IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FhG encoder - how to automatically add the "tool" tag?, adding "tool" tag to each converted track
Pete7874
post Jan 19 2012, 20:57
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



Using Foobar2000, when I convert something using for example the Nero AAC codec, it automatically adds a "Tool" tag/attribute to each file. This "tool" attribute tells me that a given track was encoded using Nero 1.5.4.0.

I recently started using the FhG AAC codec (fhgaacenc.exe), and this codec does not add such a tag/attribute. Is there any way to configure either the codec itself or Foobar2000 so that it would?

I like being able to see what codec was used to create a particular AAC file.

Thanks!

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
slks
post Jan 20 2012, 07:31
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 400
Joined: 31-March 06
From: Houston, Texas
Member No.: 29046



I believe the "Tool" tag is added by the encoder itself. You should look in the documentation for the FhG encoder, and see if there is a command-line option that will cause it to add the Tool field. It may be that the FhG encoder does not support this.

However, if you're encoding these files yourself, you could always add either a Comment tag or a custom tag field named Tool, and put the encoder/version in there manually.


--------------------
http://www.last.fm/user/sls/
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shadoko
post Jan 22 2012, 01:24
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 22-January 12
Member No.: 96609



Nero uses the "encodingTool" metadata tag. You can set this tag by yourself with the help of the "AtomicParsley" tool.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Pete7874
post Jan 22 2012, 21:44
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 19
Joined: 5-January 12
Member No.: 96263



Thanks, although I was hoping for an automated way of doing it, as part of creating the FhG-converted file itself.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sluggy
post Jun 23 2012, 15:53
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 58
Joined: 22-June 12
Member No.: 100900



QUOTE (Pete7874 @ Jan 19 2012, 19:57) *
Using Foobar2000, when I convert something using for example the Nero AAC codec, it automatically adds a "Tool" tag/attribute to each file. This "tool" attribute tells me that a given track was encoded using Nero 1.5.4.0.

I recently started using the FhG AAC codec (fhgaacenc.exe), and this codec does not add such a tag/attribute. Is there any way to configure either the codec itself or Foobar2000 so that it would?

I like being able to see what codec was used to create a particular AAC file.

Thanks!


Yeah this would be good if fraunhofer could add this, it would be helpfull so you could tell which encoder version was used and which preset.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Apr 15 2013, 21:16
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 3385
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



Winamp 5.7 Beta 4 Build 3364 to Beta 5 Build 3367 changelog

- [enc_fhgaac] Write encoder version & setting to @too atom (tool) in mp4 metadata
...
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ManekiNeko
post Apr 16 2013, 02:27
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 79
Joined: 7-April 09
Member No.: 68742



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Apr 15 2013, 21:16) *
Winamp 5.7 Beta 4 Build 3364 to Beta 5 Build 3367 changelog

- [enc_fhgaac] Write encoder version & setting to @too atom (tool) in mp4 metadata
...


Nice biggrin.gif. Confirmed:

'Encoded by: fhgaac v03.02.11;VBR=5' is now displayed in the metadata
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 07:09