IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Applying ReplayGain to existing FLACs
rbz
post Dec 3 2011, 13:15
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 7-October 08
Member No.: 59679



Hi,

my first post here after a long time of lurking.

I ripped a lot of my CDs to FLAC, one file per track. Encoding was done either with EAC + FLAC or with FLAC frontend. I did not use ReplayGain (RG) on that occasion, but want to add RG now. Maybe I missed something obvious, but I can't find a way to add RG to existing FLAC files at all.

N.B.: The reason for not using RG in the first encoding was that I couldn't find a way to adjust the gain volume level from the standard 89 dB to, say, 92 dB SPL. FLAC frontend only has a switch to apply RG without additional adjustments (unlike e.g. WaveGain, which I used on another occasion). From what I read about FLAC's command line switches, it doesn't have an option for additional gain. But due to the miserable state of portable DAPs' output volumes (esp. in Europe), I need to adjust the values for louder output.

How could I accomplish this?

TIA
rbz

P.S.: I already thought about transcoding FLAC -> FLAC, but that way, I would lose my tags/comments/cover art into which I put a lot of work, wouldn't I? And I still couldn't alter the SPL.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Nick.C
post Dec 3 2011, 13:47
Post #2


lossyWAV Developer


Group: Developer
Posts: 1791
Joined: 11-April 07
From: Wherever here is
Member No.: 42400



Install foobar2000.

Import FLAC library.

Select All

Right click > replaygain > scan tracks as albums by tags.

Apply scanned values.


--------------------
lossyWAV -q X -a 4 --feedback 4| FLAC -8 ~= 320kbps
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rbz
post Dec 3 2011, 14:44
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 7-October 08
Member No.: 59679



Thanks,

but will fb2k let me add an additional 2-3 dB gain? While still applying clipping prevention, of course (the way that WaveGain does it)?

rbz
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
[JAZ]
post Dec 3 2011, 16:12
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1783
Joined: 24-June 02
From: Catalunya(Spain)
Member No.: 2383



When you use WaveGain or MP3Gain, you are allowed to set the target gain because that's sort of a "final" state.

On the other hand, replaygain is a tag, and the tag is defined to be at a specific gain (the spec originally said 83, but soon it became 89).

Most players that support replaygain, allow to apply an extra gain to adjust to the user preferences.

In foobar2000, this is in "File->Preferences -> Playback", and adjusting the "with RG info".
In Winamp, this is in "Options->Preferences -> Playback -> Replaygain adjustments tab" and adjusting the "Replaygain preamp gain".
Other players might have the option as well.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
rbz
post Dec 3 2011, 16:47
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 7-October 08
Member No.: 59679



QUOTE ([JAZ] @ Dec 3 2011, 16:12) *

When you use WaveGain or MP3Gain, you are allowed to set the target gain because that's sort of a "final" state.

On the other hand, replaygain is a tag, and the tag is defined to be at a specific gain (the spec originally said 83, but soon it became 89).

Most players that support replaygain, allow to apply an extra gain to adjust to the user preferences.

In foobar2000, this is in "File->Preferences -> Playback", and adjusting the "with RG info".
In Winamp, this is in "Options->Preferences -> Playback -> Replaygain adjustments tab" and adjusting the "Replaygain preamp gain".
Other players might have the option as well.

So this is a playback only setting (apart from WaveGain/MP3Gain)?
Pity.
I don't quite understand how this can work on playback while still having clipping prevention. Do those programs parse the entire file and recalculate the gain before playing the track to prevent clipping or do they reduce the volume once clipping occurs?
In both cases I can't see how true album gain can work (unless the programs parse a complete set of files in advance as an 'album').
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
evereux
post Dec 3 2011, 19:05
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 907
Joined: 9-February 02
From: Cheshire, UK
Member No.: 1296



Have you read the FAQ? http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?ti...ayGain#Clipping

Foobar2000 can prevent clipping on playback.


--------------------
daefeatures.co.uk
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 13:42