IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Closed TopicStart new topic
Foobar 1.1.11, WASAPI and playback of files with different samplerates, [fixed in beta 3 of plugin: hydrogenaudio.org/forums/?showtopic=94907]
radiator27
post Feb 13 2012, 17:17
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-February 12
Member No.: 97134



Hi

I'm using the latest WASAPI output plugin, ATI Radeon HD 5750 HDMI to Denon 1911 Receiver (computer is running Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit)

With foobar version 1.1.11 there is no playback when switching to a flac-file with a different samplerate than the previous - e.g. playing a 44.1 kHz flac and selecting a 96 kHz flac. I have to click on the new file several times before the new file will play.
If i use the Direct Sound output the problem goes away. And if I downgrade to foobar version 1.1.10 the problem also goes away, so i suspect that foobar version 1.1.11 does not report a proper output format every time a new file is selected. Maybe this is related to the new cross-fade functionality, that somehow breaks WASAPI output samplerate change?

My solution so far is to stay with version 1.1.10, but I hope that this can be fixed in a future version. :-)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 13 2012, 17:31
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Cross fading is specific to DirectSound output.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bacondither
post Feb 13 2012, 22:13
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 13-February 12
Member No.: 97138



I have the same problem with version 1.1.11 and WASAPI but the problem goes away with 1.1.10 + WASAPI.
I use S/PDIF out if that makes any difference.

This post has been edited by db1989: Feb 13 2012, 22:51
Reason for edit: removing unnecessary full quote of first post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jackal29a
post Feb 14 2012, 21:53
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 28-May 11
Member No.: 91053



I thought neither of my Xonar cards (ST & D2X, W7 SP1 x86, Unixonar 1.51) played 88.2 or 176.4KHz files using WASAPI 2.1 due to driver limitations but today using the trial version of a well know media player I found that those frquencies are indeed supported in WASAPI or even WASAPI Event Style by both the cards and the driver. Is there a chance Foobar's WASAPI plugin can be changed so it works with the above combination?

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarZard-X
post Feb 18 2012, 19:21
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 11-February 11
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 88089



I have exactly the same problem with 1.1.11 and WASAPI. If I switch to the next track, with a different samplerate, the track doesn't play.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarZard-X
post Feb 22 2012, 17:53
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 11-February 11
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 88089



Does no one else have this problem with Wasapi & 1.1.11? This can't be. huh.gif
Will it be fixed in 1.1.12?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
blindpainkiller
post Feb 22 2012, 19:43
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 09
Member No.: 74713



I have the same problem. Also, I more often than not hear a distinct "pop" when I switch tracks, no matter what sample rate. Both these problems started in 1.1.11 and only happen with WASAPI.
I run foobar on Vista 32bit on a Xonar Essence STX.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
gfh
post Mar 16 2012, 14:19
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 16-March 12
Member No.: 97847



Confirm.
AMD Radeon 6950 HDMI to Denon 1912 Receiver, Win7 SP1 x64
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Mar 25 2012, 11:38
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



1.1.12 beta1 is out, all testers to the fore smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
radiator27
post Mar 26 2012, 08:55
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 13-February 12
Member No.: 97134



Unfortunately version 1.1.12 beta 2 does not solve the problem. :-(

I have also tested both version 1.1.11 and 1.1.12 on a completely different system with a soundblaster audigy 2 ZS platinum pro sound card, windows 7 x64, WASAPI output, and also here the problem exists, while foobar 1.1.10 works like a charm.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Sandrine
post Mar 26 2012, 19:50
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 319
Joined: 2-July 10
Member No.: 81991



You should report this, it's not assured that the programmers browse all forums.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Ferrari
post Mar 27 2012, 06:07
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-March 12
Member No.: 98093



Same problem here with both 1.11 & 1.12beta + WASAPI. Maybe it's time to integrate WASAPI to foobar as well.
I can play files with different samplerates, but when I try to play the song the first time nothing happens, and if I click it again it will change samplerate and play the song, but I want it to work like in previous releases.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Mar 27 2012, 08:35
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1049
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



In the meantime, try ASIO if you need to feed bit-perfect data to your external receivers or decoders. If not, just stick to DirectSound. Volume control works nowadays even with the broken ASUS drivers.

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Mar 27 2012, 08:35


--------------------
Ceterum censeo Masterdiskem esse delendam.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Ferrari
post Mar 27 2012, 16:21
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-March 12
Member No.: 98093



QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Mar 27 2012, 09:35) *
In the meantime, try ASIO if you need to feed bit-perfect data to your external receivers or decoders. If not, just stick to DirectSound. Volume control works nowadays even with the broken ASUS drivers.

I don't want to use ASIO because it's very slow with on my DAC. Wasapi works like a charm.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dakeryas
post Mar 27 2012, 17:41
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 11-July 09
From: Lorraine, France
Member No.: 71375



Same problem here on an Audinst HUD USB Dac. I always need two clicks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Ferrari
post Mar 30 2012, 15:54
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 27-March 12
Member No.: 98093



Could any developer please say something. So we know that you know the problem, and if it's going to be fixed or not.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarZard-X
post Apr 30 2012, 10:32
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 11-February 11
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 88089



Will this ever be fixed?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Apr 30 2012, 12:19
Post #18


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3282
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Problem acknowledged, thanks for reporting. Unfortunately I don't currently have time to deal with it, you'll have to wait till the next major update of the WASAPI component; I cannot promise any timeline right now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
MaCs
post May 11 2012, 13:32
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 22-April 10
From: Montreal, Qc
Member No.: 80068



I don't think it is WASAPI-related. I have exactly the same problem with ASIO. Reinstaling v1.1.10 also solved my problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsw11
post May 12 2012, 01:05
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



I have the same or similar problem switching between and mp3 into a flac multi-channel and also the reverse. I am using WASAPI with HDMI out on an ACER 1830T.

This really needs fixing Peter. It makes it impossible to inter-mix different types of tracks on a playlist and live to enjoy it. :-)

You can fix this very quickly in the main player by actually doing a stop and play at the end of the track - if you detect that the next track is a different type (I am not sure on the sample rate causation - that does not happen to me - If I change types it hangs until I click to play again - maybe I have not tried different sample rates. Either way that logic could be deployed or possibly its a timing issue. I would think it is simple enough to reproduce.

This post has been edited by bsw11: May 12 2012, 01:13
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post May 12 2012, 08:36
Post #21





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (bsw11 @ May 12 2012, 01:05) *
This really needs fixing Peter.
Since Peter said that “you'll have to wait till the next major update of the WASAPI component”, have you tried that?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bsw11
post May 12 2012, 18:13
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 128
Joined: 19-April 09
From: Los Angeles CA
Member No.: 69081



QUOTE (db1989 @ May 12 2012, 00:36) *
QUOTE (bsw11 @ May 12 2012, 01:05) *
This really needs fixing Peter.
Since Peter said that “you'll have to wait till the next major update of the WASAPI component”, have you tried that?


Now that is what I call QUICK!!! It works PERFECTLY!!!

That leave me with one question/request - Is there any way of causing a playlist to play only files with a given star rating value - I have huge playlists (2000+) for just a month and I make the better tracks by staring them. It would be nice to just set a mode in playback to only play songs with x stars set within the playlist (I know how to do a search against the whole media set).

If its not doable - it would make a great feature.


This post has been edited by db1989: May 12 2012, 18:26
Reason for edit: Please revisit TOS #5.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WarZard-X
post May 13 2012, 18:03
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 11-February 11
From: Switzerland
Member No.: 88089



Finally it's fixed with Wasapi Plugin 3.0 beta 1. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 11:19