IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> foobar2000 Development Forum Rules

This forum is for developer discussions only. If you have a problem / bug report / idea / feature request that isn't related to foobar2000 SDK, post it in an appropiate forum instead - tech support questions go to support forum, everything else goes to general forum.
All non-developer posts on this forum will be removed. Continued abuse of this forum will result in admin actions (warnings, account suspension).

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
VS2008 SP1 foo_sample compilation
goferro
post Sep 8 2011, 12:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-September 11
Member No.: 93576



I'm trying to compile the example project foo_sample with VS2008 SP1 Professional and WTL 8.0 installed, but I get a lot of unresolved external symbol errors. I've added additional include path to WTL include dir and shared.lib from sdk dir to additional dependencies but this didn't help. The same problem is with tutorial example (foo_tutorial1). Here is the output from foo_sample compilation:
http://pastebin.com/4wFfW0yQ
Why aren't the sample projects compilable?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
foosion
post Sep 8 2011, 13:19
Post #2





Group: FB2K Moderator (Donating)
Posts: 4433
Joined: 24-February 03
Member No.: 5153



It looks like project dependencies are not set up correctly. The missing symbols are from the SDK projects (foobar2000 component client, foobar2000 SDK, ...).


--------------------
http://foosion.foobar2000.org/ - my components for foobar2000
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
goferro
post Sep 8 2011, 15:41
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-September 11
Member No.: 93576



Why some of the SDK projects have both .vcproj and .vcxproj, while others only .vcxproj? Is this "SDK" dedicated to VS2010 only?
I compiled all of projects (created new .vcproj where necessary) and linked statically to foo_sample project. Now I have problem with multiple definitions of symbols (despite the addition of /NODEFAULTLIB to all static libs projects):
http://pastebin.com/51CcKn1d (StrCmpLogicalW missing is not a problem, I will fix it later).
Is there any OOTB working version of plugin sample?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Sep 9 2011, 00:06
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



All projects you create default to dynamic runtime, while the supplied projects are set to static runtime. You should solve this by correcting the settings, not by adding /NODEFAULTLIB switches.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
eyebex
post Feb 13 2012, 17:36
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 23-May 05
Member No.: 22234



QUOTE (goferro @ Sep 8 2011, 16:41) *
Why some of the SDK projects have both .vcproj and .vcxproj, while others only .vcxproj? Is this "SDK" dedicated to VS2010 only?

Good question, I've asked a similar one here already but got no answer.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mr.Enigma
post Feb 21 2012, 17:42
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 29460



QUOTE (eyebex @ Feb 13 2012, 11:36) *
QUOTE (goferro @ Sep 8 2011, 16:41) *
Why some of the SDK projects have both .vcproj and .vcxproj, while others only .vcxproj? Is this "SDK" dedicated to VS2010 only?

Good question, I've asked a similar one here already but got no answer.

Found that rather... interesting... myself.

For the "foobar2000_SDK.vcxproj", I just created a new Win32 Project in a safe place with the correct name ("foobar2000_SDK.vcproj"), changed it to a Static Library (.lib), and copied and added all of the ./foobar2000/SDK source files to it. Don't bother building it. Then copy this (fixed) project file to ./foobar2000/SDK. With a little tweaking, it works. Make sure that:
For Debug Build:
____C/C++ Debug Information Format = /Zi
____C/C++ Runtime Library = /MTd
For Release Build:
____C/C++ Debug Information Format = /Zi
____C/C++ Runtime Library = /MT

As to why the Devs broke VS2008 support... even if it was unintentional... they're not talking.

P.S. The DSP tutorial resource will not load in the VS2008 editor (it crashes, probably a VS2010 ver.)

This post has been edited by Mr.Enigma: Feb 21 2012, 17:44
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kode54
post Feb 21 2012, 19:48
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 4618
Joined: 15-December 02
Member No.: 4082



The developers probably broke VS2008 support because it became troublesome maintaining project files for versions of Visual Studio that they no longer keep installed. Of course, since they are just text files, I suppose it is possible to edit them to include newly added source files, but that doesn't guarantee the code will compile.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd September 2014 - 09:58