IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Does LAME make use of 32-bit input?
phrosty
post Jan 19 2012, 05:08
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-May 07
Member No.: 43591



I know MP3s don't capture the bit depth of their input, so I'm wondering if anything is gained by feeding an encoder high bit depth material. LAME accepts it, but I'm wondering if it just truncates this to 16-bit or if it uses this for anything. More accurate calculations? Higher dynamic range?

I ask because I'm filtering some tracks through SoX and am curious if I'd get better results by piping its 32-bit output into LAME or if I should first dither to 16-bit.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
saratoga
post Jan 19 2012, 05:14
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4925
Joined: 2-September 02
Member No.: 3264



QUOTE (phrosty @ Jan 18 2012, 23:08) *
I know MP3s don't capture the bit depth of their input, so I'm wondering if anything is gained by feeding an encoder high bit depth material. LAME accepts it, but I'm wondering if it just truncates this to 16-bit or if it uses this for anything. More accurate calculations? Higher dynamic range?


Internally its all floating point, so I doubt its truncated to 16 bit integer. I wouldn't bother dithering.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
phrosty
post Jan 21 2012, 05:23
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 19-May 07
Member No.: 43591



I suspected as much. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 23:44