IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 General Forum Rules

This is NOT a tech support forum.
Tech support questions go to foobar2000 Tech Support forum instead.

See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
This AAC file has no "seekbar", [by design/feature request = moved from Support]
Jarzka
post Dec 29 2011, 08:29
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 5-April 11
Member No.: 89580



Hi

I downloaded a music video from YouTube and extracted the audio out with MP4Box. Here is the result:
https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D317495_2839236_755670

foobar2000 plays it well but there is no seekbar slider. However if I play the file with Windows Media Player the seekbar slider works normally so I guess the problem is not in the file itself?

This post has been edited by Jarzka: Dec 29 2011, 08:31
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Link
post Dec 29 2011, 08:43
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 667
Joined: 27-November 02
Member No.: 3911



Raw aac streams don't support sample exact seeking (without parsing the whole file first), so foobar disables seeking. Programs that let you seek in the file are not sample exact. To enable seeking in foobar, put the raw aac file in a mp4 container. You can do this with mp4box as far as I know.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ggmanci
post Feb 22 2012, 17:00
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 22-February 12
Member No.: 97343



QUOTE (The Link @ Dec 29 2011, 08:43) *
Raw aac streams don't support sample exact seeking (without parsing the whole file first), so foobar disables seeking. Programs that let you seek in the file are not sample exact. To enable seeking in foobar, put the raw aac file in a mp4 container. You can do this with mp4box as far as I know.


It seems like a Microsoft style answer: "It's not a bug, it's a feature"...

I don't know the reason why you can seek in aac files with Media Player Classic, with old "Winamp", with VLC and even with the stupid Windows Media Player and you can't in foobar, unless you put the audio file in an mp4 container. If I want an mp4 container it's ok, but if I want only seek into a dumb aac file, why it's not possible?

Forgive my poor english.

Regards

ggmanci
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Feb 22 2012, 17:14
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



foobar2000 mandates sample-exact seeking for the sake of accurate timing and processing. This is not possible in raw AAC files—at least not without consuming a lot of time in order to construct a seek-table like that present in an MP4 container. Thus, foobar2000 disables all seeking within raw AAC.

The other players you mention are presumably not sample-exact, and therefore are not really relevant.

Almost all of this was already stated above by The Link.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Apr 8 2014, 00:00
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1171
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



MPC-HC does it, it uses FFmpeg like foobar2000. Again, can this be implemented in foobar2000?

This post has been edited by eahm: Apr 8 2014, 00:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nu774
post Apr 8 2014, 02:33
Post #6





Group: Developer
Posts: 565
Joined: 22-November 10
From: Japan
Member No.: 85902



QUOTE (eahm @ Apr 8 2014, 08:00) *
MPC-HC does it, it uses FFmpeg like foobar2000. Again, can this be implemented in foobar2000?

Haven't you read the previous replies?
MPC-HC doesn't support sample accurate seek on ADTS. In fact, you will notice that even duration shown by MPC-HC for ADTS is not correct.
ADTS header doesn't contain timestamp, serial numbers or something that is required to tell frame's position, which means that you cannot even do seek bisection on ADTS (like in the case of MPEG-TS or Ogg).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eahm
post Apr 8 2014, 04:26
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1171
Joined: 11-February 12
Member No.: 97076



Oops my bad, the name Media Player Classic always confuses me, I always think they talk about the older/different version.

Thanks nu774.

This post has been edited by eahm: Apr 8 2014, 04:26
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Sep 25 2014, 16:46
Post #8





Group: Developer
Posts: 253
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



Jeez, why not let users seek those raw aac files using some sort of fallback that can be enabled with a checkbox in the Advanced section of preferences?

And if it "mandates sample-exact seeking" why not at least report the reason to the user? It just feels like it simply doesn't work, like it's a bug.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Sep 25 2014, 16:53
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3373
Joined: 26-July 02
From: To:
Member No.: 2796



Add a "Package in MP4 container" context menu command and that solves it. Hell, you could add this with foo_run and MP4Box.

OP should really just update his process to get MP4Box to emit valid MP4 streams. -isma is the option, I think.

This post has been edited by Canar: Sep 25 2014, 16:57


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Yegor
post Sep 25 2014, 18:40
Post #10





Group: Developer
Posts: 253
Joined: 8-April 09
From: Russia, Zlatoust
Member No.: 68779



Thank you, but I'm not really asking for workarounds. I'm suggesting to avoid non-obvious behavior.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Sep 25 2014, 19:50
Post #11





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3373
Joined: 26-July 02
From: To:
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (Yegor @ Sep 25 2014, 10:40) *
I'm suggesting to avoid non-obvious behavior.
Playing raw AAC is non-obvious behaviour.


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Sep 30 2014, 21:52
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1995
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (Canar @ Sep 25 2014, 17:53) *
Add a "Package in MP4 container" context menu command and that solves it. Hell, you could add this with foo_run and MP4Box.


Maybe suggest an ffmpeg -codec copy thing under converter?


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Oct 1 2014, 09:18
Post #13





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (Yegor @ Sep 25 2014, 19:40) *
Thank you, but I'm not really asking for workarounds. I'm suggesting to avoid non-obvious behavior.
Using raw AAC is non-obvious. Why is it so hard for you to create compliant MP4 files?

For some reasons people with silly raw AAC files pop up regularly. Maybe Peter should add an option to "Multiplex into MP4", since f2k already uses ffmpeg. This would be similar to the MP3 VBR header fix stuff.

This post has been edited by Kohlrabi: Oct 1 2014, 09:20


--------------------
It's only audiophile if it's inconvenient.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Oct 4 2014, 09:57
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 1995
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (Porcus @ Sep 30 2014, 22:52) *
Maybe suggest an ffmpeg -codec copy thing under converter?


Huh, what am I doing wrong?



Outputs a 24 byte file and complains it cannot write to it.


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Oct 4 2014, 10:25
Post #15





Group: Developer
Posts: 3468
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



fb2k decodes your aac file to PCM 32bit and sends this pcm to ffmpeg. I think it's not what you want.

Maybe foo_run will do the trick.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Oct 4 2014, 12:00
Post #16





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1150
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Oct 4 2014, 11:25) *
fb2k decodes your aac file to PCM 32bit and sends this pcm to ffmpeg. I think it's not what you want.
In theory it'd be nice if Converter offered an option checkbox "Don't decode files before sending to encoder". In practice though I can see a lot of people shooting themselves in the foot. The better you hide an option, and the more you stress it's advanced and for special cases, the more people who should not use it will try to.


--------------------
It's only audiophile if it's inconvenient.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
marc2003
post Oct 4 2014, 12:21
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 4889
Joined: 27-January 05
From: England
Member No.: 19379



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Oct 4 2014, 10:25) *
Maybe foo_run will do the trick.


that should work as you'd only be passing the filename for ffmpeg to process. the only thing you might need to consider is how it handles selections of multiple tracks??
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porcus
post Oct 4 2014, 15:47
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 1995
Joined: 30-November 06
Member No.: 38207



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Oct 4 2014, 11:25) *
I think it's not what you want.


Thanks. Never got so far as to bitcompare, obviously.


--------------------
One day in the Year of the Fox came a time remembered well
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 06:25