IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
"Audio format is invalid" in Cuetools., Attempt to convert flac arcvhive to individual tracks results in error
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 19:30
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



I have a 24/96 FLAC rip that came as a single track + cue sheet. When I attempted to split the file into individual tracks using Cuetools, I got an "Audio format is invalid" error message. The FLAC file itself plays fine, so I'm wondering if the issue is related to the higher bitrate? What could be the issue here?

And a related question: If I wish to burn a 24/96 track to an audio CD (it's the only copy of the music that I now have), must I down-sample it first, or will my CD burner know what to do with that kind of FLAC file?

And a sort of related question: Is there a way to extract single tracks from a FLAC archive as opposed to splitting the entire album?

I apologize in advance if this has been previously covered here. Google didn't help me much here.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 25 2011, 19:34
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



No, CUEtools only supports red book (44.1 x 16 x 2ch)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 19:37
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



Any alternatives that you would suggest?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 25 2011, 19:45
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



yep. use foobar2000. load the single file, remove all tag info, then inject the cuesheet (it's in Utilites context menu), remove the file from playlist and load it again. Now you see all tracks, so that you can use builtin converter to split per track to any of supported formats, you lose the CUEsheet however.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 19:49
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



Thank you, I will give that a try. My only concern is what to do about burning the track. I'm getting the feeling that 24 bit FLAC may confuse and anger some programs. Yeah, I know It's painfully obvious that I'm a noob in this department.....
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 19:57
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



Oh no! "Conversion failed: Unsupported format or corrupted file"

This post has been edited by Banquo: Nov 25 2011, 19:58
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 25 2011, 19:59
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



If it's needed for burning then there's no need for splitting. Just use foobar2000 and convert the flac file to another flac file useing foobar's DSPs to dosnsample to 44.1 / 16, then replace the old flac file by newly created. Use the CUEsheet then in any audio burning tool to burn the image. Splitting without downsampling might not allow burning. Btw. you can index the original flac in foobar and burn the CD directly from it (Select all songs -> Context menu -> Convert -> Write Audio CD)
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 20:02
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Nov 25 2011, 13:59) *
If it's needed for burning then there's no need for splitting. Just use foobar2000 and convert the flac file to another flac file useing foobar's DSPs to dosnsample to 44.1 / 16, then replace the old flac file by newly created. Use the CUEsheet then in any audio burning tool to burn the image. Splitting without downsampling might not allow burning. Btw. you can index the original flac in foobar and burn the CD directly from it (Select all songs -> Context menu -> Convert -> Write Audio CD)


Well the splitting here is not for burning purposes. It's simply to play certain tracks that I enjoy without having to seek through the whole file. But thank you, I will use this method when burning.

This post has been edited by Banquo: Nov 25 2011, 20:02
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 25 2011, 20:06
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



QUOTE (Banquo @ Nov 25 2011, 19:57) *
Oh no! "Conversion failed: Unsupported format or corrupted file"


Foobar's decoder supports FLAC up to 32bit / 192kHz, if the loaded FLAC image doesnot even play, test the flac audio integrity first from commandline:

CODE
flac -t image.flac
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 20:13
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



On playback, the file appears to have been succefully written. But I am unable type any commands in Foobar's console blink.gif

This post has been edited by db1989: Nov 26 2011, 15:11
Reason for edit: removing botched/unnecessary quote of above post
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tpijag
post Nov 25 2011, 20:23
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2349
Joined: 19-May 08
Member No.: 53637



windows os command line prompt not foobar2000 console.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Banquo
post Nov 25 2011, 20:58
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-November 11
Member No.: 95379



Here is what I got: FLAC__STREAM_DECODER_UNPARSEABLE_STREAM
1 files, 1 errors [1]
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Nov 25 2011, 22:45
Post #13





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2362
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



QUOTE (Anakunda @ Nov 25 2011, 19:45) *
yep. use foobar2000. load the single file, remove all tag info, then inject the cuesheet (it's in Utilites context menu), remove the file from playlist and load it again. Now you see all tracks, so that you can use builtin converter to split per track to any of supported formats, you lose the CUEsheet however.

why does he needs to inject the cuesheet? as far as i know he can just load the cuesheet and tell foobar2000 to convert to flac.


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Anakunda
post Nov 25 2011, 23:17
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 456
Joined: 24-November 08
Member No.: 63072



QUOTE (kwanbis @ Nov 25 2011, 22:45) *
QUOTE (Anakunda @ Nov 25 2011, 19:45) *
yep. use foobar2000. load the single file, remove all tag info, then inject the cuesheet (it's in Utilites context menu), remove the file from playlist and load it again. Now you see all tracks, so that you can use builtin converter to split per track to any of supported formats, you lose the CUEsheet however.

why does he needs to inject the cuesheet? as far as i know he can just load the cuesheet and tell foobar2000 to convert to flac.

sure he can cool.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd August 2014 - 03:24