IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Ripping Burnt FLAC CDs?
kathmustdie
post Jul 12 2011, 14:53
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 8-June 11
Member No.: 91319



I happen to have an album in flac format ( flac image + cue) with their cue files. However i want them in flac with their respective tracks and cue files.

If i copy the flac files with cues to a CDR (using EAC) and then rip that same CD to flac (with correct offset) would it sacrifice any loss in quality?

To Simplfy:

I happen to have a CD of Cream .. Album name is Fresh Cream ; Polydor ; 827-576-2

A few years ago i ripped that CD to FLAC format using EAC with correct drive offset and drive offset (set it up using blowfish' guide) . However it was one single image with a Cue and log file.. It was accurately ripped

Now a few days ago , that Cd got destroyed and i want to have a physical CD copy .. I burnt it on a CDR with the correct drive offset. No errors and it was accurately ripped

i wanted to own a copy of the CD in flac format with separate tracks and cue , log (not in single image)

Now I don't own the original cd anymore and i burnt a CD copy from my single flac image + cue a few days back

My question is if i rip the ripped the copied CDR would i have any loss in quality? even though if it has no errors or accurately ripped

Long Story short .. Ripping from a CD-R (with correct offset , accurately ripped with no errors) would it cause any quality loss?

hope my question was not too confusing~
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
spile
post Jul 12 2011, 15:52
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 10-May 10
Member No.: 80527



No loss of quality
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Teknojnky
post Jul 12 2011, 16:30
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 335
Joined: 12-April 06
Member No.: 29453




you don't need to burn to cd-r to split tracks, google cuetools


--------------------
Last.FM Nodes for your library @ http://build.last.fm/item/356
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
derty2
post Jul 12 2011, 17:37
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 580
Joined: 5-June 11
Member No.: 91257



Since the FLAC Image is already on his hard drive sitting next a matching CUE file...
can he not just drag the CUE sheet into a foobar2000 playlist window and highlight all and then right click "convert" (to separate FLAC tracks).
Job Done. No need to install "Microsoft .NET Framework version XXXX" just to use a tool !

(I don't have anything against CUETools, but I run a very lean Operating System with no .NET or JAVA etc, and I have a preference for native programs).
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
greynol
post Jul 12 2011, 17:41
Post #5





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 10000
Joined: 1-April 04
From: San Francisco
Member No.: 13167



Yes, he can, assuming he wants to split with gaps appended and discard HTOA(?).

One can use EAC as well, provided the flac is decompressed to wave first.


--------------------
Placebophiles: put up or shut up!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th July 2014 - 17:24