IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Problem converting CBR 320 MP3 to VBR w/ CDex+LAME: window closes self
Dj ReoF
post Aug 6 2011, 00:44
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



I want to convert my 320cbr mp3s with cdex and using an external encoder, lame 3.98.4.
I've set --alt-preset fast standard but it opens the encoding window for a sec and it closes itself soon after... nothing happens.

The same preset using the internal lame works, why not the external?
What is wrong?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
A_Man_Eating_Duc...
post Aug 6 2011, 09:47
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 940
Joined: 21-December 01
From: New Zealand
Member No.: 705



I would suggest you convert your 320kbs mp3 with mp3repacker or reripp your discs again.

Read this
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=LAME

This post has been edited by A_Man_Eating_Duck: Aug 6 2011, 09:54


--------------------
Who are you and how did you get in here ?
I'm a locksmith, I'm a locksmith.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj ReoF
post Aug 7 2011, 13:59
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



Yeah, i read that page many times.
However why i should convert my mp3s with those programs?
Are they more accurated or are the only easier to use with lame?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 7 2011, 14:36
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



mp3packer thread:
QUOTE
What it does:
Attempts to save space by storing frame data in the smallest possible frame. Usually MP3s are already stored in the most efficient way possible. However, for high-bitrate CBR files (like --preset insane) there can be a lot of wasted space

and

http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Transcoding

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj ReoF
post Aug 7 2011, 14:37
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



I can't open mp3repack on windows7 x 64...
My only way is cdex... if someone could explain me what i'm doing wrong i'd be vary grateful.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 7 2011, 15:15
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Could you post more information about your settings for CDex and LAME? Thereís not a lot for people to work with at the moment.

Does CDex have an option to leave the console window open? That would enable you to observe LAMEís response.

Also, itís worth noting that, as described in the link provided by A_M_E_D, --alt-preset fast standard is outdated syntax; in modern LAME versions such as yours, itís mapped to the basic setting -V2. I doubt this will be the cause of your problem, but just for info.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Aug 7 2011, 18:16
Post #7





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2362
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



But wasn't CDex a CD ripper? I do not remember conversion option for CDex. By the way, mp3repack DOES works on Windows 7 x64.


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Aug 7 2011, 18:27
Post #8





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



It is a ripper, but it can also pass the resulting audio to an internal or external encoder such as LAME.

I canít claim to know enough to make a strong statement either way, but I recall CDexís extraction method being questioned for relying on cdparanoia, which (IIRC) can subject the drive to unnecessary wear and is less relevant as more drives nowadays support more optimal technologies such as AccurateStream, etc.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dj ReoF
post Aug 7 2011, 21:25
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 6-August 11
Member No.: 92808



I've checked mp3 repacker but it don't seems to do what i want.
I just want to use cdex for convert my 320cbr mp3s in vbr mp3s using the alt preset fast standard parameter with external encoder lame 3.98.4.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kwanbis
post Aug 8 2011, 00:42
Post #10





Group: Developer (Donating)
Posts: 2362
Joined: 28-June 02
From: Argentina
Member No.: 2425



Can I ask you why? have you tried dbpoweramp?

This post has been edited by kwanbis: Aug 8 2011, 00:45


--------------------
MAREO: http://www.webearce.com.ar
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 18:34