IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
CDex: how to use external Lame?, Moved from MP3 - General as Q is specific to CDex, not LAME (TOS #6)
Dj ReoF
post Jan 25 2012, 20:26
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



Hello guys, i've just had the same problem this summer but i still have the same problem.

I have many 320cbr mp3s and i whant to convert all of them to V2 because they are too heavy.
I HAVE to do it so don't tell to not to do it please.

I've just downloaded lame 3.99.4 (new version from today).
The internal lame in cdex 1.70 b4 is 3.98 from 2009, i whant to use the latest version.

Everytime i set the external lame encoder and i try to convert it appears the converting windows but it remains open only for 0.1 seconds and nothing happens.

What I have to do/set to make it work?

I have windows 7 ultimate x64.


Thank you!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DVDdoug
post Jan 25 2012, 21:50
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2539
Joined: 24-August 07
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 46454



Are you trying to convert your 320kbps MP3s to V2, or are you re-ripping your CDs to V2?


It's better if you can re-rip your CDs, and make yur new MP3 from an original non-lossy source, but I don't use CDex so I can't help you with that. (I use EAC.)

For converting betwen formats, XRECODE is easy to use. HydrogenAudio has a list of LAME Front-Ends, or Audacity can do it.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj ReoF
post Jan 25 2012, 23:47
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



I'm trying to convert my 320kbps mp3s not reripping.

I don't care to use cdex or another program, i use cdex only because i know that this program can do it.
So, if with cdex it's not possible to use lame 3.99.4 can someone tell what program i have to use to convert a 320kbps mp3 to a v2 with latest version of lame??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
charliemcdo
post Jan 27 2012, 18:13
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 30-September 06
From: Torrance, CA
Member No.: 35774



You should be able to update CDex to the latest LAME encoder version by replacing the 3.98 lame_enc.dll file in the CDex folder with a copy of the 3.99 version.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Jan 27 2012, 19:06
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 3375
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



That only updates the internal encoder. The OP wants to use the external encoder (i.e. the exe).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj ReoF
post Feb 3 2012, 00:15
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



If i just replace the internet lame_enc.dll with a new dll the program isn't able to find an internal lame encoder, the option just disappears...
I relly don't know how to do... sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
adamjk
post Feb 3 2012, 00:56
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 116



Go to rarewares.org, from MP3 -> LAME Bundles download last bugfree version from 2012-01-30 and try it.
Hope you will succeed!
BTW, don't forget that your lame.exe must be "visible" for CDex.

This post has been edited by adamjk: Feb 3 2012, 01:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 09:56