IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
FLAC to mp3, encoding from single file or load the cue?
Jedi82
post Jun 27 2011, 16:16
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



guys, when i rip one of my cd, with XLD i have when done every song in a single file in flac format and the generate cue file. After then, i want to convert these song in mp3 but know i doubt about a thing: i must transform in mp3 draggin the single flac files or it's better to open XLD, load the cue file and then encode? What's the difference?

THANX
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 27 2011, 19:31
Post #2





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



There won’t be any difference*, so it’ll probably be easier (and more widely supported by different apps, although I’ll assume you plan to use XLD for conversion) to just encode from the individual FLAC files.

* That is, unless the cue sheet obtains INDEX 00s from the audio file corresponding to the previous track, i.e. is noncompliant; but as far as I know XLD only supports reading these, not creating them.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Jun 27 2011, 20:03
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



on my test cd, i receive this:



so i can drag all the flac files directly on XLD here on the dock and the program will start ripping but if i open the cue file with XLD i receive this:



so i assume that maybe doing this is the best way no? XLD recognize the tracks, the covers and the pregap so i just click extract and the program will start ripping...

am i wrong? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 27 2011, 20:08
Post #4





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



Well, if the tags and artwork are in the FLAC files, they should be transferred to the encoded MP3 files by either method. I’m not aware of exactly what XLD does with metadata, but it’d be logical to store it in the FLAC files as well as in the cue-sheet.
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Jun 28 2011, 12:07
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:08) *
Well, if the tags and artwork are in the FLAC files, they should be transferred to the encoded MP3 files by either method. I’m not aware of exactly what XLD does with metadata, but it’d be logical to store it in the FLAC files as well as in the cue-sheet.


metadata doesn't worry (because i edit my albums directly on itunes)...just want to know if load the cue file on xld works the same smile.gif I would like to have an mp3 album that is perfect like my flac copy!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
db1989
post Jun 28 2011, 12:33
Post #6





Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5275
Joined: 23-June 06
Member No.: 32180



As I said earlier, it doesn’t make a difference. Your MP3 encodes will never be “perfect”—assuming you mean lossless)—as are your FLACs, because MP3 is a lossy audio format. However, there’ll be absolutely no difference in the perceptual quality of the resulting MP3 files whether they are converted from single files or an image.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jun 28 2011, 12:34
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Jul 19 2011, 15:22
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



QUOTE (db1989 @ Jun 28 2011, 13:33) *
As I said earlier, it doesn’t make a difference. Your MP3 encodes will never be “perfect”—assuming you mean lossless)—as are your FLACs, because MP3 is a lossy audio format. However, there’ll be absolutely no difference in the perceptual quality of the resulting MP3 files whether they are converted from single files or an image.


just yersterday i discovered that with XLD, if i load the cue file, the program open the cd scheme with pregaps, tags and so on and then i can encode the flac files in mp3 with full control. But, in the other hands, i saw that if i drag the flac files onto XLD (on the dock) it began convert my files but i don't think it will preserve pregaps, tags... sad.gifsad.gif It's true?
If it's true, old rips without cue file or wrong one will never be encode perfect sad.gifsad.gifsad.gif
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SmashCan
post Jul 19 2011, 16:15
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 12-February 09
Member No.: 66927



Open XLD's preferences, select the metadata tab and make sure the box titled "edit tags before convert" is checked. This will allow you to view your file's metadata before conversion.

I use the cue file for both converting from flac CD image and from separated files (XLD accepts non-compliant cue sheets). A few reasons:

1) The edit box is different when using a cue sheet. Without using a cue, the edit box only shows one file at a time.
2) When using a cue, you can see if your files are in the accuraterip database.
3) You can only listen to the audio files (using XLD) when using a cue.

As long as your tags are the same between your cue sheets and flac files, and the pregaps were appended correctly, the resulting files will be the same either way.

This post has been edited by db1989: Jul 19 2011, 19:33
Reason for edit: removing pointless full-quote, in part because this topic doesn’t need any more sad faces!
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Jul 20 2011, 09:55
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



QUOTE (SmashCan @ Jul 19 2011, 17:15) *
2) When using a cue, you can see if your files are in the accuraterip database.


ummm not so right because with XLD you can open folder as a disc and check the files in the AR database

CODE
2011/5/2
Added a feature to open folder as a disc
Now you can open folder which contains some files without cue sheet as a disc and can lookup metadata, check AccurateRip, etc. Available in the File menu.


but...if you do that, XLD will not calculate the pregap (instead of open the cue file)...but yesterday i tested a disc of mine and if i open on XLD the cue file, all the pregap are present and appended when converting but i'm not sure if all of them will be also appended if i drag the flac files directly on the dock where XLD is present...

Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SmashCan
post Jul 20 2011, 17:30
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 12-February 09
Member No.: 66927



QUOTE (Jedi82 @ Jul 20 2011, 10:55) *
QUOTE (SmashCan @ Jul 19 2011, 17:15) *
2) When using a cue, you can see if your files are in the accuraterip database.

ummm not so right because with XLD you can open folder as a disc and check the files in the AR database

but...if you do that, XLD will not calculate the pregap (instead of open the cue file)...but yesterday i tested a disc of mine and if i open on XLD the cue file, all the pregap are present and appended when converting but i'm not sure if all of them will be also appended if i drag the flac files directly on the dock where XLD is present...

I stand corrected. You can also listen to files without a cue by opening the audio files and selecting Window-->Show Player from the menu.

And you are correct that XLD does not show the pregaps when opening a folder as a disc. When opening a folder as a disc, XLD does not use the cue sheet.

As previously stated, as long as your individual files have the correct metadata, you don't need the cue sheet to transcode. If you chose to append the pregaps to the previous track when ripping and want the same when transcoding, then using the cue sheet or not will give the same results. With individual files, the cue sheet is needed to recreate a cd image or burn an exact copy.

This post has been edited by SmashCan: Jul 20 2011, 17:30
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jedi82
post Jul 20 2011, 19:54
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 81
Joined: 8-November 02
From: Italy
Member No.: 3728



thanx thanx thanx for this Smashcan, i'm so relieved now smile.gif So if i understand right, ripping single flac files it's ok and if i transcode them without open the cue file it doesn't matter because i have the pregap and for the tags xld will do the job for me so nice!!!! But i was thinking: if we append to the previous track, the lenght of the songs will not be like the original right? I compare my transcode with the lenght that i read on the disc or wikipedia and often the songs are 1 or 2 second little less long...why?
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 11:54