IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
What is the best ADC equipment to rip my vinyls? I have Thorens TD-147, Was: Ripping my Vinyls..... (TOS #6)
NRWler04
post Dec 25 2011, 20:27
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-December 11
Member No.: 96026



Gentlemen,

a few years ago i started with digital music. I have around 200 Vinyls and I want to Play them via my Linn Majik DS. I have a Thorens Td-147 and want to rip my Vinyls to 24/96 or Even better behause there are some really Nice MFSL's and direct cut's in my Collection.

What is the best ADC Equipment to rip my Vinyls?

Merry Christmas from Germany
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Dec 25 2011, 20:39
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 3407
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



Nearly any modern sound card, including most built-in cards, are adequate for the limited dynamic range of vinyl. What card do you have now?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Dec 25 2011, 20:46
Post #3





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



QUOTE (NRWler04 @ Dec 25 2011, 19:27) *
I have a Thorens Td-147 and want to rip my Vinyls to 24/96 or Even better

If you can provide any evidence that you or any other human can hear anything above about 20 kHz or 16 bits, and that vinyl records contain any meaningful frequencies beyond that and are capable of even 14 bits of dynamic range, then please let us know and feel free to rip at whatever quality you need! Otherwise you’ll just be wasting disk space and possible money, for the sake of the placebo effect.

You might want to search for the countless past threads about vinyl ripping, since it’s all been said before.

This post has been edited by db1989: Dec 25 2011, 20:48
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hlloyge
post Dec 26 2011, 00:21
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 698
Joined: 10-January 06
From: Zagreb
Member No.: 27018



Well, I would suggest using 24 bit / 48 kHz setting - your vinyls will be perfectly captured. I would suggest 24 bit just because you could do later edits with more precision (fadein, fadeout, some noise processing).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Xenion
post Dec 26 2011, 00:39
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1042
Joined: 23-May 02
From: DE
Member No.: 2107



44.1kHz is probably the best choice if you intend burning your vinyls on cd because you won't have to resample then.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Engelsstaub
post Dec 26 2011, 01:09
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 562
Joined: 16-February 10
Member No.: 78200



If you're looking for some good software for restoration, click-repair, etc. check into iZotope RX2. It's not inexpensive however.


--------------------
The Loudness War is over. Now it's a hopeless occupation.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NRWler04
post Dec 26 2011, 17:10
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-December 11
Member No.: 96026



I have a Reson RH1 for Recording my lp's. But the original LDP Sounds Better then the rip in cd Quality. That's the Reson why I'm Looping for a better Quality.

I tried a Juli soundcard, but i was Not satiesfied with the Result.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pdq
post Dec 26 2011, 20:58
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 3407
Joined: 1-September 05
From: SE Pennsylvania
Member No.: 24233



QUOTE (NRWler04 @ Dec 26 2011, 12:10) *
I tried a Juli soundcard, but i was Not satiesfied with the Result.

Could you be more specific? The problem may not be with the sound card. What does your setup look like? What kind of cartridge, what preamp, etc.?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Canar
post Dec 26 2011, 21:57
Post #9





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 3361
Joined: 26-July 02
From: princegeorge.ca
Member No.: 2796



QUOTE (NRWler04 @ Dec 26 2011, 08:10) *
But the original LDP Sounds Better then the rip in cd Quality.
I'm assuming this test was sighted, which means, of course, that it is inadmissible as a demonstration of audio quality around these parts.

What was your testing methodology?


--------------------
You cannot ABX the rustling of jimmies.
No mouse? No problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TERIYAKI BUKKAKE
post Dec 27 2011, 05:35
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 15-November 11
Member No.: 95165



I use E-MU for A/D to 24/192
Wavelab (24/192) > manual click removal
analyze (no clipping, no DC Bias offset) > resampling and dithering to 24/96 with iZotope RX

Goodluck

This post has been edited by TERIYAKI BUKKAKE: Dec 27 2011, 05:35
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Gumboot
post Dec 27 2011, 10:37
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 11-December 11
From: United Kingdom
Member No.: 95728



QUOTE (pdq @ Dec 25 2011, 19:39) *
Nearly any modern sound card, including most built-in cards, are adequate for the limited dynamic range of vinyl. What card do you have now?


I can't say that I've tested a sound card recently, or that I've tested many sound cards, but on the one occasion I tried using one, thought it was terrible, and investigated, I found that with the input shorted to ground the card was picking up a constant tone near the top end of the spectrum and piles of other crap scattered around the rest.

Have things really changed so much in the past few years?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NRWler04
post Dec 28 2011, 13:36
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-December 11
Member No.: 96026



QUOTE (pdq @ Dec 26 2011, 20:58) *
QUOTE (NRWler04 @ Dec 26 2011, 12:10) *
I tried a Juli soundcard, but i was Not satiesfied with the Result.

Could you be more specific? The problem may not be with the sound card. What does your setup look like? What kind of cartridge, what preamp, etc.?


My TT is a Thorens TD147 with a Benz MC cartridge. My Amp is a Nytech Ca252/CXA252 with ARC050 Loudspeakers. I connected the Soundtrack to the line Out Connection of my Nytech.

I recorded in 24/96. MFSL's and Direct Cut's I could Not Record. I've got no clear signal, seem's to be to High the Lourdes Level.

The SW I Used was Audacity and Wavelab. Maybe I did something wrong ....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kraut
post Dec 28 2011, 15:03
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 24-November 10
Member No.: 85965



Are you saying the problems you have are only with the specified records, and not with others?
In audacity you have an input level indicator. Does it indicate too high an input level?

I ripped about 100 lp's with "spin it again". Given that the analogue signal enters my soundcard and will be digitized anyway even for normal listening (I run every audio signal through my server to the amps) I cannot distinguish between digitized and non digitized signal. I have however in the past compared a digitized lp analogue signal from the preamp with a direct signal and could not discern any quality differences. That is why I converted to using a computer as an audio tool.



This post has been edited by kraut: Dec 28 2011, 15:11
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mixminus1
post Dec 28 2011, 18:34
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 688
Joined: 23-February 05
Member No.: 20097



QUOTE (NRWler04 @ Dec 28 2011, 05:36) *
I recorded in 24/96. MFSL's and Direct Cut's I could Not Record. I've got no clear signal, seem's to be to High the Lourdes Level.

The SW I Used was Audacity and Wavelab. Maybe I did something wrong ....

What is your sound card - built in to your PC's motherboard, PCI card, external USB...?

My guess is that you're plugging in to the mic input of your sound card, hence the level being too high and not "clear"...I've also seen some sound cards - primarily the onboard sound on several laptops - that have a "combo" mic/line input, but that can't really handle a true line-level input without distorting.

Edit: Just saw that you "tried" a Juli sound card - you should definitely be able to get good results with that, as it's a line-level only card designed specifically for recording.

This post has been edited by mixminus1: Dec 28 2011, 18:38


--------------------
"Not sure what the question is, but the answer is probably no."
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
NRWler04
post Dec 29 2011, 00:06
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 25-December 11
Member No.: 96026



I have an Intel MB. DH57DD and today a DH67BL (or so ....;-)). I think they have a Realtek on Board.

Seem's, that I should trey the Juli more deeply ....

This post has been edited by db1989: Dec 29 2011, 00:10
Reason for edit: removing pointless full quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 15:25