IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Closed TopicStart new topic
New ASIO driver: issues, bug/problem reports, etc., 2012-01-02: version 2.1
Nordfinn
post Dec 18 2011, 17:19
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Old driver worked perfectly for me. This one is not working. I have updated components before with no problems, and can't see that I am doing anything wrong, but, get this message:

Unrecoverable playback error: Could not start the worker process - The system cannot find the file specified.

The driver is in the components folder with the rest of the drivers, however.

I read your disclaimer about ASIO, but this mode is important to me. I switch back and forth a lot between internet radio stations, some at 48,000 some at 44.1. If I use my card's (Asus Xonar Essence) interface, I have to switch back and forth manually. (And definitely sounds better, despite your disclaimer.)

The old driver has apparently disappeared from my system with the update. Can I get it, please?

Thanks much,
N.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 18 2011, 17:27
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



Hi. If you looked at the contents of the archive properly, you would have noticed there are two executable files (.EXE) bundled with it. Those need to be unpacked wherever you placed the component. This is done for you automatically if you use the built-in component installer.

Using the built-in installer is as easy as opening the Preferences, selecting the Components section at the top if necessary, then dragging the downloaded ZIP file onto that page. Or clicking the Install... button there and selecting it manually.

An added benefit to installing that way is that if you click the Get Updates button on that page, or select "Check for updated components" from the Help menu, it will automatically poll the foobar2000 component repository for updates to listed components, then download them for you.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Dec 18 2011, 18:01
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Thanks very much. I removed and then reinstalled as you suggested (dragged the whole zip to the components page). The component is listed. However, not working. Get this error message:

Unrecoverable playback error: The process receiving or sending data has terminated

Strangely, the ASIO driver does not appear in the Components folder with the rest of the Foobar drivers.

Am I yet doing something wrong?

Running XP, and the troubleshooter says I do not have any problematic components.

N.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
shakey_snake
post Dec 18 2011, 18:14
Post #4





Group: FB2K Moderator
Posts: 4322
Joined: 1-November 06
From: Cincinnati
Member No.: 37036



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Dec 18 2011, 12:01) *
Strangely, the ASIO driver does not appear in the Components folder with the rest of the Foobar drivers.

Am I yet doing something wrong?
No.
With a standard (not-portable) install, components installed using the component installer are stored in your User configuration folder, not the foobar2000 install folder.

This post has been edited by shakey_snake: Dec 18 2011, 18:16


--------------------
elevatorladylevitateme
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 18 2011, 18:38
Post #5


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3275
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Version 2.0.2 is up on the site, among other things it corrects incompatibility with Windows XP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Dec 18 2011, 18:54
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



New error messages: Unrecoverable playback error: Could not set sample rate to 44100 Hz; Unrecoverable playback error: Could not set sample rate to 48000 Hz

2.02 installed, but will not play, get the above error messages.
Thanks, Peter, for Foobar.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 18 2011, 19:39
Post #7


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3275
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



Well, that's progress. Please try the test version I've attached to this post, it attempts to mimic behaviors of the old component.

[attachment removed - newer version up on the site]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mikk
post Dec 18 2011, 20:20
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Hungary
Member No.: 15183



Hi, with new 2.x asio plugins, my kx asio device is disappear. Version 1.2.7 is working.

With 2.x, output/asio tools/add new: no asio drivers found.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Grey
post Dec 18 2011, 20:26
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 20-October 10
Member No.: 84761



QUOTE (mikk @ Dec 18 2011, 21:20) *
Hi, with new 2.x asio plugins, my kx asio device is disappear. Version 1.2.7 is working.

With 2.x, output/asio tools/add new: no asio drivers found.

ASIOhost32.exe & ASIOhost64.exe in component's folder?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Dec 18 2011, 20:30
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 4576
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



QUOTE (mikk @ Dec 18 2011, 11:20) *
With 2.x, output/asio tools/add new: no asio drivers found.

Try 2.0.2, that fixes it for Windows XP.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 18 2011, 20:46
Post #11


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3275
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



QUOTE (Mr.Grey @ Dec 18 2011, 20:26) *
ASIOhost32.exe & ASIOhost64.exe in component's folder?

For one last time: do not install components manually into the "components" folder. Use the "Components" preferences page to do this properly.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mikk
post Dec 18 2011, 20:55
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Hungary
Member No.: 15183



QUOTE (Mr.Grey @ Dec 18 2011, 20:26) *
QUOTE (mikk @ Dec 18 2011, 21:20) *
Hi, with new 2.x asio plugins, my kx asio device is disappear. Version 1.2.7 is working.

With 2.x, output/asio tools/add new: no asio drivers found.

ASIOhost32.exe & ASIOhost64.exe in component's folder?


Hi, yes, under ...\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000\user-components\foo_out_asio directory. Plugin version is 2.0.2.

Win7 x64
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Grey
post Dec 18 2011, 20:56
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 20-October 10
Member No.: 84761



I mean foo_out_asio folder
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mikk
post Dec 18 2011, 20:57
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Hungary
Member No.: 15183



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 18 2011, 20:46) *
QUOTE (Mr.Grey @ Dec 18 2011, 20:26) *
ASIOhost32.exe & ASIOhost64.exe in component's folder?

For one last time: do not install components manually into the "components" folder. Use the "Components" preferences page to do this properly.

Hi!

I read changelog, I already know this, I use always install function to install plugins.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Dec 18 2011, 21:01
Post #15





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2178
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



mikk, can you try deleting ASIOhost64.exe from the directory where the component is installed to and make a copy of ASIOhost32.exe with ASIOhost64.exe name. It looks like kX drivers have no 64 bit ASIO support.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Dec 18 2011, 21:01
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 18 2011, 13:39) *
Well, that's progress. Please try the test version I've attached to this post, it attempts to mimic behaviors of the old component.

