IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules

Please read foobar2000 Tech Support Forum Rules before posting and comply with all the points.
Failure to provide all the information pointed out in the above document in your post is considered wasting other people's time and in extreme cases will lead to your topic getting locked without a reply.


See also: Hydrogenaudio Terms of Service.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Native ALAC decoder: Error flushing the decoder
copperblue
post Dec 14 2011, 09:37
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 20-August 06
Member No.: 34244



Since updating to Foobar 1.1.10 I receive the following error message when transcoding from ALAC files created within Foobar 2000 with the previous codec, example:

Source: "E:\Media2\Stereo MC's\Supernatural\16 - Relentless.m4a"
Error flushing the decoder: Unsupported format or corrupted file
Track converted with minor problems.

This does not occur with ALAC files created with dBpoweramp converter or ripper or with iTunes, just with ALAC files created with the previous codec in Foobar.

However, the conversion process completes fine with multiple files and the output files appear to be ok.
I have transcoded from ALAC to WAV with both Foobar2000 (error message as above) and dBpoweramp (no error message): both wav files are identical when mix pasted in Cool Edit (zero output).

Is is safe to ignore the error message?


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
The Link
post Dec 14 2011, 09:49
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 665
Joined: 27-November 02
Member No.: 3911



What encoder did you use with foobar2000 to create alac files? Foobar2000 itself can't do it.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
copperblue
post Dec 14 2011, 11:46
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 20-August 06
Member No.: 34244



QUOTE (The Link @ Dec 14 2011, 08:49) *
What encoder did you use with foobar2000 to create alac files? Foobar2000 itself can't do it.

I use ffmpeg.exe, with parameters -y -i - -acodec alac %d
So the new native decoder is having trouble with these files when passing them to PCM for transcoding..?
Previously I used foo_input_alac.dll for decoding.

This post has been edited by copperblue: Dec 14 2011, 11:57
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lvqcl
post Dec 14 2011, 15:43
Post #4





Group: Developer
Posts: 3335
Joined: 2-December 07
Member No.: 49183



QUOTE
I use ffmpeg.exe


How old is it? Built-in fb2k ALAC decoder doesn't have problems with up-to-date ffmpeg.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
copperblue
post Dec 14 2011, 16:00
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 20-August 06
Member No.: 34244



QUOTE (lvqcl @ Dec 14 2011, 14:43) *
QUOTE
I use ffmpeg.exe


How old is it? Built-in fb2k ALAC decoder doesn't have problems with up-to-date ffmpeg.

v0.5, [Edit:] 2009

This post has been edited by copperblue: Dec 14 2011, 16:01
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Kohlrabi
post Dec 14 2011, 16:08
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 1004
Joined: 12-March 05
From: Kiel, Germany
Member No.: 20561



Since the opening of the ALAC codec I've been using refalac instead of ffmpeg to create ALAC files, maybe you can try that instead of ffmpeg ALAC. I don't know whether current ffmpeg uses the now open ALAC sources, or still the old reverse-engineered one, but I favour the official implementation.


--------------------
Audiophiles live in constant fear of jitter.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
copperblue
post Dec 14 2011, 16:38
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 20-August 06
Member No.: 34244



QUOTE (Kohlrabi @ Dec 14 2011, 15:08) *
Since the opening of the ALAC codec I've been using refalac instead of ffmpeg to create ALAC files, maybe you can try that instead of ffmpeg ALAC. I don't know whether current ffmpeg uses the now open ALAC sources, or still the old reverse-engineered one, but I favour the official implementation.

I could try that for future encoding to lossless I suppose, but I'm in the process of transcoding all my lossless ALAC files to AAC and having this error message with some of these legacy ALAC files.

To restate the problem: since upgrading to 1.1.10 (with the new native ALAC decoder), transcoding ALAC files that were encoded to ALAC with ffmpeg.exe produces the error message.
Transcoding ALAC files that were encoded with dBpoweramp/iTunes does not produce the error message.

Previous version/s of FB2K (using foo_input_alac.dll decoder) did not produce the error message whatever had been used to encode the ALAC file.

AIUI when transcoding, the decoder is used to convert the ALAC file to PCM which is then passed for re-encoding to the desired codec, so something about the ffmpeg-generated lossless files is causing the new native ALAC decoder/FB2K to produce the error message.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Peter
post Dec 14 2011, 17:37
Post #8


foobar2000 developer


Group: Admin
Posts: 3275
Joined: 30-September 01
Member No.: 84



If all you're seeing is "error flushing the decoder: <details>", it has absolutely no impact on the decoded data.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
copperblue
post Dec 14 2011, 17:48
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 42
Joined: 20-August 06
Member No.: 34244



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 14 2011, 16:37) *
If all you're seeing is "error flushing the decoder: <details>", it has absolutely no impact on the decoded data.

Thank you Peter.

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ferrari5180
post Mar 24 2012, 22:38
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 7-April 10
Member No.: 79677



QUOTE (Peter @ Dec 14 2011, 18:37) *
If all you're seeing is "error flushing the decoder: <details>", it has absolutely no impact on the decoded data.


Is there a reason why this error is showing up? I would like to know, since I've been getting the "error flushing the decoder: file is unsupported or corrupted; and reported length is inaccurate".

I am ripping FLAC to ALAC with dbPoweramp using the Apple Lossless audio codec. My FLAC files pass all the error tests on them. I have also tried decompressing to WAVE and then converting to ALAC and the same issue persists. Just want some reassurance before I put the files on my iPod and blindly listen to music that was encoded with errors.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
silkcut
post Oct 30 2012, 21:36
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 45
Joined: 8-October 07
Member No.: 47695



I'm having the same problem converting ALAC to FLAC using v1.1.16 Why is the error message showing if there is no problem with the decoded data. It clearly says "Track converted with minor problems". Thanks!!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
AudioNoob
post Oct 8 2013, 12:17
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-October 13
Member No.: 110757



Hello smile.gif

I take the liberty to revive this topic.

I am experiencing a similar issue but just by playing ALAC files in Foobar2000, when passing from an ALAC track to another. It does not occur when I stop playing and then play any ALAC track.
I am aware that this error might be ignored but I even wonder if this error can be avoid and if it truly does not reveal any "damage" on the decoded data.
I just want to be sure that I am listening from "pure" files.

Thank you in advance for your precious help and sorry for my English (I am not a native speaker biggrin.gif).

ps : please see the logs of the error in the console :

Error flushing the decoder: Unsupported format or corrupted file
Opening track for playback: "D:\Music\Marvin Gaye\What's Going On (Deluxe Edition)\1-02 What's Happening Brother (Album.m4a"


Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
krafty
post Apr 7 2014, 02:34
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 20-March 10
Member No.: 79175



Got this error today and bumped here.

Looks like the conversion is bit-perfect.

However, something curious... when I select an entire ALAC album (all files) and compare to the new rip in FLAC (all files) I notice that there are differences in samples. The total time is also different from the FLAC batch.

I guess this is an ALAC problem.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th July 2014 - 19:30