member No.: 16817



QUOTE (mzso @ Feb 14 2012, 16:01) *
Hi!

I'm searching for a tool to change windows master volume with a hotkey. Foobar can apply gain digitally but I think it might be better to change the master volume, because it changes the soundcard's amplification. At least I think so because when I set it tot high I hear a lot of analog noise. A visual feedback of the volume would be a nice extra.


Most media keyboards usually have volume keys and the software usually displays something onscreen. They're generally quite cheap too smile.gif I guess that would be a bit more than finding some software though.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post Feb 15 2012, 14:37
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



Thanks for the tips!
QUOTE (phofman @ Feb 14 2012, 20:40) *
Most soundcards control volume in the digital domain, the same principle as in software.

I'm guessing my soundcard changes the volume in the analog part because of the static noise what is quite noticeable in high volumes. If it would change the volume in digital then it would be constant.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fuflo
post Feb 15 2012, 20:19
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 103
Joined: 18-May 06
Member No.: 30902



http://matthew.malensek.net/software/documentation/3RVX.html
Best thing i've ever found. ever.

Direct download link (as the first link doesn't contain it, or i didn't find it..)
http://matt.malensek.net/software/3RVX_2.5.msi

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Feb 15 2012, 21:16
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



QUOTE (mzso @ Feb 15 2012, 14:37) *
I'm guessing my soundcard changes the volume in the analog part because of the static noise what is quite noticeable in high volumes. If it would change the volume in digital then it would be constant.


The only soundcard I know of controling volume in analog is Revolution5.1 using PT2258. All other cards I have ever come across used the digital volume control provided by their DA chips. What soundcard do you have?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post Feb 16 2012, 11:14
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



QUOTE (phofman @ Feb 15 2012, 21:16) *
QUOTE (mzso @ Feb 15 2012, 14:37) *
I'm guessing my soundcard changes the volume in the analog part because of the static noise what is quite noticeable in high volumes. If it would change the volume in digital then it would be constant.


The only soundcard I know of controling volume in analog is Revolution5.1 using PT2258. All other cards I have ever come across used the digital volume control provided by their DA chips. What soundcard do you have?

I have Xonar D1.
QUOTE (fuflo @ Feb 15 2012, 20:19) *
http://matthew.malensek.net/software/documentation/3RVX.html
Best thing i've ever found. ever.

Direct download link (as the first link doesn't contain it, or i didn't find it..)
http://matt.malensek.net/software/3RVX_2.5.msi

Thanks I'll have a look.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phofman
post Feb 16 2012, 15:39
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 332
Joined: 14-February 12
Member No.: 97162



QUOTE (mzso @ Feb 16 2012, 11:14) *
I have Xonar D1.


EDIT - correct model smile.gif

Then it is simple, just look at the linux alsa driver source code for your card

http://git.alsa-project.org/?p=alsa-kmirro...6f019bc;hb=HEAD

Your card uses for front channels CS4398 DAC http://www.cirrus.com/en/pubs/proDatasheet/CS4398_F1.pdf . The xonar chip communicates with the DAC via I2C (see the source code) and for volume control the digital volume of CS4398 is used - see pages 1 and 34 of the datasheet.

This post has been edited by phofman: Feb 16 2012, 15:50
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post May 11 2012, 13:41
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



I actually bought. A keyboard with volume keys. Now I'm searching for an osd feedback if I change the volume. Something like "VolumeMaster 2.0 Beta", but one that doesn't crash instantly when I change the volume...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post May 11 2012, 15:03
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



This is why I have a (cheap) Logitech multimedia keyboard.

Other usefull option is to mouse-click the speaker and then scroll the mousewheel (pointer doesn't have to be on volume slider).

Edit: Windows 7

This post has been edited by Alexxander: May 11 2012, 15:03
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post May 11 2012, 15:20
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



QUOTE (Alexxander @ May 11 2012, 15:03) *
This is why I have a (cheap) Logitech multimedia keyboard.

Other usefull option is to mouse-click the speaker and then scroll the mousewheel (pointer doesn't have to be on volume slider).

Edit: Windows 7

How does that give you feedback on volume change?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post May 11 2012, 17:21
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



What way you want feedback? You can see the slider level when scrolling or one of the 4 systray speaker icon volume levels. Try it yourself, nothing to install.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mzso
post May 11 2012, 17:49
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 2-May 07
Member No.: 43131



QUOTE (Alexxander @ May 11 2012, 17:21) *
What way you want feedback? You can see the slider level when scrolling or one of the 4 systray speaker icon volume levels. Try it yourself, nothing to install.

I meant having feedback when changing volume with the multimedia key. Without clicking on anything.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Alexxander
post May 11 2012, 19:07
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 464
Joined: 15-November 04
Member No.: 18143



ah ok,
no, rotating volume key on my multimedia keyboard doesn't show anything except the speaker icon change (systray).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 04:56