Well, it works in the sense that will play, and I don't get error messages. But something is plainly wrong: Sound quality is extremely compromised (intermittent and underwater-sounding). Not always, but like halt the time.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mikk
post Dec 18 2011, 21:02
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Hungary
Member No.: 15183



QUOTE (Mr.Grey @ Dec 18 2011, 20:56) *
I mean foo_out_asio folder

Directory mean folder for me. smile.gif

Under c:\Users\mikk\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000\user-components\foo_out_asio folder found these files:

ASIOhost64.exe
ASIOhost32.exe
foo_out_asio.dll

But this is not component install error, because 1.2.7 version is working after installed.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mikk
post Dec 18 2011, 21:06
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Hungary
Member No.: 15183



QUOTE (Case @ Dec 18 2011, 21:01) *
mikk, can you try deleting ASIOhost64.exe from the directory where the component is installed to and make a copy of ASIOhost32.exe with ASIOhost64.exe name. It looks like kX drivers have no 64 bit ASIO support.

Hi, good idea, but after foobar is started I get error message: internal error, one or more installed components have been damaged, after foobar is exited.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Grey
post Dec 18 2011, 21:08
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 16
Joined: 20-October 10
Member No.: 84761



QUOTE (mikk @ Dec 18 2011, 22:02) *
QUOTE (Mr.Grey @ Dec 18 2011, 20:56) *
I mean foo_out_asio folder

Directory mean folder for me. smile.gif

Under c:\Users\mikk\AppData\Roaming\foobar2000\user-components\foo_out_asio folder found these files:

ASIOhost64.exe
ASIOhost32.exe
foo_out_asio.dll

But this is not component install error, because 1.2.7 version is working after installed.

without ASIOhostXX.exe I have the same error
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Dec 18 2011, 21:20
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



QUOTE (Nordfinn @ Dec 18 2011, 15:01) *
QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 18 2011, 13:39) *
Well, that's progress. Please try the test version I've attached to this post, it attempts to mimic behaviors of the old component.

Well, it works in the sense that will play, and I don't get error messages. But something is plainly wrong: Sound quality is extremely compromised (intermittent and underwater-sounding). Not always, but like halt the time.

Trying to figure out what is going on. Problem seems worst on the Vorbis streams.
Can I get the old driver?
Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Dec 18 2011, 21:50
Post #21





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2178
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Sticking to old version is not a solution. The new component is supposed to be superior in any way. It already includes several workarounds for known issues in various drivers that old version didn't have but there are some bugs that need to be sorted.
Are you using some very small output buffer size in ASIO driver's preferences or in foobar2000 output preferences? That could explain the glitching you hear. You can access driver's options in Asio tools if you Click Add. There's a button to configure driver.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Case
post Dec 18 2011, 22:10
Post #22





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2178
Joined: 19-October 01
From: Finland
Member No.: 322



Version 2.0.3 was just uploaded. It fixes issues in 32-bit ASIO host and won't use 64 bit version unless user manually selects it. kX drivers should output sound with this one now.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kraut
post Dec 18 2011, 22:26
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 24-November 10
Member No.: 85965



I have tried twice to install new version. I use m-audio 1010LT sound card.
In the asio virtual device editor the version 2.02 sees the sound card channels.
Trying to use the version i still get error message.

I tried again upgrade, version is now 2.03. Seems to be working fine.

Thanks.

This post has been edited by db1989: Dec 18 2011, 22:29
Reason for edit: removing numerous newlines before and after text
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nordfinn
post Dec 19 2011, 02:01
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 55
Joined: 21-April 11
Member No.: 89963



Problems with 2.0.3: Almost working, but some streams I have to start twice before they sound right. First time: intermittent, chugging, and wrong speed. Second time: sounds great. Can't see a pattern as to which kind of stream (AAC, MP3, Vorbis) affected. I am using a plenty big buffer (same as with previous driver).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
keijo
post Dec 19 2011, 02:12
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-November 11
Member No.: 95394



QUOTE (kraut @ Dec 18 2011, 23:26) *
I have tried twice to install new version. I use m-audio 1010LT sound card.
In the asio virtual device editor the version 2.02 sees the sound card channels.
Trying to use the version i still get error message.

I tried again upgrade, version is now 2.03. Seems to be working fine.

Thanks.


I have also M-Audio sound card, Delta Audiophile 2496 and my OS is Server 2008 R2. Foobar2000 is version 1.1.10.

ASIO output doesn't work here yet with this 2.03 version either. After installing it Foobar asks if it is ok to restart program, and when it does it gives just error message "Internal error - one or more of the installed components have been damaged".
Then it is needed to start Foobar in safemode and remove ASIO output driver.

Why i don't use Wasapi then? It gives me crackling noise. Not as much as Direct Sound does. Wasapi worked quite well without any crackling for awhile but suddenly it started to act badly as well.

Main problem with WASAPI is that if i have any web browser open when i use foobar2000, audio from that browser wont work anymore after that.
Like if i have youtube video open and i watch half of it and then pause for awhile, listen some music with foobar and when i want to continue watching that video i have to close browser, restart audio service, reopen browser, restore session to get all tabs back, choose right tab and find a spot where i was left.
I did that procedure at least couple hundred times before i decided that it's too time consuming to do constantly.

I tried to find other audio programs that i would like as much as foobar2000 but there weren't any.
Then i found out that ASIO output driver. Too bad that it didn't help in my situation here.

Instead i installed KS output driver which seems to work just fine. Now i have used it just about one hour so i'm not 100% sure but looks promising.
Even though it was said to be unstable and experimental. And was made 5 years ago.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 14:25